We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, fantastic experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A great, fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! Check-in was a breeze and had no problems getting to our room. The lobby displayed a classic 1920s hotel style, as well as a grand staircase. The hotel's elevators are room key activated only, for safety reasons. We had a smoking corner room on the ninth floor and there was no trace of smoke anywhere in the room. There was clean white sheets on the bed and clean carpets. Also to our surprise, there was a door that led out to a balcony (we was one of the two rooms to have this.), which I enjoyed being a outdoors person. The bathroom was clean and spotless. The shower provided shampoo, conditioner, and body wash, although I brought my own. The 5:30 Kickback in the lobby was like dinner to us. There was hot dogs, chicken tenders, cocktails, and liquor (2 for every person and show your room key). The pool and hot tub were clean and pristine, although I didn't use it. The views from the rooftop were breathtaking. The fitness room had a bike and step machines and two treadmills (a somewhat small room, though). The general manager and his staff were great to us. I will recommend this Drury Hotel and will stay here again when I come back to NOLA.

Room Tip: The rooms of the ninth floor offer lee traffic noise and greater views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    484
    257
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
233
257
20
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

It was my first time staying at a drury hotel and was impressed with what you get for your money. The breakfast was perfect for us since we were looking just for some cereal to kick start our morning before indulging in the great food new Orleans has to offer. The free wifi was excellent and fast. We reserved a deluxe room since I wanted to make sure I got at least one window. The ceilings are at least 14 feet, we had two windows, and the bed was comfy. The location was great being only a couple blocks from the french quarter, a block from the st. Charles trolley, and walking distance to the garden district. After seeing where some of the other hotels were located, we thing we picked the right one since many of the others were in the thick of it all and we were liking our silience the street traffic can be a little loud, ESP. For those not used to it. But it's nothing really to complain about too much. For the price, amenities and location we were very happy with our stay

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed here December 12-14 during my first visit to NOLA. This hotel is immaculately clean and very nice for the rate. I stayed in room 616. A COMFORTABLE King-sized bed, high ceilings and nice furnishings, marble floor and wall tiles in the spacious bathroom, and a big flat screen TV - overall very nice!

The front desk and breakfast/dinner buffet employees were all very friendly and helpful. They stored my bags upon checkout for a few hours so I could go do more sightseeing until time for my outbound train to leave. The very friendly lady at the front desk retrieved my bags and offered to get me a taxi when I came back. (This was appreciated, but I already had one waiting out front that I'd taken back from the Quarter and the French Market after losing all track of time *easy to do!* and realizing I wasn't going to have time to walk back to the hotel and then get to the station if I didn't cab it, LOL!) The free breakfast was really good and not skimpy; biscuits and gravy, sausage and eggs, donuts, etc. The free evening cocktail hour includes 3 drinks along with a very good and tasty selection of the kinds of snacks you'd have while watching a ballgame: nachos, hot wings, chicken tenders, etc, along with baked potatoes and salad, so you really could have just this for dinner if you wanted. This was all also really good. Obviously both were a good way to save time and money.

The rooftop pool and hottub are heated and looked very clean and inviting, although I never did get around to using them. (Went up there one night to get a few pictures of the skyline - you take the elevator to 9, then take the one all the way down on the left on up to 10 to go outside.) I don't currently have a laptop, although they did offer free Wifi. They have two desktops and a printer in the lobby, and these were very handy for getting and printing google map directions for my little self-guided walking tour of the Quarter, as well as checking emails, etc.

The streetcars are both historic and very handy. (If you pay cash each time you ride you have to have correct change.) The best deal is to buy an all day or multi-day "Jazzy Pass" which is good for unlimited rides on all three streetcar lines (Canal, Riverfront, and St. Charles) as well as the local buses. You can do this with correct change onboard, or from a machine at the stop at Canal and Carondelet. The St. Charles streetcar stops directly beside the hotel on Carondelet (you can wait at the bus shelter across Carondelet). This one runs "inbound," and you can ride it about four blocks to Canal. At that point just get off and cross Canal, because this is where Carondelet turns into Bourbon St! I did just that and had no problems, and honestly I think walking the four or so blocks down Carondelet to get over to Bourbon would have been OK too even at night, although the streetcar is just neat, and handy if you want to save a little walking before you hit Bourbon. The streetcar coming back from Canal runs on its namesake St. Charles, and you just get off at Poydras and walk one block up that street back to the hotel.

For a good way to spend part of an afternoon, also be sure to ride the streetcar out to the Garden District. Google Map the Garden District Bookstore, I forget which street you get off at but you can easily figure it out, I did. The bookstore is an awesome place to visit lots of signed books by famous local and regional authors. (I got a signed hardback of "The Help" - yay me, lol!) It is only about a block from the streetcar stop, and in the midst of many beautiful homes, and is also close to Lafayette Cemetery which is fascinating to walk through.

I'm totally in love with New Orleans after one visit! Walking along the Riverwalk, through Jackson Square, and through the French Quarter early in the morning as the city is waking up is also something you don't want to miss. I also recommend the Steamboat Natchez, great food and a really good way to see the city from the perspective of the river, including the levee that broke after Katrina, the Lower Ninth Ward, and the site of the Battle of New Orleans. Again, the Drury was a great place to stay for the money. I will visit New Orleans again, and will definitely stay at the Drury when I do.

One last thing: I arrived and departed by train, and I highly recommend riding Amtrak's modern version of the famous "City of New Orleans" if you want a very relaxed experience that allows you to meet fascinating fellow travelers and watch America roll by, including great views of Lake Pontchartrain and the swamps between NOLA and Hammond. Spend the extra money for a sleeper car roomette if you do. All meals included (they're good, too!), along with free coffee and juice in the sleeping car anytime you want it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

Very accommodating. Quiet, clean rooms. Several blocks from the French Quarter, but not a bad walk. Walked it several times at night, never felt like we were in danger. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

checked in late, and had trouble getting in. Room was nice,except was a handicapped room (wife is in a wheelchair) and toilet was to low. We spoke to the manger, and he said this was an oversight, and they would be taking care of it. Best part was the 5:30 kickback (free food and cocktails)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Not too much more I can add here that has not already been said. The rooms are basic but clean, the location is a few minutes away from the madness of the Quarter but an easy walk. Cabs are always easy to catch.
The breakfast was not as fast food heavy as I expected and the evening drinks and snacks had a nice blend of junk food and healthy options. I think they were the only healthy thing I ate in my three days in the city. It would be nice if they had some local options for their evening menu but they pour a strong drink so that's always nice!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

My sister and I spent 4 nights in a 1 bedroom suite. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful (especially you Ronaldo!). They were happy to help with booking tours, advice, everything. We didn't want to stay in the French Quarter itself and found the walk there and back very pleasant. We walked a bit at night and stuck to busy areas, and never once felt uneasy or in danger. The room itself was comfortable and spacious. The breakfast and 5.30 kickback were great and most days, after having a big lunch out, it was more than sufficient for dinner. So far I have loved all the Drury Inns I have stayed at, and if I ever make it back to NOLA, I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans
New Orleans Drury
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.