We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in New Orleans for location, quiet and beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Green House Inn to your Saves list
Green House Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Off Street Parking
Ranked #19 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in New Orleans for location, quiet and beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Green House Inn was a great find. The location was perfect and peaceful. Easy to get to the French quarter and the Garden District. Great whether or not you have a car. (We had one so the convenience of parking in the private lot was great.) The rooms were amazing. The most comfortable bed I have slept on and the most quiet air conditioner. The pool and landscaping behind the hotel was fabulous, like being in a lush tropical paradise. All of the staff - Charles who greeted us upon our arrival, Frank who was there to answer all of our questions in the morning before our adventures and Jesse, the owner, who we met on our last day, were all so welcoming and informative. We enjoyed our continental breakfast of waffles, cereal, fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs on the pool patio each morning. And last but not least the price was very reasonable for this most charming accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello Suellen E,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for leaving us this wonderful review! We are glad our staff provided you with such attentive service. (This is something we strive to do with all our guests.) It was our pleasure to have you as a guest!

Sincerely,

The staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    26
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
138
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Green House Inn gives you a true taste of New Orleans.

It is located close to downtown and very close to the business area of Magazine Street.
Close to all the good resturants, but not really walking distance to Bourbon Street, which is a plus for us.
We always took a taxi, and it was never more than $5.00 to anywhere we went.

We stayed in the Bird of Paradise room which was pretty quiet and had it's own little porch.
This was a nice area to work on your tan.

The pool is very nice, but don't expect to get much tan hanging around the pool.
It is very nicely landscaped, and as such well shaded.

Met lots of nice visitors just hanging around talking.

A big bonus is secure, gated, parking.
There is also the Bridge Lounge across the street.
It has the best Mohitos!
A really funky place that is nice and dark.

Only negative is they have all kinds of sweets downstairs, which I raided constantly......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello SunandSkiers,

Wow, thank you for your review! We are happy that y'all enjoyed your stay in the Bird of Paradise room (it is one of our most requested rooms). Most guests are pleasantly surprised how easy it is to get around on foot, by streetcar, and by cabs in New Orleans. We would love to have y'all stay with us again!

Again Thank You,

The staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first trip to New Orleans since Katrina, and our first time not staying in the French Quarter. The location of the Green House Inn was a wonderful change, and we don't plan on staying anywhere else in the future. Jesse, Frank and Charles were very gracious hosts and provided lots of suggestions for things to do and places to eat. The downtown areas are very accessible with a good pair of walking shoes, or the street car is just a couple of blocks away. The beautiful garden area of the Inn is like a tropical oasis, and we spent lots of time in the pool and tub. We also enjoyed the daily visits from Steuben and Rio. If you're looking for a beautiful and relaxing place to stay, you will be extremely happy here. The motto of the Inn is stay..........relax..........just be. It fits it to a T! Thanks Jesse, Frank and Charles for everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello DnDtwelve,

Thank you for leaving us this great review on TripAdvisor! We are happy they you were able to stay with us for your first return trip to New Orleans post Katrina. Lounging by our saltwater pool, after a long day of exploring our historic city, is a great way to relax and unwind. We are looking forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the South
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've stayed at the Green House Inn twice for multiple-night stays and absolutely love it. There isn't another place like it in New Orleans. We've stayed in the Royal Porciana Suite and the Bird of Paradise room and both were great. Jesse, the innkeeper, and Frank, the assistant innkeeper, both go out of their way to make you feel at home. They always greet you with a smile and hello, and offer great recommendations on restaurants, bars, sites, cabs, etc. Jesse even insisted on dropping us off in Quarter on our last day, so we wouldn't have to take a cab.

My favorite attribute of the Green House is the pool/hot tub area. It's relaxing and nestled into a beautiful, tropical setting. There's nothing better than coming in from a day of walking New Orleans, grabbing a drink (grab a mojito from the Bridge Lounge across the street and take it to go), and sliding into the saltwater pool. The pool is clothing optional, and in our two stays it has been about 50/50 on those "optioning." I hope anyone considering the Green House doesn't let that aspect scare them away. Everyone is always respectful and gives others their space.

