We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Missouri
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Pretty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed our room and the service at the Drury Inn of New Orleans. This was actually our favorite hotel out of 4 hotels on our trip. The windows in our room were awesome and although we were overlooking construction, we still enjoyed the large windows and light! The roof top pool was a hit with our whole family. There were some pool areas that could use some updating/maintenance (repair concrete/tile in areas, etc.) but it was very neat to be on top of the city enjoying the view and the sounds while taking an evening dip and the pool appeared and felt clean. The air conditioner in the room worked (important in New Orleans during the Summer!) and the room was clean. The beds weren't the most comfortable but they were okay. The food (breakfast and afternoon/evening) was a great bonus. Nothing extremely delicious and a pretty packed dining area but it sure makes the hotel stay a great value when you can plan on those meals being taken care of. I will also say this hotel was within walking distance for all kinds of places we wanted to go in NOLA (French Quarter, Bourbon Street, etc.) as long as you are in good physical health to walk those distances. We walked for several hours in the evening and enjoyed it very much. We had to valet park our car which I had reservations about (I like having access to our vehicle at all times) but turned out to be convenient and a non-issue. I would recommend the Drury Inn if you are visiting NOLA.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    292
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
288
312
22
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Drury Hotel is all that it says and more. Our stay was only two nights and enjoyed all of it .The breakfast in the morning was very nice as was the reception in the evening both complimentary and well stocked . Rooms were clean and neat also the bathroom spacious and well stocked . Beds were very comfortable. The entire staff were helpful and friendly. The only reason for only four stars was the size of the room. The bed was too close to the dresser making it somewhat difficult to move around. The room was long end narrow. Would we stay there again ? Absolutely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay but had an issue with being put in a smoking room. No matter how they try to freshen it the smoke odor lingers and permeates your clothing.. We asked to be moved to a non smoking floor but were told that couldn't happen. So.... make sure your reqest for a non smoking is documented when you make your reservation. On the plus side, the hotel is in a great location. The happy hour and breakfasts are a nice perk. I'd stay here again IF I can get that non smoking room. RK

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations and I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your experience during your stay at our hotel. We do our best to honor all guest requests, but sometimes it is difficult due to occupancy. I hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in New Orleans... we look forward to having you as our guest again!

Slade Stratman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent four days and three nights at the Drury Inn. Once we walked into the hotel we were pleasantly surprised with how nice the lobby looked, During the Happy Hour it can get a little chaotic, but once their construction is completed I am confident that that will no longer be an issue. The rooftop pool was a perfect refreshment between the day's activities. However, the best thing that Drury provided was an exceptional staff. Before we arrived at the hotel we called and set up an offsite activity and Jamie, one of the employee's, was very helpful in registering our group for the event as well as making us feel at home. Upon arrival we spoke with Kristen at the front desk about local fares and each and every establishment that she referred was wonderful. During the Happy Hour, Lo, one of the staff member's, was very helpful and we always looked forward to pleasant conversations with her during this time.Looking for a place to stay, THIS IS IT.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel was a couple of blocks away from Bourbon Street which was nice. The rooms were nice and clean, I loved the automatic soap/shampoo/conditioner dispensers! The pool was up on the roof and could use a couple of umbrellas as that sun gets pretty hot but other than that it was awesome! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the 5:30pm kickback. It was more than enough food to basically be your dinner and not to mention the 3 free alcoholic drinks they give you. The only negative but that is NEW ORLEANS in general is the parking...It was $24+tax each day.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor and faced Poydrus...they are doing some construction right now outside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questa, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while visiting New Orleans for the first time. Walking distance to historical and party districts or catch a trolley car to the river for $1.25. Room was clean and nicely decorated - but you probably won't spend much time there. The hotel is a gorgeous, renovated old building. Wish I would have looked up the history of it while we were there.

Located on a busy road but on the 4th floor we didn't hear the noise of the city. Stayed on south side - view is similar on all sides.

Parking was $25/night.

Traveled with adult child and we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Located on a busy road but on the 4th floor we didn't hear the noise of the city. Stayed on sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed for couple of days, met with an old friend who came for a conference. The location is perfect! walking distance to go to anywhere (Aquarium and restaurants). Breakfast and early supper were very good! and some free wine (if you want). Room was great and clean. This is a late review bc we stayed there in January 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.