We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Excellent Management, Excellent Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Canton
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Excellent Management, Excellent Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed seven nights at this property. The Drury Inn has an exceptional staff, beginning with the General Manager, Patrick. He is always on site, and available. He is personable, and caring. He treats each and every guest like family. The entire staff are well trained, professional, polite and friendly. The bartender, Kevin makes your stay a pleasant experience. At the front desk Aliya, Erin, Renaldo and Kristen go out their way to make a guest feel welcome and cared for. The asst. manager assisted us in arranging our escorted tours.
The location is close enough to every venue, about six blocks to WWII Museum, six blocks to the French Quarter, eight blocks to the beautiful River Walk area, and if need be three blocks to the local Court! It rained during our stay, and the front desk loaned us an umbrella! Now that's service you don't find often! The breakfasts are well prepared, and delicious, but the kick back happy hour is GREAT! I can only say this was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, and my husband and I have traveled around the world. A truly great experience!

Room Tip: There is a new side to the Drury, however either the new building or older side is comfortable. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    292
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
287
312
22
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights following a cruise, wished we had booked for a longer stay! Location is very convenient, easy walk to the streetcar line, even for someone with difficulty walking. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Would most certainly stay here again. In fact, i will be looking for Drury Inns from now on innareas I am travelling to!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My trip was part of a bus tour. I was so impressed. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay here for sure if and when I am in N.O. The beds are so comfortable, I missed it when I returned home

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Nearly everything was as advertised. The location is on the corner of Poydras and Carondolet. Carondolet (pronounced with "let" at the end - it's Spanish, not French) becomes Bourbon Street once you cross Canal Street, about five blocks away. An easy walk - and away from the noise and smell of Bourbon Street, but close enough to get there quickly if you want.

Our room was in the older section of the hotel, but it was fine. We had a suite with a king size bed and the 2nd room had a pull out sofa. It slept fine for my kid. The pool was fine as was the exercise room.

The best deal at this hotel is that breakfast and happy hour/"dinner" are included. If you want to economize your trip to New Orleans, you could stay here, eat a big breakfast, skip lunch, and eat dinner at the happy hour and save big time. The breakfast is fine, although nothing is cooked to order. But there are scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, waffles, muffins, bagels, etc. every day. The coffee is very good. Dinner is not anything special, but still fine if you want to save: hot dogs, meatballs, mac and cheese, baked potatoes, chips, a small salad, nachos - all fine and filling if you choose to go that way. Our kids did, but we chose to eat a few nachos as an appetizer and went out into the night to get some great New Orleans food. Every happy hour, you get three free drinks: wine, beer, and even mixed drinks.

They also have free coffee/popcorn/soft drinks available in the afternoon in the lobby. Nice for an early snack.

Any concerns? Some may not like the large dispensers of soap/shampoo/conditioner mounted in the shower. I do like them since they're so much better for the environment. No 100's of tiny, wasted soap bars with their associated wrappers and tiny shampoo bottles to be thrown away.

Only hassle for us was the $25/night valet service. It took about 30 minutes each time we wanted our car. This, apparently, will be fixed soon when their onsite garage is finished.

Internet is free. Nice touch.

All in all, a nice, reasonably-priced hotel in which to stay. You won't find a snooty doorman, a bellman, nor a concierge. "We're not full service, but we're $100 cheaper per night than those other hotels," said the general manager, Patrick. He's right. Not full service, but a great deal in my mind. I'll carry my own bags, thank you. Oh, and thanks for the free food and drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good hotel in a good location, close enough, but not too close to the French Quarter and only a few steps from the St. Charles streetcar line. The room was very quiet, clean, comfortable and the price included a standard hotel breakfast buffet and late afternoon cocktails. There was coffee and popcorn in the lobby area all day. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did not spend a lot of time in the hotel but it met all of our needs for our stay and for a reasonable price.
We had dinner in the Garden District a couple of times and the easy access to the St Charles street car made it really simple to get there and back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during Jazz Fest in early May. The hotel isn't much to look at from the outside- it appears to be an older building. We had a king room on the 7th floor- the view was of a parking lot with graffiti on the walls. The room was perfectly adequate though- the bed was comfy, shower pressure good, and we didn't hear any noise from outside or within the hotel. Nice and quiet- we slept great. The 5:30 kickback was great! Free drinks and appetizers. I just wish it lasted more than an hour since we didn't make it back to the hotel in time each night for it. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful as well. Waffle maker, hot buffet items, juices, etc. And included in the cost of the hotel room- a great plus. The hotel was a short walk from French quarter and other areas of interest. The city bus ran close by to the hotel- we took this to the City Park and rode bikes, as well as to the Jazz Fest. The price for our room was pretty steep since it was during Jazz Fest- but we still felt like it was a good value and in line with other hotels in the area. Parking was $25 a night plus tax. The hotel is still undergoing renovations- it looks like the parking garage will be attached to the building rather than 10 minutes away which will be nice. Overall would recommend staying here- no reservations!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel is in a fairly quiet part of downtown. We had a king room on the second floor near the Poydras side of the building. The room was very clean, well furnished, good size with a very large bathroom. The lobby is very elegant. The only criticism would be that we heard quite a bit of plumbing noise. It was not a big deal but just a little noisier than some other places we have stayed. I will probably be back the next time I am in New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.