We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently stayed here the night before a cruise and the night that we returned from the cruise. We were keeping our travel plans flexible and on both occasions we walked in and booked a room there and then at the desk without having any prior booking. Luckily, there were rooms available on both nights. On our last evening in New Orleans, we were struggling to get a room in the city due to the football game. When we asked at the desk for room availability we were advised that only smoking rooms were available, however to compensate for the fact it wasn't non-smoking, we were upgraded to a suite and offered a very competitive rate. Everything about the attitude of the staff is right. They were very friendly, attentive and accommodating. We would like to particularly thank Renaldo and Tory, who looked after us on the two occasions that we stayed here. This is a great hotel, you get breakfast and free evening food and drinks too, which really tops it off!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    287
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
286
306
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles CA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We recently attended a large convention in New Orleans, spending 5 nights at the Drury. I had booked the hotel on my own, even though our group had convention rates at many hotels, but not the Drury. We briefly considered some posher places such as the Windsor Court (beautiful hotel, stayed there previously) and the Roosevelt Waldorf Astoria, but ultimately chose the Drury because I knew it would have exactly what I wanted and expected for this trip. Namely, that was: a free hot breakfast served early before rushing off to the convention center, free cocktails and nibbles upon return in the early evening before leaving again for dinner, and free wifi. For this trip, we did not need to be pampered with spa treatments or gourmet on-site dining.

We had been introduced to the Drury brand at another convention in San Antonio a few years ago. It is a mid-level brand, nothing fancy, that offers a lot of cluck for your buck. The freebies mentioned above are offered at every Drury, plus free long distance and local calls, free soft drinks and popcorn in the afternoon, a pool, free 24-hour business center, and flat screen TVs with HBO.

The NOLA Drury is located in the Central Business District on the corner of Poydras St. and Carondelet St. About 5 blocks east is Canal St., the western edge of the French Quarter. Carondolet actually turns into Bourbon St., the hub of debauchery in the Quarter. The St. Charles Streetcar actually runs east on Carondolet before turning on Canal and heading back west on St. Charles St. one block south. The Mississippi River and Harrah's Casino are within walking distance south; the convention center is a bit of a stretch to walk to.

The hotel was formerly an office building and the rooms retain the building's windows and high ceilings on most floors. The lobby and dining area occupy the ground floor, and there is additional dining space downstairs. The dining area is rather small; the hotel is in the midst of a major expansion (expected completion 3/14) that will add about 60 more rooms, plus a larger dining area, on-site parking, and meeting space. There is a small rooftop pool and hot tub. Front desk service was quite friendly. The only other lobby level personnel are the valets and dining staff. There are no bellboys--I saw many a guest shlepping their own luggage on those rolling carts bellboys use. The front desk will store your luggage, however. Taxis do not regularly line up in front of the hotel, but the valet can whistle one down for you, or the desk can prearrange a taxi to the airport (flat rate fee).

Our room was a king on the 3rd floor. It had very high ceilings, and 2 large windows overlooking Poydras. The sink's counter area was small, but it was separate from the tub/shower and commode. The shower had dispensers for bath gel, shampoo and conditioner, like at a gym. The closet's hangers were the kind you can't remove from the rod. The bedside clock radio had 5 preset and prelabeled stations, nothing else, and some of the labels were wrong (the "soft rock" station was actually a Spanish language station). What I missed most in the room was a safe; turndown service, stationery, newspaper delivery, robes and slippers were not offered but also not expected. While many hotels stay green by changing linens every other day, the Drury waits 4 days before changing them. The room did have 2 phones, a desk that could roll around, and many electrical outlets.

"Quikstart" breakfast offerings were the same daily. Hot foods included scrambled eggs, potatoes, oatmeal, sausage patties, biscuits, gravy, plus make-your-own Belgian waffles. Also available were muffins and donuts similar to store-bought, breads and bagels to toast, cold cereals, yogurt, fresh whole fruits, orange and apple juices. I think most of the food is pre-cooked and frozen; the eggs taste the freshest. Even the "butter" for the waffles is called "whipped spread" and the syrup has virtually no maple flavour, but I'm not complaining, just observing.

