We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, well run.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #7 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent value, well run.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel has a lot of charm and is well located. It's right on the street car line and about a 10 minute walk from Canal Street and the French Quarter. The price is good, although $25 a night valet parking and a slew of taxes erodes the value just a bit. I have stayed twice now in a corner room at the front of the building. That gives you 3 big windows and the ceilings are at least 10 feet high. I would rate this 5 stars, but for 2 quibbles. The food at the afternoon "kickback" is mediocre at best, although the fact that it's "free" makes it okay. And I was disappointed after booking the room months in advance requesting a room at the front on the highest floor possible, then being given a room on the 3rd floor of the 8 story building. The hotel is on a very busy street and the traffic noise well into the night is quite loud. I even called ahead after booking the room over the internet, so I thought I would be placed on a higher and more quiet floor. If I visit New Orleans again, I will likely book my stay at the Drury.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the building would appear to have no view, as there is a tall office towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    363
    72
    18
    8
See reviews for
375
391
27
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Not much to say.....nice hotel, clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast in the AM, cocktails in the evening with hot and cold snacks!....NICE.....close to the Superdome and Bourbon Street, Canal street also close, grocery market with lots of hot and cold already prepared food nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sask., Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Right from the check inn staff to the Manager,they all were so nice.The hotel was very clean and quiet.The breakfast in the morning was perfect to start your day.Then at 5:30p.m. they had drink,s and appetizer,s till 7p.m.What a nice treat!!!!!Our first stay ever at the Drury inn,s and we had a wonderful seven night stay.The location was a very easy walk to the French Quarter and a lot of river attraction,s and the Superdome!!!Perfect Location......

Room Tip: We had a room on the 8th floor facing the bridge with a nice view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

he hotel was great it had a rooftop pool and a gym the rooms were great d clean very nice staff near all the actiton in new orleans the hotel was great "breakfast and dinner was wonderful i loved the waffles

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Visited from the UK on a business trip. Check in was marred a little by a misunderstanding about payment arrangements but receptionist was nevertheless friendly and helpful, arranging a meal delivery from a nearby fast food outlet for me. My room was comfortable and had everything I expect. Only drawback was the view from the window was none existant but this wasn't important for a solo business trip. Breakfast buffet was excellent as was the evening happy hour / kickback. Great location only a couple of blocks away from everything Bopurbon St and the French Quarter have to offer. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
423 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I spend a lot of time in New Orleans and had my parents there with me on this last trip. We got a room at the Drury for Wednesday and Thursday before the Voodoo Fest. Check-in was very efficient and the staff went out of their way to make my parents feel comfortable and not like lost tourists in a strange city. The rooms are nice and cozy with tall windows and ceilings. They had a room facing the the Mississippi River. The Drury's location is excellent, midway in CBD on Poydras, it is an easy walk to Harrah's, The French Quarter or The Dome. There are excellent restaurants close by. The valets were also wonderful and your car is right beside the hotel on the ground floor from what we noticed. We were provided with a complimentary breakfast which was good and three drink tickets apiece but they went unused. My parents, being somewhat typical picky people, loved the room and enjoyed their stay. Our only complaint would be no safe in the room. The Hotel does have a somewhat dated feel to it but that is also so much of the charm of New Orleans. But otherwise everything else was fantastic and I would not hesitate to get a room at the Drury again.

Room Tip: For views of New Orleans get high and face East or South towards the River and French Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Reasonable price and good location about 1/2 mile from the French Quarter. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Morning breakfast was really good. Menu included eggs (you can add cheese and ham), sausages, waffles, biscuits and gravy and orange, apple juice and milk. Fresh fruit and yogurt was also available. We did not eat at the evening "happy hour", although it appeared appetizing. Parking is extra, approx $28 dollars per night. I understand all of the hotels in the area charge this so expect to pay to park regardless of where you stay..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#8 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,804 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,199 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#12 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Odigeo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.