We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best I found in this area so far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best I found in this area so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We called earily and set things up,they said we could come anytime to check in.that was at 8:00 am, most say 3:00 pm.stayed in room 903 with a good view for less then we were paying for average. Found shower was great, bed good and the two tv's and two rooms made life very easy for us. It's a easy walk to the French quarters, a few blocks. They park your car for you and it cost 25.00

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    567
    276
    56
    13
    5
See reviews for
272
295
20
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was not the first Drury Inn that we have stayed in. But our previous stays at other locations is what prompted us to check the Drury Inn in New Orleans for our pre-cruise stay

As usual, everything was very clean an nicely decorated. Love the high ceilings. We stayed one night only and spend most of the evening on Bourbon street which is only a short walk away. therefore, we didnt take advantage of the 5 pm kickback. We did have breakfast though and it was good. Staff was very helpful as we find them to always be at Drury Inns.

Check in and check out were both a breeze and they called a cab for us immediately. If I had one negative, it would be that our room did not have a safe in it. But that would only be a minor complaint at most. I would most certainly stay there again. In fact, Drury Inn's have become the first place we check into when traveling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent a couple of days here the weekend before Halloween. I had a difficult time finding a decent hotel because of the voodoo fest. I went thru the voodoo website and found this hotel for !150.00 per night for Friday and Saturday. The hotel stay included a nice breakfast and the %:30 kickback. Overall it was a pleasant stay. The manager Slade was awesome and went the extra mile to make sure evertything was ok.

Room Tip: The roof has a pool and jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for 3 days last week. Hotel is clean and staff are friendly. The free morning breakfast was decent with plenty of options. The evening "happy hour" is not quite as good as I expected though. Hot dog buns were stale and the liquor/wine brands were all generic. We wished it started earlier, like 4:30 (instead of 5:30) and had less quanities, and more quality. Ditch the hot dogs, soup, chips, meatballs, pasta(?) and substitute some more upscale cheeses, crackers, fresh fruits for instance.

Note that the FQ is somewhat of a walk from this place. Not terrible, depending on your age and fitness level, but many days after walking around the quarter all day, the last thing we wanted to do was hike all the way back to the CBD. Not far enough to warrant catching a cab, but sometimes it felt like a little too far to walk. Don't get me wrong, I liked this hotel, just not sure it was the best choice for us this trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited New Orleans in October and opted to stay in the Central Business District, rather than in the heart of the French Quarter. This was an excellent decision. We were within walking distance of the action, and the walk itself felt very safe (unlike many areas in New Orleans). The hotel was nice, the staff was friendly and they offered some nice perks. There was free hot breakfast every morning, hot dinner every night, and fresh popcorn every evening. They also allowed three free cocktails per guest each night. While these were a nice addition, there is so much to do in New Orleans that we didn't find it necessary to take advantage of any of these offerings besides breakfast. Overall, the hotel was fine. The bed was comfortable and everything seemed clean. My only issue is that there are more luxurious hotels in the area for the same price. I would be inclined to search around a bit to see if any of the higher-end hotels have availability and a good rate, and if not, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Make sure the ice machine and beverage machine on your floor are working - they were not working on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at the Drury for one night on business. The lobby was well kept, and my room was very clean and average in size and amenities for a basic King room. Location was good - very close to the federal courthouse, close to restaurants, a few blocks from the casino. The freebies (free drinks, free hot appetizers, free hot breakfast, free wi-fi) are really nice. This isn't where I would stay if I was going to New Orleans on vacation, but it suited my needs very well as a business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For a dedcent price and good location, the Drury Inn is tough to beat. About 1/2 mile from the French Quarter, a block from the St. Charles Trolley and easy access to the Warehouse District, it can't really be beat. The rooms are comfortable and clean and there is little noise since you are more in the Central Business District than the big party areas. Breakfast comes with the room, and while little more than average fare, it is free and gets you out of the hotel and into the city that much faster. All in all, not a bad place to stay when in N.O.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.