We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 South Peters Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Play
Ranked #49 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta,GA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This is our second time staying at this hotel for the Essence Music Festival 2010. The first time was in 2005. I use to stay in another hotel that was closer to the casino. But, this hotel is the best! It is very quiet and close to the attractions if you like walking. You can also take the trolley to Bourbon St. and walk a few extra blocks to get there. The Riverwalk is close by especially if you walk through the Convention Center to get there. I would highly recommend this hotel if you would like a clean and quiet room. However, I was not a fan of paying $25 a night for valet service. That was the only negative. Service was excellent with everyone! Oh yeah...Free Internet!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    188
    61
    34
    15
See reviews for
80
100
28
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Review from Diamond member , 33 stays this year.
Good, Entry, Lobby, Restaurant all looks HGI std and fresh.
-Cocon Butcher around the corner.
http://www.cochonbutcher.com/
-Comfort control bed (controls are hidden in top corner side of bed)

Bad: Curbisde checkin/valet parking was 100% full, double parked in the street. I couldn't park, so I illegally parked, checked in, then double parked, and jumped out and made sure a valet got in my car right away, to get it off the street pronto.
-I tried a cookie from the free bin, it was a fancy oatmeal/cranberry cookie, however, one bite and into the trash it went. Nobody ate those cookies yesterday, they aren't gonna eat them today!
-Dissappointed to find two tube TV's in my suites. I really had expected LCDs. At least analog TV changes channels faster.
-There is a hall/venue out the west / back end of the hotel. It's rented out tonight, street security showed up about 8pm. It was no street party, but tonight, it is a warm up show for the essence festival. there's a hip hop/soul/rap show booming across the allley from my room. It's almost 3am. Front desk says maybe til 4 or 5 am... Hotel is 100% booked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWelch, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Thank you about your comments regarding your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn – New Orleans Convention Center. We welcome and appreciate our guests’ comments as this is the best way for us to continue to improve our operation. We appreciate the loyalty of our frequent stay guest such as yourself and appreciate the opportunity to have you at our hotel during your recent visit. We strive to provide each guest with an exceptional hotel stay and an experience that they are looking for, however in your case we fell short of this goal.

I apologize that your sleep experience with us was less than you expected, and can assure you this is not the norm. I was disappointed to read about the noise you experienced during your stay. I was happy to see that you rated the service and cleanliness of the hotel very good and excellent.

Thank you for this valuable feedback. Our team welcomes the opportunity to show that we can do better. If you have other comments or suggestions for our hotel, please feel free to email me at tony.welch@hilton.com or call me direct at 504-310-1000.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda,Md.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Stayed here for a convention .It is 1 block to the convention center -very convenient.There are a few restaurants in the area(Emeril's ,Mulate's).Our room was very quiet even though we were at the elevators.Staff was polite but not overly solicitious .Tried to get change at the desk ,but was told that the desk clerks don't have cash .The room was clean ,but not spotless.Room was not big ,but not tiny.Overall ,it was just fine
It is a hefty walk to the Quarter ,and even further to Marigny.We walked to the Quarter ,but late at night hopped a cab back to the hotel -it's about a $10 dollar ride .You can ride the streetcar for $1.25 ,but it is very slow and stops running at 10pm.
If you are attending meetings at the convention center it would be a good place to stay ,but if you are looking to party you would be better off staying in the Quarter.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank, ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Overall, this hotel wasn't terrible and I'm sure there are worse hotels in the Big Easy. However, it was a disappointment due to the location being too far from Bourbon street and the nightlife. It was in June and very humid already so cabs were a must especially since my dad is older and couldn't walk far in the sweltering heat.

The restaurant downstairs is so-so and expensive. We ate there the 1st night but i wouldn't recommend it.

The hotel room was basic with no frills. The bathroom had no ventilation fan or window which I'm surprised other travelers haven't mentioned and my feet would get wet due to the condensation getting on the carpet next to the bathroom.

We ended up switching rooms after the 1st day because they put us next to a very loud mother and her screaming child. Also the toilet seat was broken and it was somewhat dirty. In general, the rooms are not super clean and the 1st room also smelled like smoke even though it was non-smoking.

On the plus side, the downstairs desk attendants were helpful and nice. The Internet room that they have for free Internet access was nice too if you don't take a computer with you traveling and there were plenty of available computers.

Overall, I would not stay here again due to the location and the lack of upkeep in the rooms plus you could hear your neighbor cough and do whatever else in the next room-

Stayed June 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWelch, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Thank you about your comments regarding your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn – New Orleans Convention Center. We welcome and appreciate our guests’ comments as this is the best way for us to continue to improve our operation. We strive to provide each guest with an exceptional hotel stay and an experience that they are looking for, however in your case we fell short of this goal.

I apologize that your restaurant and room experience was unsatisfactory and can assure you this is not the norm. Please know that your comments are reviewed with the entire team so we can address our guests concerns and improve on our services in the future. I was happy to see our front desk team was helpful and nice.

Thank you for this valuable feedback. Our team welcomes the opportunity to show that we can do better. If you have other comments or suggestions for our hotel, please feel free to email me at tony.welch@hilton.com or call me direct at 504-310-1000.

Sincerely,
Tony Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusewtts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

What they don't tell you is that on Sunday and Wednesday nights (and some otheres when someone rents the alley) there is a party right outside the hotel that goes until 5 or 6 am. Had a convention here and the sleep from hell. The people in the hotel were very friendly, but ask the desk clerk for a room that will be quiet when any parties are going to be held next door. One of the bellmen doubles working the parties, so ask...you'll be sad if you don't

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

for this well-run, modern, quiet and clean hotel. Very picky traveller here, but the staff was wonderful and the stay perfect. Checked in late and they had blocked the room for me I had requested (top floor) despite travelling on a ridiculous low Expediate rate. Every staff member tried very hard to make this a memorable stay, and they succeeded - from front desk to the breakfast hostesses and the cook. This will be my favorite hotel in New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The entire staff of this hotel were wonderful, friendly, courteous, professional, helpful, always with a smile. The bellman, Ronelle (not sure the spelling) helped us through a very stressful experience with the shuttle, going above and beyond to help us. The room was great, very comfortable, and we highly recommend a stay here. It is a brief walk to the Convention Center, and comfortable walking distance to Bourbon Street, Harrah's, French Quarter, etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center

Address: 1001 South Peters Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.