I can't recommend the Green House highly enough. We won't stay anywhere else in New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
dear 515272,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We love New Orleans and it is our pleasure to help our guests experience what it is like to live here. It is great to grab a cold mojito from the Bridge Lounge and relax in our tropical pool. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We were newbie to NOLA looking to find a great place to stay for our first without the children vacation. We aren't fans of chain hotels, they just lack the personal touches we like. So after much Internet searching my husband found the Green House Inn. I wanted a pool but was apprehensive about the "European" atmosphere. Yes, I saw many "European" bathers/swimmers. Honestly, it wasn't an issue. It's all about attitude & the guests who chose to swim sans suit did so with such dignity that I almost didn't notice. My ever so shy New England husband even jumped on the bandwagon & got "caught" by another couple in the hot tub mid day and being the woman I am, I did not bring him a towel! The pool & hot tub area is a tropical oasis that you would never expect. A welcome retreat after a day of sight seeing & roaming. My daily task was to find Rio & get him to talk to me. I could have stayed in the yard & had a wonderful vacation.

The house is lovely, older & not as sound proof as newer places but kept up very nicely & more than comfortable for everything you may require.

On our 1st night Jesse suggested we go across the street to the Bridge Lounge for mojitos-a true must do! And they make them to go-take one back to the pool! He also mentioned that they don't have food but a "guy" will pull out a BBQ & serve burgers & grilled oysters. What?? They also have local places that deliver food to the bar. All very strange to us. We were greeted by patrons with their dogs-a bonus in my book, great drinks & the best oysters I have ever had. I heard the BBQ "guy" opened his own restaurant, as well he should!

Frank & Jesse were fantastic. They recommended places to visit & things to do without being overbearing & always asked how it went so we knew they were invested in their guests falling in love with their great city.

We had a wonderful vacation &
cannot wait to return again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Jonoba7,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here. We are thrilled that y'all enjoyed yourselves! We are happy that you were not intimidated by our clothing optional pool. Like you, many guests find the pool area very relaxed and low key after a short adjustment period. We are glad that our suggestions were helpful, as we try to cater them to each individual guest. We hope to have y'all back again soon!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We and friends have stayed here twice now and we are so lucky to have found the Green House Inn. It is located in the Lower Garden District just a short walk to St Charles and a 10 minute trolley ride (or 15 minute safe walk) to the Quarter. If you haven't stayed in this area, you are missing one of the great areas of the city.

The staff goes beyond friendly - they make you feel part of the family. The parking and internet is free. Good luck finding that in the Quarter. The house is very nicely decorated with old photos and a baby grand piano. The rooms are very clean and I must say the bed is the most comfortable I've ever slept in. I travel extensively and cannot overstate the comfort of the bed.

The pool is refreshing; the hot tub well maintained. The pool has a beautiful garden area that provides ample shade from the N.O. sun. There is also plenty of sun if you want. Rio, the parrot keeps watch over his domain.

The pool is clothing optional and no one makes a deal of it. Kick back, relax and meet very pleasant people. Live and let live is their motto.

My life is extremely hectic and I look forward to every visit. Heck, I would visit New Orleans just to relax and get away from stress at the Green House Inn.

Room Tip: The outside room can be a little noisy from the bar across the street but hey....this is New Orleans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webb City, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We found this Inn on Bring Fido.com (excellent place to go for pet friendly travel). We called last minute, the day before we were to arrive, and they were able to accommodate us for one night of our travel. I wish we were able to stay for a month! This house, the innkeepers, the pool area, the location....all of it exceeded our expectations. The bed was very comfortable, the pillows were great, the rooms were large and clean as well. They provide plush linens, towels, and robes. They first floor rooms have private doors to the pool area. The pool area is a tropical paradise. The pool area is European Style, meaning clothing optional. We wore our swimming suits with no problems. :-) The continental breakfast was excellent (cereal, juice, waffles, boiled eggs, oatmeal, muffins). This Inn is very pet friendly as well. I brought our 60 pound lab/pit mix and he was treated like one of the family. The innkeepers (Frank, Jessie and Charles) were all great too! They are very helpful with tourist type information and there are binders in each room with pages of helpful information. Staying in the Inn really felt like we were staying with old friends. That rarely happens at bed and breakfast establishments. We cant wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are great for access to the pool and the parking area. It was very easy to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Address: 1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.