We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4940 Chef Menteur Hwy,, New Orleans, LA 70126 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #139 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a recent trip to NOLA. Rooms were clean and decent but smelled a bit like smoke in a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania, Ohio, United States
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! My husband and I stayed from out of town to visit his family. We were out of our room for 12 minutes by foot and we were robbed. Our room was gotten into (not forcibly) and my laptop computer, digital camera, and my husband's watches were stolen. The management would not help us or call the police. It is not a place for vacationers.

Room Tip: choose a room at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byram, ms
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

When I arrived @ the hotel it was Great!!! It took the guy who checked me in a little minute to get it together as if he didn't know what he was doing. I got to the room and it was very nice!!! I would stay again @ this location. The only thing that was a problem was when I requested a 2pm checkout(since I am a Choice Priviledge member) the guy @ the desk told me that they didnt honor it and I had to checkout @ 11. So when I talked to the manager he allowed me to have the 2pm checkout. If I needed anything the Staff was wonderful esp the housekeepers. I enjoyed my stay here!!! Keep up the great work!! The only thing they missing is a POOL!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Entire room smelled like three year old spoiled cheese. Floors so grimy, I refused to walk anywhere without shoes. Linen damp and dirty as if not changed in a while. Towels contained pubic hair. Service was horrible; front desk clerk was very unpleasant and cold. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy or an animal. Worst place ever stayed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

i would not recommend anybody to stay there the staff there the daytime manager in particular was rude and not resonable and appeared to not know what they were doing as far as handling business transactions

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2004

23Nov04 We just enjoyed a great stay and cruise (Norwegian Dream) in New Orleans and would like to tell you about the EconoLodge (Chef Menteur Hy). This is a ways out from the French Quarter and we rode buses to and fro all over the city. We had a large king room and met great folks there that helped us get oriented to "The Big Easy." Room had micro and fridge, no-smoking, lots more for $45.59 a night and double frequent stay stamps. (Our 5 night stay got us $50.00 off our next stay at any EconoLodge.) This is the way to see New Orleans. PS: Bus/Trolley fare is $.40, with free transfers. for seniors... great!! Parking in the French Quarter can be $8.00 an HOUR! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, IL
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2003

There's nothing fancy about this hotel, but it was fine for us. We weren't planning to spend much timehere anyhow. It's on the opposite side of the River from the French Quarter, but there is a ferrythat takes you across the Mississippi and the hotel has a van that takes you to the ferry every hour. But to be picked up, we found out you have to call in advance to let them know. We did not know this at first. The first couple times was no problem since the van came for other guests who must have known you need to call, but until we found that out, one night we sat for over2 hours for it to come, once we did call we still had to wait until the designated time. Once we learned that though it was no problem. Also, though the area the hotel is in is not the best, nor is the area where the ferry is. I did not feel totally at ease waiting for the van to get back to the hotel at night. Also, the ferry only runs until a designated time and not that late really. Maybe 10 or 10:30, not sure. Therefore if you want to stay late in the French Quarter the ferry is not a viable option. Driving and parking is out of the question.

The staff at the front desk was ready to help and we were able to have them arrange one of the many swamp tours for us. The rates were extremely reasonable, but next time we come to New Orleans, we plan to stay in or nearthe French Quarter. It's worth it to pay more and just be footsteps from where the action and attractions are. You could definitely do worse in hotels, but then again you could definitely do better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 4940 Chef Menteur Hwy,, New Orleans, LA 70126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel New Orleans
Econo Lodge New Orleans
New Orleans Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.