We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fabulous room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Green House Inn to your Saves list
Green House Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Off Street Parking
Ranked #20 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fabulous room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed hear in October we could not fault the accomerdation or staff they were there when needed and discrete when not, a guy called Frank was more than helpful with directions and advise on places to visit and where to eat. We stayed on the top floor in suite it was worth every penny it is a truly beautiful house, we used the pool and outside area it is clean and comfortable, the breakfast is good and food and fruit is plentiful.
Would I ever travel that way again I would stay again.
Many thanks for a wonderful stay.
Frank and Mary

Room Tip: The top floor suite is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Frank and Mary,

We are very grateful for your review of the Inn and glad to know that the house and staff met your expectations. We strive to make every guest that stays with us feel right at home. It was a pleasure having yall here with us and hope you know our doors will always be open should you pass our way again!

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    26
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
138
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our first visit to New Orleans, so we chose the Green House Inn from information on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The 1840's house has lots of old world charm, and the garden and pool are a delightful oasis. Off street car parking was a bonus, so we were able to leave the car and walk to the St. Charles streetcar for convenient transport into the city. We set out on a New Orleans bus tour for a quick overview, then we could find our own way around and enjoy lots of local food in nearby restaurants. We explored the French Quarter and went for a steamboat ride on the Mississippi, plus we went out of town for a Swamp and Bayou tour, and the Oak Alley Plantation. Our hosts were gracious and hospitable and we loved New Orleans.

Room Tip: We requested a downstairs room, as we didn't want to climb the stairs.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear JuneSS17,

We gratefully appreciate the review that you have written for us. We are pleased to know that you found the city easily accessible from our doorstep and that you also took advantage of the swamp tours nearby. Its easy to forgot how close we are to so much wildlife!

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were attracted by the lovely garden and pool of this B+B in the Lower Garden District of New Orleans. Comfortable house built 1840, comfortable room and bed, fine breakfast with opportunity to talk with congenial other guests. Convenient location - 3 blocks to St. Charles streetcar to the French Quarter, Magazine Street bus runs right in front, and it is an easy 3 blocks from the World War II museum which was impressive. But the best part was the host, Jesse, who noticed that we should have already arrived so called us, totally bailing me out of a missed turn in that fan-shaped city! His directions really saved the dayt! Very comfortable stay. See their website for other unique details.

Room Tip: Our room opened directly onto the garden, which was lovely. Rooms farther from the front door might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Marian,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Green House Inn. The roads sure do seem to fan-out as they follow the crescent shaped curve of the river. Jesse's keen sense of the streets keeps all of us here from losing our way too!

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Splitsko-Dalmatinska, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

.... of being in the Greenhouse Inn....Kind and attentive hosts, cosy beds, nice room, antique furniture, gorgeous dining room, beautiful garden with rocking chairs and relaxing hot tub, and the pool (although, being late October we did not swim in the main pool)... Ten minutes walk to the very center, five minutes to the streetcar and close to WWII Museum, Ogden Museum and Civil War Museum, close to the Garden Districe... Hope to stay there again!

Room Tip: Orchyd Room is very nice and comfy, especially if you are visiting in 3, as it has two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hello Sanja,

Thank you for sharing your fond memories from your time at the Inn. We are glad to hear that you took advantage of our close distance to the museums in the Warehouse District and that you enjoyed relaxing in our cozy jacuzzi after your adventures .

Sincerely,
The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our 1st stay at a B+B in New Orleans. Excellent customer service, clean rooms, awesome pool/hot tub area. Staff are very friendly, ask them anything they will give you great information. Get an Abita beer from the drink machine :) at the pool. You will need to learn how to get to the street car, save up your dollars, just a few blocks walk. We rode the street car to the quarter then took a cab home for 2 nights. The bar across the street does make a good drink but seemed like not a place for us. You are w/in walking distance of the WWII museum.

Room Tip: Read their website descriptions of the rooms and the breakfast options (all accurate).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Goheels63,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us! We are are happy to know the house and our staff met your expectations, and that you enjoyed the Inn's location. Many of our guests are pleasantly surprised to discover how close we are to so many attractions in the quarter.

Sincerely,
The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Green House Inn 4 times and will always stay there when we visit New Orleans. Beauty, comfort, location, service, everything I need in a vacation. The friendly, helpful staff and owner are just the right blend of personal service. Stay, Relax and just be is the perfect slogan for this paradise in the beautiful city of New Orleans. Everything in the city is within easy reach. Take a streetcar, cab or drive and you will be there in no time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Cindy,

We are so pleased to see you on each stay and hope you know our door is always open for you and Kent! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, we greatly appreciate it!

Sincerely,
The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for Parent Visiting Weekend at Tulane. I had very mixed feelings about this place.
Cons: 1. Not that close to Tulane. Took at least 15 minutes to get there. I think would have been a better location if we wanted to spend more time downtown. 2. Weird slightly wasteland neighborhood. Although it says "Lower Garden District" it is actually quite close to the highway and looks pretty industrial. Nothing quaint about the actual street. 3. Noone was there to let us in for at least 30 minutes after we arrived due to confusion on their part about arrival time. We were let into the foyer by other guests but lost half an hour waiting to get into our room that could have been spent with our daughter. We got an apology but nothing else. 4. Breakfast was a disappointment - no homemade anything except make-your-own waffles. Just cold cereal, pre=wrapped croissants, granola bars and supermarket muffins. There was some fruit. (Maybe this is true of many southern B & Bs as I noticed this in another place I stayed in in NO).
Pros: 1. Inside the house was nice. Our room was a nice mix of old fashioned and modern amenities. 2. The pool area was truly lovely - like a tropical oasis.. We took someone's suggestions and got take-out mojitos from the bar across the street (a bit strong for my taste) and had them in the hot tub. Very romantic. 3. The people were very nice (though the lack of "compensation" for keeping us waiting strikes me as not the best customer service). 4. Close to lower Magazine Street and to parts of downtown. 5. Fruit and nuts were set out to snack on when needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hello Ellad,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review for us. Feedback such as yours allows us to evaluate ourselves and work on areas that need improvement. Unfortunately, we are limited to a self-serve continental breakfast by city ordinance. Again, we apologize for the miscommunication concerning your check-in and will continually strive to improve our performance. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and consider returning again.

Sincerely,
The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Address: 1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.