We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise Inside New Orleans Proper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Green House Inn to your Saves list
Green House Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE GATED PARKING!
Ranked #23 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Monroe, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise Inside New Orleans Proper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We had heard about The Green House Inn through friends, so we decided to give it a try. It can only be described as "A Tropical Paradise Inside New Orleans Proper". We said a week at this B&B and can honestly say "why go anywhere else". Not only were the host Jesse and Frank two of the most congenial ambassador's to New Orleans we have ever met, but they catered to our every wish. From the tropical pool, which gives the feeling of being in some
caribbean island to the wonderful feeling you get in the bedrooms of this 1840 New Orleans home. My wife cried when we left. That says it all. Marvin and Cheryl Dearman

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    31
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
156
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

On a blistering swampy August afternoon, find respite in the shady cool waters of the tropical saltwater pool. Before a night on the town, which is a five-minute streetcar ride down St. Charles Ave., catch a nap in your simple yet impeccably clean room. But don’t leave without engaging in a delightful conversation with Jesse, the innkeeper, and Frank, the assistant, about vegetarian options in town or which restaurant has the best cheese selection. The great location, clean and quiet room, stunning pool and exceptional hosts make the Green House Inn a must stay for out of town travelers. As my wife and I wrote in the guest book, four words can summarize our entire stay “we will be back!”

Room Tip: We stayed in the lotus room and loved it's proximity to the pool, a set of stairs away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I returned from a stay at the Green House Inn in New Orleans, Have stayed there before and it has always been nice. Possibly the best hot tub-pool combo I have ever seen. Always wonderful, But this time, Frank would plan an itinerary for us each day which took us to the most fabulous parts of the city. Have been to New Orleans several times, always good. However; after this last visit, thanks to Frank''s attention, What a Fantastic City. I can now see why New Orleanians are so proud of their city. Green House Inn - a wonderful place to stay in a fantastic city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Just enjoyed a relaxing visit to this inn. Frank and Jessie were very couteous and helpful host. Very comfortable beds and room. Lush tropical setting for the clothing optional pool area. During our visit half were nude,the others wore suits while in the pool area. Very relaxing place to come back to after the noise and congestion of the downtown/quater area crowds. Local neighborhood is mixed use and in transition phase. Suggest utilizing the St Charles street car to go to Quarter area. No problems walking the three blocks to get street car or to eat at Emeril's Del Monico restaurant. We plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

If you are looking for a terrific retreat, this is the place for you. Secluded, wonderful hospitality and a truly beautiful ambiance! Definitely a great get-away for busy parents and couples! Great rooms, good breakfast, awesome pool and hot tub oasis!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I combined a business trip on the front end with a birthday getaway on the back end and found the Green House Inn a perfect fit for both. I recently attended a national conference for my professional organization at the downtown convention center, staying the first three nights solo at the Green House Inn. The inn is within easy walking distance of the conference center, while at the same time being world's away when the time came to relax.

I purposefully scheduled a several hour break in the middle of my conference days, so that I could return and catch some sun in the tropical garden and pool. I'm one of those who took full advantage of the courtyard's "european attitude", and it was a truly delightful break from the stress of hours in windowless rooms watching powerpoint presentations.

My birthday fell on Saturday and my wife flew in to join me for the end of my trip, so my stay morphed into a wonderful romantic getaway. The inn is located at the edge of the Garden District, away from the hurly burly of Bourbon Street and tourist traps. Exploring the more genteel side of the city made us realize most visitors only scratch the surface of this great city.

We will be back, and when we return, we'll give Jesse and Frank a call to see if that room next to the pool is available!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I see it's been a year since anyone's reviewed the Green House Inn, so I thought I'd give a more recent review. We had a conference in New Orleans during French Quarter weekend. Knowing that meant that everything downtown would be crazy loud and everything else that goes along with all that, we decided to find a quieter option for the week. When we got there, it was such a surprise! It's located fairly close to the freeway and seemed like it might have been a bad choice...until we went in. The building itself was a bit rough around the edges, it seems like the owners haven't done much in terms of serious maintenance on the building- the toilet leaked, the bathroom cabinets were painted shut, the shower heads were disgusting, and we had cockroaches...but if you don't look too closely, you can see the grandeur that this place once was. Ironically, everything but the rooms were nice. The tropical European style pool and jacuzzi was beautiful but a little dirty (the leaves drop a lot and the pool gets pretty nasty quickly). It's definitely an adult place--while we didn't see a lot of it, there is clothing optional sun bathing and swimming, so if you're not open to that, this isn't the right place for you. Plus, they have a $1 can beer machine! The lobby was nice. Breakfast consisted of cold cereal (or oatmeal), coffee/tea/oj, croissants, hard boiled eggs, and apples/oranges/bananas.

The staff were amazing- the assistant was SO sweet (LOVE HIM!) and had the best recommendations for restaurants, drinks, and fun stuff to do in New Orleans. The owner was nice and very helpful as well.

Good:
It is an oasis in the middle of the city- our pool was better than any downtown.
Good bar across the street with fantastic mojitos
Great location- close to the freeway, walkable to downtown in under 20 min.
Close to good restaurants (Emeril's is two blocks away...if that's out of your price range, there are quite a few excellent options (for vegetarian- Surrey's) very close!)
Great prices on rooms.

Needs work:
Cleaning and maintenance.
Bar across the street is a little crazy on the weekends- very noisy and rowdy.

Would def stay again, it's got a place in my crooked little heart.

Room Tip: Stay in the back if possible, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
We always welcome reviews from our guests; it helps us improve the experience for our future visitors. We appreciated the comments about our tropical pool and gardens, our location, and our staff. We believe the reviewer was mistaken when they stated we had no recent reviews. As to the accommodations, the Inn was built in the 1840’s and is over 160 years old. We have a full time maintenance person who constantly repairs and replaces any issues that arise. The Inn underwent extensive renovations following Hurricane Katrina. Once we were notified of the leaking toilet, it was repaired immediately. Taking into account the reviewer’s comment, we have thoroughly cleaned or replaced all the shower heads in the Inn’s bathrooms. (We usually do this every 6 months to remove any build up). Unfortunately, insects are a factor in any semi tropical environment and frequently enter through open windows. Our tropical pool is surrounded by lush foliage which seasonally drops Jacaranda blossoms and bamboo leaves. Many of our guests find this as an attractive addition to our lush setting. Our saltwater pool is kept spotless and is regularly cleaned. There is a cool neighborhood bar across the street that is quite popular on weekends and it is often frequented by our guests. We look forward to this reviewer’s return stay with us, “Little crooked heart” and all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Address: 1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.