We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green House Inn

Save Saved
You added Green House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Green House Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 147 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Waddy, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Greenhouse Inn for 3 nights over New Years. We walked everywhere we went (Super dome, Garden District, French Quarter). Great Location. Wonderful service. Other guests were all very friendly. This is an older house, so the walls are a little thin, and the floors a little creaky, but who cares about that. Antiques and decor are fabulous. I definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello Gus,
Thank you for your stay with us at The Green House Inn over the New Year's Eve holiday! We strive to make all of our guests as comfortable as they are at home. Thank you for your feedback and we looking forward to having you stay with us again!


Sincerely,


The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    25
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
119
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I had a really great time this past weekend. It was our first trip to NOLA. The Greenhouse Inn is walking distance to both the French Quarter and the Garden District, so we were able to experience a lot in a short period of time. After all the walking, the hot tub is a great relaxer.

The guys really went above an beyond service as well. I managed to leave a bag in a taxi. Jesse answered a call at 3am, and a pickup was scheduled for later the next day, I'm not entirely sure of the details because I felt no stress and none of our vacation was impacted in anyway, he handled the whole thing.

We are definitely coming back here on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello Ryan and Meg,

We are glad to hear that y'all enjoyed your stay with us! The hot tub is great to relax in after a long day or night of exploring New Orleans. We are looking forward to your next visit!


The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I plan trips 3-4 times a year around Southeast for buddies and hikers/bikers who I meet in my work with Covenant Health and PBS (missy kane fit fun show)_ We love biking on silver comet/ cheif Ladiga trails in Ga and Alabama and saw that the Amtrak goes right out of that area. We drove to Cedartown Ga then biked to Anniston (40 miles) then stayed over at Victoria Inn (also nice place) and took Amtrak next day to New Orleans. Looked at some of the nice chains etc but stumbled on The Green House Inn (maybe thru Trip advisor?) So my friend said give the a call. Jesse owner very nice, helpful and we booked 8 rooms there a few weeks ago. IT was such a COOL place. Rooms pretty and beds soo comfy! The pool/gardens area with hot tub is just AMAZING and we loved the hot tub. Very relaxed feel there and Jesse told us perfect spots for dinner, walking, shopping etc Nice breakfast self serve (waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, yogurt etc) But the staff really goes out of their way to make your stay memorable. We didn't want to leave !!

Room Tip: Everything was great. Didn't have a fitness center but we enjoyed walking and working out by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello Missy,

Thank you for leaving us a review on Trip Advisor! We loved having your group as our guests! Y'all are prefect guests and always welcome to stay with us again. Keep up the good work and keep biking!

Jesse and the staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Green House Inn for 5 nights. The Inn was fantastic! Great location on Magazine Street; easy to get to the Warehouse District and French Quarter. The Inn itself was charming and the host warm and attentive. Fantastic bed, great livingroom / dining room for breakfast and a small pool and hot tub (which we did not get to use, but will next time we visit)! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had three days alone in NOLA and needed somewhere quiet but with possibilities of socializing. The Green House turned out to be an excellent choice.

My room was big, clean and original, with windows towards the garden/pool area (wich is bigger than it appears on the pictures). It could have been noisy with other guests in the pool, but the whole place just oozed with tranquility and noise from the pool area was only a problem one of the nights (and not a big problem).

The host was relaxed and friendly, and generous with his time and advice.

Breakfast was... uh... American. Wich is not a good thing in the eyes of a Norwegian. Too much sugar and fat. But it was the best breakfast I got during my visit to the USA. And the fact that the guests of The Green House Inn are allowed to help themselves in the kitchen was really convenient.

Great place, that I wish I could have stayed at longer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Inn. An Excellent location.with secure parking. 5-6 minutes by car to the French Quarter , 2 blocks from the highway but you would never know it. lovely accommodations. the bed was very comfortable, the hot tub and pool an absolute delight after a long day out in New Orleans. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Jesse, the Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hello Drik,

Thank you for choosing the Green House Inn for your stay in New Orleans! We are glad that you had a chance to experience a few of the many sites New Orleans has to offer and enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of touring. We loved having you as a guest would love to have you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a small hotel with a pool and hot tub (clothing optional) in an old house. Our room was at the back of the property, in the old servants' quarters, and it was very clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a king-size bed and our own bathroom with nice thick towels. Breakfast is a do-it-yourself affair with a selection of fruit, cereals, yogurt and a waffle iron. Snacks are available at any hour of the day or night. Frank called to find out the details of our arrival and followed up with information on travel from the airport, which was helpful. All the staff members we met were very friendly and welcoming. We are regular visitors to New Orleans and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front might be noisy because of the bar on Magazine Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Jesse, the Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Llama11,
Thank you for your feedback! Here at The Green House Inn we strive to make our guests feel as comfortable and relaxed as they so at home. I am glad that everything was to your liking. We hope to have y'all stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Also Known As:
Green House Hotel
Green House Hotel New Orleans
Address: 1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.