We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green House Inn

Save Saved
You added Green House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green House Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Off Street Parking
Ranked #20 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Cream City, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just got back from a nice trip to NOLA with my wife. We really enjoyed the hotel but both agreed a 4 for the rating.
The location is in an easy to get to location and very close to bus routes to and from downtown.
The only real knock on the place is the fact that it is an old building and could use a few basic up grades. One issue was that it was a real struggle to get anything more than luke warm water in the shower. Again, it is an old house so that makes some sense, but if you are like my wife and I a hot shower is a must.
That being said, the bed was super comfortable, the pool was very relaxing. I'd have no problem recommending this place to people if they were going to NOLA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for you for choosing The Green House Inn for your stay in New Orleans and thank you for your feedback! Currently, we are in the process of upgrading all of our water heaters to provide extra hot water for all of our guests. We hope to have y'all stay with us again soon!


Sincerely,


The Staff at The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    26
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
134
23
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was the last place that my wife and I stayed on a 24-night cross-country drive, and it was easily the best. The price was right, the check-in process was easy, the innkeepers were friendly and very accommodating, the property was nice and well-maintained, the parking was secure, the pool and hot tub were awesome, and the bed was comfy. The inn is located in a transitional area, but at no point did we feel unsafe. We walked to and from the French Quarter multiple times during our stay and never did we feel threatened in any way.

All around A+. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Awesome place for couples, but probably not very convenient for families with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello CJBloom,

Thank you for your compliments, we are thrilled that y'all enjoyed your stay with us! We are looking forward to your next visit to The Green House Inn!

The Staff at The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is perfect. We were unbelievably impressed. The moment we arrived, we were personally welcomed, given a tour, recommendations of what to do, where to go, local bars, etc. The owner has lived there for majority of his life. They are flexible, hospitable, laid back. There is are snacks available around the clock, the pool is clothing optional - but it's not full of a bunch of people trying to see naked people. It's very classy and calm - It's like having your own personal oasis. (A great place to tan your butt cheeks with out living a scene from Eurotrip).

After a night out, this gives you the perfect COMFORTABLE AND CLEAN BED to come back to, RELAXING & INVITING pool, family style breakfast, CLEAN quarters, UNIQUE bedrooms, and WELCOMING STAFF!

I'll never stay anywhere else when I go there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello Kathleen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We are glad to hear that we met all of your expectations. Thank both of you for being such wonderful guests!

The Staff at The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed at the Green House inn twice and are headed for our third third time very soon, yet not soon enough. I can't tell you how wonderful the staff has been to us during both of our stays and I don't see that experience changing on our next visit. I highly recommend a stay at the Inn if you enjoy a relaxing place to stay while in a city not known for its calm. You can relax at the Green House Inn as much as you want and party as much as you want in the French Quarter and the rest of the city. It is truly an experience, take each day as it comes, see how you feel and enjoy both worlds!! I can't say enough about the accomodations, staff and the beauty of the setting.

Room Tip: First floor access to the pool or a nice, quiet view from the second floor, there are no bad rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Jesse, The Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello Cindy,

Thank you for leaving us a review and being such a great return guest! We are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.Va.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at the the Green House Inn during our mostly vacation visit to New Orleans in late July -- yeah, the worst time of year for NOLA, but she had a convention to go to. I'm so glad we chose this place over one of the hotels downtown. At first glance the neighborhood looks a little sketchy -- its near the warehouse district and a block or two from the Interstate, not in the nicer part of the Garden District -- but it's just fine. Walkable to many parts of downtown, even to the Quarter if you're energetic. It's also near two bus lines and has free gated parking, which we ended up using.
As others have noted, Frank and Jessie are great hosts. They were able to sort out a restaurant choice when my wife and I couldn't agree. The pool and gardens are wonderful. So nice to cool off after sightseeing in the heat. We visited the nearby World War II Museum, which everyone kept recommending, even though we're not big fans of the war. Go! It's amazing. We also tried to sample some of the better restaurants. Bayona was our favorite, but we also pigged out at Herbsaint and the Commander's Palace (Sunday brunch), which also offer might fine food.
My one disappointment, and it's a minor one, is the breakfast. Compared to other B&Bs we've stayed at, this was more like motel fare. Not bad, but nothing like the gourmet homemade meals we've enjoyed elsewhere. Then again, I don't think we were promised anything different, so I can't really complain.
I highly recommend the Green House Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Jesse, The Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello Jabe74,

Thank you for being a great guest at The Green House Inn and leaving for us a review on TripAdvisor! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to experience a few of the many sites New Orleans has to offer, including the national World War II museum. I am sorry that our complimentary Continental breakfast was not to your liking, but New Orleans' Municipal code prohibits us from offering hot breakfasts to our guests. (We are working with City government to have this law stricken down.) There are 2 wonderful restaurants, The Blue Plate and Surrey's, within 3 walkable blocks of our Inn that serve wonderful hot breakfasts and lunches. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This B&B is a short walk from the French Quarter and is located in the Warehouse district.
Quiet place to relax and stay while visiting NOLA. There's a nice bar across the street (no food served). You also have a 24-hour tavern located nearby on St. Charles Ave, if you are craving a midnight snack.

We stayed at the Mandevilla room and it is located on the upper floor. The steps on the outside leading up to the rooms on the upper level can be somewhat slippery when it rains so be careful. Room was clean and room service was good.

The continental breakfast isn't quite what I expected but isn't bad either. They brew a pot of hot coffee in the morning and you can choose from options of cereal, croissants and fruit for breakfast. The croissants seemed a bit stale and we found one with fungus growing on it. Other than that, we have no complaints.

The staff are nice and friendly and let you have your space. They have parking spots for their guests and have a European style pool in the back. Nice relaxing space by the pool. The greenery makes this place seem like an oasis in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Green House inn for four nights last week. Our room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. My favorite part about this place was the Pool and Jacuzzi. The whole garden around the pool area smelled wonderful with all the blooming flowers and I enjoyed napping on the swings after a long day of touring the city. Just know that the walk into the touristy areas of town is a bit taxing especially when the weather is bad and some alleys were not safe to get lost in. We relied heavily on taxis because the trolly was under construction near the inn (about $9-$12 a ride into town). I ate the breakfast provided every day which saved us some money and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Address: 1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.