We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at a Drury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“First stay at a Drury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed here over Mardi Gras. Place was packed but staff did an excellent job in keeping everything clean. Hot tub on roof could have been a bit warmer but it was enjoyable and a interesting vantage point for a parade. Over all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    288
    59
    14
    5
See reviews for
287
306
20
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the weekend before Mardi Gras. I was a bit apprehensive because of some reviews but overall I was pleased. The staff was very nice and helpful. We left our room early in the morning and several days near noon and upon our return our room was nice and tidy. We had a jacuzzi suite and it was quite spacious...enough room for much more than two people. There are two full size closets, mini fridge, flat panel TV, livingroom, and separate bedroom. The short walk to the French Quarter was nice and there is a Domino's just around the corner for an evening snack...or there are many nicer places that deliver to the hotel. Maybe the only little thing that kind of bothered us was the view. I am not sure if all jacuzzie suites are situated in the back corner of the hotel but our view was faced west and consisted primarily of two brick walls bordering the parking lot and some buildings off in the distance. Since we didn't spend much time in our room, the view did not bother us much. It was our first trip to New Orleans for some of the Mardi Gras festivities and we look forward to staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Get the Jacuzzi Suite! It's very roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The guest services at the drury were very helpful and accommodating! The room is basic, however, very clean. The breakfast and mid-day snacks were very good! They throw in free wi-fi, and free night time calls...something hotels do not do. Overall, for a no frills type of place, we got a lot more than your other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

It lived up to all the reviews I read. Yes it is not a swanky 5 star but it clean, centrally located, good price, easy to get everwhere, and the people were very nice!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here both before a cruise and during Mardi Gras. I thought the location very good. Just a few blocks from the French Quarter (the cross street Carondelet turns into Bourbon Street) and one block north of St. Charles.

The price of your room includes wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, popcorn in the afternoon, and sodas all day. In the evening from 5:30 to 7:00 they offer free hot and cold snacks (chicken fingers, hot dogs, macaroni and cheese, chips, etc) and up to three complimentary cocktails. Be advised though that all of this food does not mean they have a restaurant or a bar. They do not.

The rooms we stayed in were clean, but a bit dated with thin bedspreads and somewhat lumpy pillows.

For Mardi Gras they issued wrist bands so that only people staying in the hotel could enter. They also closed a second entrance so that everyone had to pass by security. I appreciated the added security as Mardi Gras is a crazy time. Judging from the number of wrist bands I saw during our three days, I am guessing this is a common practice with a lot of the hotels.

All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is our first time staying at a Drury and we'll definitely be back!

Location was excellent: about a 5 minute walk to Bourbon Street, so close enough but also far enough away to have some peace & quiet to sleep.

Staff were excellent: extremely helpful!

Restaurant tips: The Red Fish Grill has THE BEST po'boys. The Ste. Marie Restaurant about a block away on Poydras is fantastic (so fantastic that we ate there twice in 3 days)!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I read the reviews first, which why I booked this hotel, and then was able to get a great price -bonus!!. Its close to the French Quarter, Riverwalk and the WWII Museum. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel breakfast and Kickback are both outstanding and plentiful. We had great customer service and the accomodation was clean, up to date and attractive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.