We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #65 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Chickasha, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Would have gave it an excellance except for the street construction during the week. Was up on the 18th floor and still got woke up early because of it. Loved the room and was wonderful that it was just a couple of blocks from Canal St so could do the French Quarter and walk back to the room at anytime to rest or unload packages. The entire hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    269
    128
    35
    27
See reviews for
140
170
64
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was my first trip to New Orleans and I was a bit apprehensive about where to stay. Fortunately, the organizer of our group (military reunion) chose the Holiday Inn Superdome. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful in suggesting places to eat, etc. The room was generously appointed and clean. The plumbing fixtures could have used some tightening or replacement but worked none the less. I didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on that. It is within an easy walk of the French Quarter and for those who desire more exercise, Cafe du Monde. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I spent 2 nights here and it was overall an ok experience.
Real only concern was the balcony door. It does not close very well so prepare yourself for street noise. Cars, horns, people etc. It is really a shame that they did not spend the extra money when renovationg the rooms. Why did they not put in a modern sound proof door???
My room on the excecutive floor was spacious and modern. Bathroom was a little untidy. didn't feel clean.
Staff was friendly and no wait for elevators as in other reviews.
Had breakfast buffet included - it was ok but nothing special.
Free internet was ok but not fast.

Room Tip: See if you can get room on high floor away from lift , facing park acroos from hotel. Bring ear plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Please accept my sincere apology for the issues you experienced during your stay. We hope for every guest to leave happy, just "ok" does not live up to our standards. A lot of the noise is contributed to construction of a Loyola St. trolley line in front of the hotel. It is incovenient at the moment but will be a wonderful feature once completed. I hope you will give us the opportunity to wow you on a return trip to New Orleans; I have no doubt we can exceed your expectations if given another chance. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be utilized to improve guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

While at a conference being held at the nearby Hyatt, I choose to stay here due to its proximity to that location. This was a very well appointed Holiday Inn, very clean and very comfortable beds. The concierge, Lynn, a native of New Orleans, was very helpful selecting the perfect two hour small bus tour since I arrived earlier than I could check in.

It was a bit of a hike to the river walk end of the French Quarter so be prepared for that. It is a good way to walk off the amazing cuisine however, just be sure to wear layers and comfortable shoes.

The hotel restaurant was typical but good, only wish it opened at 6 instead of 6:30 and for some odd reason the breakfast buffet isnt served until 7:00 - or alternately that there was coffee in the lobby. Each room has a Kuerig coffe machine but the coffe was weak, so if you enjoy a good strong cup of coffee, bring your own. I actually found that to be true everywhere in this city.

This Holiday Inn is Definately a good choice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I spent 5 nights here in late October 2012, being in town for business. The room was good sized and comfortable. In-room fridge and microwave were welcomed. This was a two double bed room; one bed was pretty good, the other very soft in the middle so would have rolled there. Since I was the only person, I opted for the solid one!

Had breakfast in the hotel most morning, at the buffet, which had a good selection of hot and cold foods. All staff that I met during my stay were friendly and smiling.

Location is pretty good. I was with others and we walked to the French Quarter in less than 15 minutes each time, making multiple trips there. A taxi drive would take 5-6 minutes at most.

At night, we felt mostly safe, however coming up Canal meant keeping eyes open as there are lots of characters there. Some reviews mentioned a free shuttle to the FQ. This was not the case when we were there.

As noted below, lots of construction in advance of the Super Bowl. Streets near the hotel are torn up. A new streetcar will run there in a few months. Work continues nearly 24 hours a day to get this done in time so ask for a room facing towards the river (not Loyola). I didn't have that and was woken early morning several times.

Rooftop pool was warm and decent sized. Workout room a bit small. Internet service included and mostly worked okay. Cell phone coverage in the building was spotty. USA Today delivered every morning to the room. Hot water for shower between 5-6 pm was limited.

Finally, some reviews below mentioned slow elevators. We never experienced this, although NOLA is full of tourists right now and the hotel packed.

All in all, a mostly above average experience. On a pleasure trip, I might choose a hotel closer to the FQ, however I would not complain if I stayed here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First my apologies for not doing this sooner. We would like to say a very big thank you to the wonderful staff in this hotel. We stayed here at the end of August during the hurricane. It could have been a frightening experience but we were very well cared for by the staff who remained behind. They kept us well informed, fed us and they were good humoured for the whole of our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel. Great for the super dome - we saw the Saints beat Houston on the Saturday night before the storm. The hotel recommended a taxi driver and we used him several times he was totally reliable. Thank you again - it is the warm, friendly people we will remember in years to come.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Address: 330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshed Holiday Inn! Visit the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence award by IHG. Rooms feature Simmons pillow top mattresses and new pillow options. Relax in our courtesy area shuttle. Savor fresh coffee and pastries daily. Stay connected with FREE wireless. Plunge in our large rooftop pool and energize in our fitness center. Our full service property offers tantalizing meals morning, noon and night. Adult beverage options showcased in our Mardi Gras Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome Hotel New Orleans
Downtown Superdome Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Superdome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.