The 5:30 Kickback menu rotated every other day. Italian meatballs and penne pasta with marinara alternating with chicken strips and mac & cheese. Soups alternated between broccoli cheddar, minestrone, and chili. Offered everyday were hot dogs and baked potatoes, served with the same "whipped spread" and REAL sour cream (by Daisy!). Also offered every day were salad greens, carrot and celery sticks, pretzels, potato chips, tortilla chips and fixings for nachos (cheese sauce, jalapenos, salsa).
Every adult guest gets a card for 3 free alcoholic beverages nightly. Nothing fancy, no mixologist required, but free and served with a smile.
I must confess, 2 days were fatigued enough to make the Kickback our supper and didn't go out later on.

This stay reconfirmed my fondness for the Drury brand. Sometimes we like to splurge and be coddled, but the Drury can be the right fit for certain types of vacations. The Dury is the opposite of "the more you pay, the less you get".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights last weekend and loved it from the moment we walked into the lobby. We arrived prior to check in time and we were told our room would be ready in about an hour. The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful and offered to store our bags while we went to lunch. They gave us several recommendations for restaurants nearby. The hotel is very elegant and so immaculate! Location is wonderful...close to the french quarter but in a quiet, safe area. The breakfast buffet was great and the evening happy hour and buffet was excellent too and a great added bonus. You can't beat the value of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. Located in a quiet area 5 blocks west of Canal and Bourbon streets. Free all you can eat hot breakfast in the morning. Hors d'oeuvres served in the evening along with 3 free alcoholic drinks per person. However, if you do this, you lose the chance to sample all the great New Orleans restaurants. <g> But, if you are on a tight budget, this really helps to defray expenses.
Trolley line is just across the street from the front door and it will get you to just about everywhere in the area.
King size bed was comfortable with 5 pillows provided. Our room had a whirlpool bath. Front desk clerks are so pleasant and always smiling considering they seem to spend most of their time answering tourist questions. My thanks to Renaldo, Ayila and Star. I will definitely stay at this hotel next time I return. And I had so much fun in this city, I expect to return soon.
OldTOm

Room Tip: Try for a corner room, 800, 700, 600, 500, 400, 300. We stayed in room 800 and it gives you a 3 to 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I booked this hotel because all of the other hotels that I would have stayed at were completely booked or overpriced because of the blues festival and conventions that were going on in New Orleans last week. I totally enjoyed my stay. The rooms were very clean and well cared for although old. I had a suite and it was large and comfortable. The breakfast each morning was an added treat as was the 5:30 kickoff. The food was well prepared and there was lots of it. I like the security in the hotel, you could only access your rooms with your card key in the elevators. The hotel was exceptionally quiet since it was full to capacity you would never have know it. The beds were very comfortable and they gave extra pillows, which was a plus for me. I would definitely recommend this hotel and also stay there again. My only one thing I would have liked, was a bar and music. It would have been nice to come back to the hotel later in the evening and have a drink with friends and listen to some music but, it was not a necessity just a wish.

Room Tip: The higher floors are very quiet and of course have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed our room and the service at the Drury Inn of New Orleans. This was actually our favorite hotel out of 4 hotels on our trip. The windows in our room were awesome and although we were overlooking construction, we still enjoyed the large windows and light! The roof top pool was a hit with our whole family. There were some pool areas that could use some updating/maintenance (repair concrete/tile in areas, etc.) but it was very neat to be on top of the city enjoying the view and the sounds while taking an evening dip and the pool appeared and felt clean. The air conditioner in the room worked (important in New Orleans during the Summer!) and the room was clean. The beds weren't the most comfortable but they were okay. The food (breakfast and afternoon/evening) was a great bonus. Nothing extremely delicious and a pretty packed dining area but it sure makes the hotel stay a great value when you can plan on those meals being taken care of. I will also say this hotel was within walking distance for all kinds of places we wanted to go in NOLA (French Quarter, Bourbon Street, etc.) as long as you are in good physical health to walk those distances. We walked for several hours in the evening and enjoyed it very much. We had to valet park our car which I had reservations about (I like having access to our vehicle at all times) but turned out to be convenient and a non-issue. I would recommend the Drury Inn if you are visiting NOLA.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Drury Hotel is all that it says and more. Our stay was only two nights and enjoyed all of it .The breakfast in the morning was very nice as was the reception in the evening both complimentary and well stocked . Rooms were clean and neat also the bathroom spacious and well stocked . Beds were very comfortable. The entire staff were helpful and friendly. The only reason for only four stars was the size of the room. The bed was too close to the dresser making it somewhat difficult to move around. The room was long end narrow. Would we stay there again ? Absolutely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.