We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice combination of modern and traditional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice combination of modern and traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is a perfect combination of modern and old-fashioned traditional. The rooms are beautiful, with high ceilings, but a modern, up-to-date bathroom. It has a beautiful lobby, where a nice and delicious breakfast AND an evening happy hour (with free booze and snacks) are served. (The happy hour food is perfect to tide you over until your late and slow-paced New Orleans dinner). Service is excellent. For example, the rooftop outdoor pool was closed for a quick emergency, but the staff made arrangements for guests to be able to use the pool in a few nearby hotels. The location is perfect, short walking distance to the Superdome, the French Quarter and the less touristy restaurants of the Warehouse District. This is close to perfect among New Orleans hotels. (Only complaint (to keep it real here): squishy soft mattress in my room.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    524
    267
    54
    12
    4
See reviews for
250
277
20
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Destrehan, Louisiana, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed there overnight to attend a wedding and reception near by. The location was great for the weeding but not close enough to the French Quarter. The hotel is very nice, beautiful lobby, very nice rooms and staff was excellent. The afternoon happy hour (3 free drinks and food) and full breakfast in the morning included is big plus. I would recommend if attending an event at the Superdome, going to casino, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. When we arrived, we had other family members also, they got lost and one of the hotel employee (Jonathon Gunnels) went above and beyond his duties and jumped in his vehicle, along with my husband and went to find the rest of our lost family members. Fabulous young man. He also knew a lot about all the questions we asked him about the city of New Orleans. The front desk people we great also. The manager gave out real roses for Mother's Day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently had a 4 night stay at the Drury Inn and I have to say it one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Our very clean room was nicely decorated, with very high ceilings and the beds were very comfortable. A beautiful large lobby and reception area where happy hour is provided daily, with free beverages and good food. Breakfast is also provided, with a choice of hot and cold foods, along with some "healthier" choces. The staff is very helpful and quick to correct any problems. (Are lock messed up and maintance was there right away). We had a corner room on the 7th floor, with a great view, even with the construction being done on one side. The hotel has a pool and hottub on the roof, where you also have a nice view of the city. We were within a 5 minute walk to the French Quarter, so it is ideally situated. We were there over the weekend and there were lots of sirens so if your a light sleeper, bring your earplugs to filter out the sounds. Within the hotel it is very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a refreshing place to stay! The staff were consistently cheerful and courteous. There was a problem with a knocking noise in the shower pipe. They offered immediately to let us sleep in another room without moving anything-just to get rest. As soon as they received another complaint about the same subject, they got maintenance in after hours. The problem was resolved quickly. Breakfast was always available earlier than the posted time, a first in my hundreds and hundreds of hotel nights. The hotel provides a light meal and free drinks in the evening, welcome after a long day of walking around town. The location is a couple of blocks out of the bustle of the French Quarter, convenient to the Riverwalk and the Garden District, as well as the St. Charles and Canal Street streetcar lines.

In all my hotel stays, I have wished that hotels would not have doors that slam if inconsiderate guests let them go, especially late at night. The Drury has door that close softly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were warmly welcomed and were very impressed with the lovely interior of the hotel.
As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary we had booked a 2 room jacuzzi suite and had emailed the hotel on the morning of arrival asking for a high floor quiet room, away from the elevators and with a nice view, what we actually got was a high floor room overlooking the building work going on, not ideal but a visit to reception got us sorted, we never got our jacuzzi but the room was much nicer, it was on the third floor and as it was a corner room there were lots of windows and it had a street view, which was far more appealing than the original one, we were informed that the jaccuzi suites were all in that area, it would have been helpful to have known this in adavance as we would not have paid extra to have an upgraded room and just opted for a standard room.
The hotel was in a good location, we did not use the hotel parking, we used a company called Premium parking, we parked at the hotel, checked in with our luggage and then parked the car in covered parking, this cost us 45 dollars for 3 nights and we could come and go as we pleased, it was located in camp street and took us about 4 minutes to walk there, a much cheaper option than using the hotels parking.
The breakfast and evening food choices were fine, a bit limited for my taste and could be a bit repetitive if staying for any longer.
The reason I have given this hotel a 3 rating is that we were unhappy with the room housekeeping, our shower gel was empty from the day we checked in until we left, after the first night we thought it would be changed, the same again after the second, it never happened and we should have brought to the attention of staff when it was not replenished the first night, we were also unhappy to arrive back to our room on the last night to find our bedding on the floor, the top cover was folded up and left lying on the floor, not very hygenic and I was not to pleased as we had recently had a bad experience in the Drury hotel in Mobile where we had ants running around on our bedside table.
On checking out we did mention this matter to the girl on the desk, she said she would let her manager know, whether she does or not remains to be seen.
This hotel has great write ups, this is why we chose to book a couple of stays on our roadtrip, based on these experiences we will not book again, we must have just been unlucky.

Room Tip: avoid a jaccuzzi room as very noisy and look onto work been done at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We strive to provide our guest with clean comfortable rooms during their stay. We are continuously reviewing guest comments and inspecting our rooms daily to make sure that our housekeeping staff is cleaning the rooms up to our standards and our guests' expectations. Our location does provide off site valet parking due to the construction on a new on-site parking garage that will be completed by early 2014. Our current valet parking does have unlimited in and out privilege with the vehicle being provided at our canopy entrance upon request for $25 per day.

Slade Stratman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.