We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great time in New Orleans"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Salisbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Great time in New Orleans"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Went to New Orleans for the Final four as first time visitors. The Hotel met all of our needs,
The location was great, the staff was great, the room was great and the food was more than adequate. We were able to walk everywhere, didn't even have to rent a car, We spent 4 full days and were able to see a lot of New Orleans. We caught a trolley 2 blocks away on St Charles street and headed out towards the garden district and Tulane University. The architecture and the big houses were a pleasure to see (Get the 3 dollar trolley pass- good for all day on the trolley and bus systems which will take you anywhere you want to go until four in the morning.
There is store that sells fruit just a block away and there is a neat little pizza place two blocks away Reginelli's Pizzeria on Poydras Street (try the combo) so good we went back three times.
The WWII museum is worth the visit, Again, you can catch a trolley and be there in less than 10 minutes. The Flea market in the French Quarter is a cool place to shop, again accessible by walking or trolley. and you can meander down to Bourbon Street on foot and get happy feet listening to the great music (a 10-15 minute walk).
The NOPD were great, There was police presence everywhere, Not to rain on anybody's parade but just to make sure everyone had a good time So you felt safe whether it was four in the afternoon or four in the morning.
Had reservations about going to New Orleans but by the time the trip was over I was a full blown ambassador for New Orleans. Again, Thanks to the folks at the Drury for helping make this such a great vacation!

Room Tip: You can pay 1.25 for a one way fare on the trolley or for a 3 dollars get an all day pass which wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    275
    56
    13
    4
See reviews for
268
291
20
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

# 1 rated three star hotel (as I believe was advertised in the elevator) just about sums it up. Although a little dated, the rooms were clean. I wished the windows would open though. The lobby area is very nice. The hotel staff is helpful. I asked them to print my boarding pass later in the afternoon to get me in Group A of Southwest Airlines, and they were very helpful that way. The rooftop pool is simple, but adequate enough....lots of sun! The exercise room was very small with only two treadmills. The (hot) breakfast buffet and 5:30 kick off hour/food are a nice addition. You must swipe your room card to access the elevator, which is a nice security feature. The rooms have a mini frig and microwave. It is a short, safe walk to Canal St./Bourbon St., Riverwalk & casino. I would probably stay here again, although I do think there is something nice about the ambience (and getting a hotel with a little patio in a courtyard) of actually staying in the French Quarter but it's more expensive. If you are traveling with children, you will DEFINATELY get your $$$$$ worth on the buffets alone! One other point, if you have a fear of dogs do not stay here as they allow dogs in the rooms/elevators/hallways.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This wasn't my first choice of hotel but due to the Final Four being in town the same weekend we were due to catch a cruise ship (very bad timing) we struggled to get accommodation. Thank goodness we didn't get in our hotel of choice which was straight on Bourbon St and totally inappropriate when travelling with children. The Drury was great. Large bedroom with 2 big beds, clean and fully functioning. Only downside is no safety deposit box but the main reception will let you use one there for free. Breakfast is fine and the Kick Back snacks are ok but after eating for 1 day your not so keen to go back. Hotel could do with clamping down on the homeless people who sneak in for free coffee.
Free wi-fi and free soft drinks from 3pm until 10pm. 3 free alcoholic drinks per adult each night too and they'll even make a cocktail for you. Not too far to walk from all the attractions but far enough away from the madness.
If you catching a cruise, we managed to walk from hotel with all our luggage no problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Hotel public areas and room were nicely decorated and very clean. Good location--a few blocks from Bourbon Street/French Quarter. Close enough to walk but away from the craziness. Maybe 3 blocks from the Airport Express bus ($2 fare). Adjacent to the St. Charles street car line which goes out to the Garden District. Staff were all very friendly and helpful and made good restaurant recommendations.
There were two reasons I didn't give this hotel 5 stars. The room had full size beds instead of queen. I knew this when I made the reservation, so it was not a surprise, but there was a bumped out wall (maybe with some ductwork behind it?) right next to my head and on 2 nights of our 3 night stay I woke up the whole family hitting my head on this wall while I slept! Also, while the food offerings at breakfast and 'dinner' (chicken fingers, nachos, mac and cheese, soup, baked potatoes, salad) were above average and greatly appreciated, I thought that the food was not at a good serving temperature. By the time I sat down, the meat, beans and cheese sauce for the nachos was cold. Or in the morning, the gravy of the biscuits and gravy was cold.
Price of the hotel was good, especially considering the money we saved by a large lunch then eating 'dinner' at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Took TA's advice, and glad we did. Lots of small free extras -- hot breakfast, happy hour -- and unfailingly polite staff.

A bit of a walk to French Quarters, but definitely within range with comfy shoes.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My family and I spent a three day Easter weekend at the Drury in New Orleans. The location is very good. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Canal Street edge of the French Quarter. It is also very close to the St Charles Avenue Street Car Line ($1.25 each way if you would like to go into the Garden District or even farther up river.) It is about a 15 minute walk to the Superdome and to the next door New Orleans Arena (The Hive). Go Hornets! The free breakfast at the Drury is a real bonus. The breakfast food choices (eggs, waffles, sausage, french toast and biscuits and gravy were more than adequate. In the evening they offer "heavy snacks" along with three free drinks. Free self serve pepsi products are available 24/7 and popcorn is available for an evening light snack. The hotel service was fine. Our very basic guest room was not huge but we didn't seem to mind. They have 2 computers with printers available in the lobby for guest use for things like checking in for flights and printing of boarding passes. I also used the guest computer for a little surfing. They have a small, but nice, roof top pool and hot tub. Towels are available in the pool area. There are a few restaurants nearby, including the Bon Ton Cafe (only open M-F) at the corner of Magazine and Poydras. But there are hundreds of other excellent restaurants scattered throughout New Orleans, including some within reasonably easy walking distance in the French Quarter or Central Business District. The cab to and from the airport was $56 each way plus tip, for our family of four. It seemed to be about a 15 minute ride to the airport from the Drury. For Roman Catholics, you have a couple of nearby choices for Mass while at the Drury. We walked over for Easter Sunday Mass at Saint Patrick's (724 Camp St.). We were in and out in 45 minutes.My children really appreciated the brevity of the Mass.To summarize, we liked the Drury a lot. We would probably go back to the Drury in a future visit to New Orleans. Excellent value for the price. Very good location.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansboro, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were impressed with the entire stay at this hotel. Exceeded our expectations for decor, service, and quality for the price we were paying in downtown New Orleans. Nice sized rooms in this converted office building. They really put out a nice breakfast and the 5:30 - 7pm happy hour with adult drinks was unbelievable. It's only a couple blocks from Canal Street and the French Quarter. We walked to and from multiple times, and they were the most quiet, uneventful walks we've ever had. We didn't worry about being alone late at night. The walk to the French Quarter is quick, and the cross street leads right into Bourbon Street! We walked everywhere - to the Riverwalk, to the French Market, and it all seemed like short distances and well lighted.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;