We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Green House Inn to your Saves list
Green House Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE GATED PARKING!
Ranked #20 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beaumont, TX
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

What a wonderful experience we had at the Green House Inn. My partner chose New Orleans as a getaway for his 40th birthday and he chose the Green House Inn as the place he wanted to stay. From the minute we walked in the door, I knew he had made the right choice. If you are looking for an inn that makes you feel at home then this is the place to stay. The inn keepers - Jesse and Frank are superb hosts. The pool/hot tub area is a relaxing oasis of trees and lush landscape. You would never know you were only a few blocks from the CBD and French Quarter. The Green House Inn is situated so close to everything- a short Trolley ride from CBD, French Quarter, and Garden District. Your stay will be enjoyable at the Green House Inn... we are already planning our July trip to New Orleans and will be seeing Jesse, Frank and Stubin then.

  • Liked — The Inn Keepers
  • Disliked — Climbing the Stairs
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    27
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
145
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ne York City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

The Green House Inn is an absolutely wonderful place to stay if you're thinking of visiting New Orleans and are looking for a place that is very comfortable, relaxed and convenient to all that the city has to offer. We visited over Christmas 2008 and thoroughly enjoyed our room along with the entire house and the especially wonderful salt water pool. The house has a great homey feeling and the owner, staff and good ol' Steuben (a very sweet, gentle dog) were great hosts offering the perfect balance of accommodation and comfort while allowing us to enjoy the inn as home away from home. My fiancé and I were engaged during our visit and the staff and guests were all very gracious in making us feel especially joyful during our stay. If you want a place to stay in New Orleans that is convenient to all and also a great oasis for relaxing and enjoying yourself with a morning in the hot tub or an evening drink poolside this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Very relaxed comfortable environment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

Where else would one arrive at their destination, check into the hotel and be invited to be part of a family Thanksgiving feast. The management and staff of the Green House Inn go out of their way to make their guests feel comfortable and at home.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

Our stay at the Green House Inn was excellent. We plan to return and recommend it to others with a similar traveling style. The facility is beautiful, unpretentious, and historic. It is an 1860's home with original heart of pine plank flooring that is smooth and comforting to bare feet. The room (we stayed in the lotus room) was extremely comfortable with antique furniture, an extremely comfortable bed with high-quality linens, and a roomy bath that contained a new pedestal sink and a dual head shower with seating. The inn had a wonderful pool and hot tub that was private. The inn is located close to the heart of town but doesn't feel congested once one is inside. Parking is easily avalilable and free. Non touristy shopping and restaurant options are nearby. We rented a car during half of our visit but actually did not need to do so because the St Charles trolley line was just a couple of blocks away. The innkeepers were friendly, approachable, willing to answer questions and provide guidance if needed, but not intrusively present if not wanted. The facility was large enough so that one would not feel as if they were being too noisy at grandmother's house if walking around at night, although, use of common courtesy for others was communicated. The bed and breakfast has an elderly house dog by the name of Steuben who is friendly but very old. Also on the premises is a beautiful mccaw at poolside. The additional staff (landscapers and cleaning staff) are also very friendly and willing to provide a native perspective on New Orleans if asked. If one talks with the staff, one can obtain recommendations that are appropriate for one's travel type. A bar that prides itself on making the best mojitos in town is right across the street. The inn also has a library with PC access and an impressive collection of the classics, travel-related books, and other great books of interest.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

This property was one of the most well maintained places we have stayed in the New Orleans area. Rooms were always clean & well stocked, pool area well cleaned. Service was very good. Attention to detail was excellent. Will defintely stay again.

Yours Truly,
David Cook & Steven Myers

  • Liked — freindlyness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

I was looking up a hotel this afternoon and realized that I always meant to write a review about The Green House Inn but let time slip away. I just want to say that I loved my 10 day stay. I've been to New Orleans four times previously, but this was the very best value for the money.

My room was charming with a door to the beautiful pool area, the staff was great. This hotel is located at the end of Magazine Street so it's not right in the Quarter or the Garden District but very close and very convenient. The beauty of it for me was that it was very "real" as opposed to being a touristy hangout.

I had rented a car but almost immediately regretted it. It really wasn't necessary. Public transportation is just a few blocks away and unless you have a broken leg, it's very walkable. Also, taxis appear within minutes of a call and are reasonably priced.

If you're looking for fancy, you won't be happy. If you're looking for clean, charming, quiet, in a very peaceful setting for very reasonable rates, book it now.

This is not an ideal place for children (clothing in the pool is optional), but pets are allowed. I felt as though I were at home rather than staying in a hotel.

I would absolutely stay there again.
kwk - Los Angeles

  • Liked — Peaceful, clean, private yet an at-home enviroment
  • Disliked — Wish there had been a microwave in the room but not that important
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

This place is excellent but has one serious flaw - eventually one has to leave! My wife and I are naturists and were looking for a clothing optional place to stay while in NOLA on business. I found the Green House Inn on the internet and took a chance, based on several positive tripadvisor reviews - and one not-so-positive review that didn't add up to me.

We were delighted with our experience there. Having read a few things about NOLA, we were concerned about crime but we had no problems. My wife was comfortable walking around by herself, taking the bus and trolley and visiting shops while I was at meetings. She was also very comfortable using the garden area nude while I was in meetings.

The Green House is a little piece of paradise and so very hard to leave. The house is old and not exactly level all over. if you are looking for fancy rooms, drawers that don't stick, fancy bathrooms with Italian marble and gold-plated toilet flushers, this might not be the place for you. We were very happy with our room. The bed was very comfortable.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The dog was a sweetheart. The other guests were delightful. We spent many hours each day in the beautiful clothing-optional garden area and pool. It was fantastic - and very affordable. Wow - what a deal! Much cheaper than the hotel hosting my meetings, incredibly more enjoyable - and just a 10 minute walk away.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Green House Inn. EXCELLENT! Thank you Jesse, Dickie and the rest for providing such a wonderful place for us to stay.

  • Liked — The beautiful clothing optional garden and pool area.
  • Disliked — LEAVING!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Address: 1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.