We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! stay HERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Eastern PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wow!! stay HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 9 night s in May. I can't say enough about the great friendly service we recieved. The manager was on site all the time and made every effort to speak with all the guests. We had a suite room on the 6th floor with a street view. The room was lovely with 15 foot ceilings, marble bath and two large LCD TVs. Our frig kept things cold but we really shouldn't have bought any drinks or snacks because the hotel offers them for FREE! Every night from 5:30-7pm they offer a great variety of of hot snax and three free alcoholic beverages (including things like Margaritas and blood Marys as well as white, red and zinfandel wines and Bud light beer). They also offer a very nice hot breakfast in the morning. The pool and Jacuzzi on the roof were clean and warm with plenty of towels. All elevators require your room key to work so you feel very safe. If you decide to stay right in the French Quarter/ Bourbon Street (I was almost lured in by the Royal Sonesta-but so glad I picked Drury instead) I guarantee you will not get any sleep. It's like New Years Eve in Times Square every night. It was so nice to come back to the Drury and get out of the chaos of Bourbon street.

Let me mention a few things I didn't see in the other reviews that you may find helpful. First, the hotel is very close to the AT&T building next door.( The Drury WAS the old telephone building until they expanded and moved next door-This accounts for the 15 foot ceiling in the Hotel. The phone company needed them to house their large equipment) The rooms that face the new AT&T building have no view at all. The hotel web offers a choice of "street view" for a little extra money. I advise unless money is very tight to get the street view or you will be dissapointed.
Also, you are blocks away from many of the best restaurants in the country, Commanders Palace, Emerils, Arnauds, Restaurant August etc. Don't tank on the bar snaks at the Hotel. Go out and visit one of these great places. New Orleans is a food town go enjoy it!

Room Tip: Get a room with a street view-very worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    274
    56
    13
    4
See reviews for
268
289
20
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Stayed at the Drury based on other reports from Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. A short, four block walk, to the French Quarter..the famous Mother's restaurant a block away...and a one and a half mile walk to the Garden Quarter. Also the streetcars were right outside. Was able to park the car in a secure lot on the grounds ( hate valet parking ) for $17.00 per day. The room was airy, clean and well appointed. Happy Hour each night with three free ( alcoholic ) drinks per person, unlimited soft drinks, popcorn and coffee - and food such as hot dogs, macaroni, potatoes, taco bar., chicken strips. Although we did not avail ourselves of the food, it would have been plenty for dinner if needed....and many people did. Definitely would stay again. Oh, and so nice to be a little away from the drunks on Bourbon Street.........

Room Tip: Check the ceiling height.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

The Drury Inn Suites New Orleans is ideally situated for anyone wanting to explore the city, in particular the French Quarter.
It is not the cheapest hotel in the area but I believe that you get what you pay for. It doesn’t cost a fortune but it is clean, quiet and accommodating with staff who go out of their way to be friendly and helpful
The free breakfast is superb with plenty of choice and adequate room to enjoy it. An extra feature that we discovered, which wasn’t advertised when we booked, was the free evening hot food. We found the chicken, potato and salad with drinks (including wine and beer) were so good that we didn’t need to go out for an evening meal. Soft drinks and coffee were permanently available and we were even able to make hot popcorn in a popcorn machine later in the evening before we disappeared for the night.
This is a hotel that knows how to provide excellent service. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was our first stay in a Drury Inn and it will certainly not be our last. This hotel is in an ideal situation for visiting the French Quarter and Riverwalk area.There is nothing negative that I can say about this hotel. The check in was smooth and the room was spacious, very clean and nicely decorated. The rooms were also very quiet. Loved the "5.30 Kickback" . Free beer and food!. The kids also loved the rooftop pool. Another good point about this hotel was the parking. I hate having to squeeze your car in to a small underground parking garage when visiting city centre hotels. This hotel has secure outside parking and plenty of it. The hotel was full the weekend we were there but we had no problem finding a parking space. I would definitely return here and will be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011 via mobile

This was our second stay at a Drury property, the first being in San Antonio last year. This is our go to hotel for all future travels.
We got the last room and it was a smoking room, did have some odor but was tolerable. The carpet was stained and could have used updating, but overall, the room was great. Bathroom clean and updated, nice water pressure in the shower, plenty of hot water(four women sharing a room). Beds comfy.
Rooftop pool and hottub a nice relaxer after walking all day sightseeing. Plenty of extra towels provided.

The breakfast was superb! The afternoon popcorn and softdrinks a nice extra and the kickback appetizers were plenty to get you going and give you the energy needed to get back on the town in the evening. Who can say no to free adult beverages?
The hotel is convenient walking distance to Canal St, trolley stop within a block for short ride to the Garden District.
Overall, a great place to call your home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Terrific value. Nice and fresh interiors and rooms. Wonderful bed. Quiet. Jetted tub in a two room suite. Brand new flat screen in each room. Cable. HBO. Free wireless internet, and is it fast! A chunk of free long distance every day ... 60 min in the US and 15 to Canada.

Small refrigerator and microwave in the room.

NOW add a free hot breakfast every morning.

AND NOW add a 5.30 to 7pm Kickback every day. Three free alcoholic drinks. All other drinks free. Hot snacks like fried chicken. Salad. Hot dogs. Usually something different every day in addition to these basics ... say chili. Nachos with meat toppings and fixings. Mac and cheese. Wow. Seating at tables and soft seating in the Lobby.

No kidding, most days we only bought lunch in a resto!

Staff from front desk to breakfast and kickback servers, management, housekeeping all super friendly.

Hot tub and pool on the roof. Small exercise room.

We'll definitely be staying in this Drury next time we're in NOLA and will be checking out others in the Drury chain from now on when we travel.

And yes they have a loyalty club to earn free room nights!

PS it's just a short, safe walk - about 7 minutes - to Vieux Carre (French Quarter) and all that jazz, esp in the Royal Sonesta at Irvin Mayfields.

Room Tip: Just ask for it when you register!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed here with family and grandchildren. Quiet location but handy for street cars. 10 minute walk to Bourbon Street and Canal Street. After visiting French Quarter near Jackson Square would have preferred to stay there as it was more up market and had nice restaurants and music. Near river too and Cafe du Monde.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. A stay in the Big Easy doesn’t get any easier than at the Drury Inn & Suites. Located one block from the famous St. Charles trolley, you have easy access to the regal beauty of Garden District and the vibrant nightlife of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.