We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic elegance in moderately priced hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #11 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historic elegance in moderately priced hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I recently spent several days at the Drury Inn on Poydras Street in New Orleans and were completely surprised by the historic elegance and architecture of this moderately priced hotel. Formerly the Cumberland Phone Company building (saved by preservationists), the lobby of the Drury has beautiful marble floors and chandeliers, something you would never find in a budget-minded property. The rooms were recently updated and very clean, with cable TV and free wireless. Many amenities, such as a daily happy hour with food and a full breakfast (you could even make your own waffles) rounded out the stay--a great place for couples or families. Within walking distance of the French Quarter, it was easy to ramble down Chartres Street to the French Market. The staff was friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DancerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you're looking for a nice place to stay within walking distance of Bourbon Street, the casino, the Convention Center or the World War II Museum (a must see), then consider the Drury Inn. The staff is really friendly, the rooms are very nice and the location is incredibly convenient. You can't go anywhere in New Orleans without being close to a great restaurant, and this place is no exception. This is particularly important given that the hotel has no restaurant. They do have a nice breakfast buffet and they offer free drinks (3) during their happy hour, but for lunch and dinner you will be walking. They are in the process of expanding (adding more parking, rooms and meeting space), but the construction never bothered us. There are certainly more upscale places to stay in New Orleans, but you won't regret choosing this place.

Room Tip: I had a king room on the 5th floor facing Poydras Street and was never bothered by the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WMM63CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This Drury Inn didn't disappoint us on our one night stay. The room was very clean and I always appreciate a hotel with the sink outside of the bathroom. The evening happy hour resembled a small buffet and could very well be your dinner! They had quite a few options - even salad! And the breakfast was great as well. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the French Quarter and several other touristy spots. There is construction going on outside of the hotel and our room was on that side, but we didn't notice any noise or disturbances. This hotel is a great choice in NOLA!

Room Tip: I read in several of the reviews that some of the rooms have small windows and the view is not great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleenfreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We just got back from 3 days in New Orleans, staying at the Drury Inn & Suites. We had a 2-room king-size suite on the 5th floor.

What a great hotel! Just our style. We started each day with their free breakfast, got free drinks in the evening, popcorn and soft drinks until 10 PM, and free HBO.
We didn't use their free "kick-back" evening noshes since we tend to eat an early dinner.

The only negative is that there is no locking safe in the room.

The staff are wonderful, very helpful. Our room, which faced out onto Poydras, was very quiet at night. The nuttiness of the French Quarter is just far enough away to not come through our windows at night.

The French Quarter is about a 10-minute walk, as is the World War II Museum. We tried our luck at the slots at Harrah's, shopped in the French Marketplace, toured the Ursuline Convent, and took in live Dixieland music in Jackson Square. Rode the free ferry to Algiers, toured the Cabildo Museum, and ate and ate and ate. (Well, it IS New Orleans, after all.) Everything is within easy walking distance from the Drury.

The Drury seems to attract mostly middle-class families and we fit right in. We loved the Drury and will definitely stay there again and look into other Drury hotels in other cities.

Room Tip: I asked for a room on a higher floor and our 2-room suite was on the 5th floor. The higher the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at the New Orleans Drury Inn and Suites and it was awesome as usually, superb service from everyone there, great rooms, tasty and filling breakfast and nice evening options. I love the popcorn that is available every afternoon/evening, its addictive for me! Great location, close to Bourbon St , on the St Charles Trolley line and easy to get to the French Quarter for sightseeing, dining etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale PA USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We spent one night there before our flight the next morning. The staff was very nice and helpful. There is free wifi, a free drink happy hour for guests with snacks. There is also a free breakfast, but we left too early the use it. It is only a few blocks from Bourbon St., within walking distance. The rooms are small, plenty of outlets to charge phones and ipads, the shower had great water pressure. The bed was comfortable. Our only complaint is that I requested a room away from the elevator. They gave us a room right next to it and it was noisy, kept me awake all night long. Since we were only there for less than 12 hours and only in the room for 6 hours, we didn't complain. It's only a 20 minute drive to the airport. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bud56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I love the Drury brand hotels. When I went here for a convention with my wife and kids I knew the first place I would reserve a room is the Drury. And it was what I expected from a Drury. It had the free popcorn and drinks from 3-10 pm, free hot breakfast in the morning and free supper in the evenings. Plus, it was in a great location, with a street car stop within a few steps from the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C Hotel
Q&C Hotel
#9 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing