We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic elegance in moderately priced hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Historic elegance in moderately priced hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I recently spent several days at the Drury Inn on Poydras Street in New Orleans and were completely surprised by the historic elegance and architecture of this moderately priced hotel. Formerly the Cumberland Phone Company building (saved by preservationists), the lobby of the Drury has beautiful marble floors and chandeliers, something you would never find in a budget-minded property. The rooms were recently updated and very clean, with cable TV and free wireless. Many amenities, such as a daily happy hour with food and a full breakfast (you could even make your own waffles) rounded out the stay--a great place for couples or families. Within walking distance of the French Quarter, it was easy to ramble down Chartres Street to the French Market. The staff was friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    484
    257
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
233
257
20
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you're looking for a nice place to stay within walking distance of Bourbon Street, the casino, the Convention Center or the World War II Museum (a must see), then consider the Drury Inn. The staff is really friendly, the rooms are very nice and the location is incredibly convenient. You can't go anywhere in New Orleans without being close to a great restaurant, and this place is no exception. This is particularly important given that the hotel has no restaurant. They do have a nice breakfast buffet and they offer free drinks (3) during their happy hour, but for lunch and dinner you will be walking. They are in the process of expanding (adding more parking, rooms and meeting space), but the construction never bothered us. There are certainly more upscale places to stay in New Orleans, but you won't regret choosing this place.

Room Tip: I had a king room on the 5th floor facing Poydras Street and was never bothered by the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This Drury Inn didn't disappoint us on our one night stay. The room was very clean and I always appreciate a hotel with the sink outside of the bathroom. The evening happy hour resembled a small buffet and could very well be your dinner! They had quite a few options - even salad! And the breakfast was great as well. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the French Quarter and several other touristy spots. There is construction going on outside of the hotel and our room was on that side, but we didn't notice any noise or disturbances. This hotel is a great choice in NOLA!

Room Tip: I read in several of the reviews that some of the rooms have small windows and the view is not great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We just got back from 3 days in New Orleans, staying at the Drury Inn & Suites. We had a 2-room king-size suite on the 5th floor.

What a great hotel! Just our style. We started each day with their free breakfast, got free drinks in the evening, popcorn and soft drinks until 10 PM, and free HBO.
We didn't use their free "kick-back" evening noshes since we tend to eat an early dinner.

The only negative is that there is no locking safe in the room.

The staff are wonderful, very helpful. Our room, which faced out onto Poydras, was very quiet at night. The nuttiness of the French Quarter is just far enough away to not come through our windows at night.

The French Quarter is about a 10-minute walk, as is the World War II Museum. We tried our luck at the slots at Harrah's, shopped in the French Marketplace, toured the Ursuline Convent, and took in live Dixieland music in Jackson Square. Rode the free ferry to Algiers, toured the Cabildo Museum, and ate and ate and ate. (Well, it IS New Orleans, after all.) Everything is within easy walking distance from the Drury.

The Drury seems to attract mostly middle-class families and we fit right in. We loved the Drury and will definitely stay there again and look into other Drury hotels in other cities.

Room Tip: I asked for a room on a higher floor and our 2-room suite was on the 5th floor. The higher the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at the New Orleans Drury Inn and Suites and it was awesome as usually, superb service from everyone there, great rooms, tasty and filling breakfast and nice evening options. I love the popcorn that is available every afternoon/evening, its addictive for me! Great location, close to Bourbon St , on the St Charles Trolley line and easy to get to the French Quarter for sightseeing, dining etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale PA USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We spent one night there before our flight the next morning. The staff was very nice and helpful. There is free wifi, a free drink happy hour for guests with snacks. There is also a free breakfast, but we left too early the use it. It is only a few blocks from Bourbon St., within walking distance. The rooms are small, plenty of outlets to charge phones and ipads, the shower had great water pressure. The bed was comfortable. Our only complaint is that I requested a room away from the elevator. They gave us a room right next to it and it was noisy, kept me awake all night long. Since we were only there for less than 12 hours and only in the room for 6 hours, we didn't complain. It's only a 20 minute drive to the airport. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I love the Drury brand hotels. When I went here for a convention with my wife and kids I knew the first place I would reserve a room is the Drury. And it was what I expected from a Drury. It had the free popcorn and drinks from 3-10 pm, free hot breakfast in the morning and free supper in the evenings. Plus, it was in a great location, with a street car stop within a few steps from the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans
New Orleans Drury
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.