We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy with our Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Memphis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Happy with our Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We had stayed in the Quarter before but was going on a cruise and just wanted a good place to stay without paying an arm and leg. It is a nicely decorated hotel. All personal we dealt with was very nice and friendly.
Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The free "snacks" was enough for a small meal. Given 3 coupons for drinks. We enjoyed our food and drinks.
In the morning, after a hot breakfast (not just danish and cereal) we went to the desk and they called a taxi for us. A few minutes later we were off to the cruise ship.
I look forward to returning to the Drury Inn the next time we are in New Orleans. Had zero complaints.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    275
    56
    13
    4
See reviews for
268
291
20
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We recently stayed here for 5 days and although our room was small, we were very happy with the service and location. Since the hotel is so centrally located, we decided not to rent a car, but to walk and use the trolly system instead. We are so glad we did!! The hotel is no more than 6 blocks from the French Quarter or Garden District and an easy trolly ride to either. The breakfast was good and after some HUGE lunches, the evening snacks were often all we needed for dinner. Staff was kind, helpful and accommodating. We booked our room for $89 a night on Travelocity, which seems like a great deal!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

We're glad we booked this hotel and can see why it's rated so highly on TripAdvisor. The location was good for us. Not right in the thick of Bourbon Street, but about a 12-15 min. walk. We liked that the parking lot was self-serve and we didn't have to call a valet if we wanted to retrieve something from the car. We walked all over the city from the hotel and didn't really need a taxi.

The front desk staff there is very friendly and helpful with directions, suggestions, etc. The room was large and had a microwave, refrigerator and flat screen TV with HBO. The bathroom had good counter space, but the door was in the way of the toilet and shower area. My husband is tall, so he had trouble seeing all of his face in the mirror, but the showerhead was nice and high. Everything was in good working order.

You can't beat Drury's evening cocktail hour. Our first night there, they introduced their new hot food items, which rotate throughout the week. They had egg rolls and chicken wings one night, and meatballs and chicken fingers the next. They also had the usual chips and salsa, popcorn, pretzels, etc. You get 3 drinks each, which got us tuned up for Bourbon Street nicely!

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Hopefully they will keep their rates competitive for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

What a great hotel, from the extended checkout to the hot breakfast in the morning. Rooms are comfortable, with plasma tv'. Afternoon snacks and happy hour is also really good. Bourbon Street is 6 blocks away on St. Charles, casino 6 blocks and superdome in other direction is 5 blocks. Half the price of other hotels with more amneities.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We chose to stay in this hotel after reading some great reviews on this site and we needed a hotel for 1 night before our cruise. The rate was incredible $82 for Fri-Sat and we were not disappointed! The hotel is walking distance to the french quarter and is close enough to feel like you are right in it and far enough away to get away from the hustle and bustle. The free drinks and snacks between 5:30 and 7 was a nice touch (arrive early or the line gets long). Reception was great and nice to deal with.
The room itself was on the smaller side, but certainly clean and had everything we needed. The bathroom was immaculate and the bed very comfortable. They have 15 mins of free long distance to Canada, which was perfect. The only "small" part we didn't love, was that our view was of a wall. But, honestly, we really didn't look out our window! The next morning we enjoyed a huge continental breakfast and then asked reception if we could delay our check out a couple hours, to which they quickly said yes. We left our luggage in the back room and were able to pick it up later on, in time to get to our ship.

All in all- this hotel goes the extra mile to make you feel welcomed, including emails before and after your stay. Its a great price, great location and a hotel we will surely stay in next time we are in New Orleans.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

As you'll see in other reviews, the Drury is just wonderful! Super nice staff, clean and nice rooms, great happy hour, hot breakfast and in a good location near the French Quarter. We visited locations around the city and it was easy to get everywhere by taxi (no fighting the crowded streets of the French Quarter) and also easy to walk to the French Quarter. If you are going to spend every moment in the French Quarter stay closer but if not, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Oh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed at the Drury for 3 nights beginning New Years Eve for the Sugar Bowl. From the first person we met at the reception desk to the security guard and housekeeping staff, everyone could not have been nicer and more accomodating. The girl who checked us in was able to get us 2 rollaways without problem, extra towels arrived promptly . The rooms are of normal hotel size, and ours was a nice room looking south toward the river. There was always a large group of us and other groups in the lobby, and we were allowed to gather there which was great. The evening reception did not have the hot food that was shown on the website, but the snacks were adequate, and nice to have cocktails at the hotel before going out for the evening. Someone else mentioned that there was a long line and only 1 person working on NYE, but the other 2 nights we were there , there was 2, so I think it was more a matter of someone not showing up for work, plus the hotel was sold out, due to the Sugar Bowl. Never had to wait long on an elevator, and the halls were surprisingly quiet for a sold out hotel at New Years. Parking was $15/night with in and out privileges which is probably lower than most hotels in the area. There is a trolley stop, which we did not use, outside of the hotel.
The hotel is just about 5 easy walking blocks to the mouth of bourbon street, an easy walk to Riverwalk area and the Harrah's casino, although that walk is not very populated with people and would not recommend it at night. Superdome is on the same street about 4 block easy walk.
Only advice is to please be aware of you surroundings, and walk in groups, as a couple in our group were mugged while by themselves at night. One unknowingly got his ATM card taken, and another, someone reached into his pocket for money.
I would recommend the hotel, and stay there again if there for the same purpose. Might stay a little closer to French Quarter, though, if that was the primary focus for our trip.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.