We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice and relatively close to the French Quarters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 4 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice and relatively close to the French Quarters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Reasonable price and good location about 1/2 mile from the French Quarter. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Morning breakfast was really good. Menu included eggs (you can add cheese and ham), sausages, waffles, biscuits and gravy and orange, apple juice and milk. Fresh fruit and yogurt was also available. We did not eat at the evening "happy hour", although it appeared appetizing. Parking is extra, approx $28 dollars per night. I understand all of the hotels in the area charge this so expect to pay to park regardless of where you stay..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    484
    257
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
233
257
20
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We lucked out majorly in getting a suite the weekend before Halloween for a decent price. The hotel is very pretty, inside and out and every staff member I dealt with was courteous and helpful. I was also very pleased that a room key was required to use the elevators. With three women traveling alone, you can never be too security conscious.

The room was gorgeous and had plenty of space for three women to get dressed and do makeup and hair. The complementary cocktails and food were awesome, though the ballroom was a bit crowded. The TVs in the room were great and the bed was soft and comfortable.

My absolute favorite part of my stay was the shower. It was the closest my companions and I have ever come to being romantically attached to an inanimate object. It was absolutely lovely.

On the whole, I would definitely stay in this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and were impressed by this hotel.We stayed in a room with a nice view of the French Quarter. The employees were very warm, and one of them, Christine, went out of her way to make us comfortable. We had a little unpleasant experience on the first night, but were impressed by how efficiently it was dealt with. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We came in for Voodoo Experience and also to soak up New Orleans atmosphere. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was very nice. Our room looked out into an unattractive inner courtyard, but that might have helped it be very quiet. No complaints, we did all our sight-seeing out and about the city. Would definitely stay at a Drury again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for a Saints game and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is an older building and has brass and wooden fixtures. We stayed in a corner suite with a nice view of the Mississippi RIver Bridge. The locaton was convenient and walking distance to the superdome. The employees were very friendly and helpful. No complaints. This is a good value for this area of New Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We called earily and set things up,they said we could come anytime to check in.that was at 8:00 am, most say 3:00 pm.stayed in room 903 with a good view for less then we were paying for average. Found shower was great, bed good and the two tv's and two rooms made life very easy for us. It's a easy walk to the French quarters, a few blocks. They park your car for you and it cost 25.00

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was not the first Drury Inn that we have stayed in. But our previous stays at other locations is what prompted us to check the Drury Inn in New Orleans for our pre-cruise stay

As usual, everything was very clean an nicely decorated. Love the high ceilings. We stayed one night only and spend most of the evening on Bourbon street which is only a short walk away. therefore, we didnt take advantage of the 5 pm kickback. We did have breakfast though and it was good. Staff was very helpful as we find them to always be at Drury Inns.

Check in and check out were both a breeze and they called a cab for us immediately. If I had one negative, it would be that our room did not have a safe in it. But that would only be a minor complaint at most. I would most certainly stay there again. In fact, Drury Inn's have become the first place we check into when traveling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans
New Orleans Drury
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.