We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avenue Inn Comfortable & Hospitable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now-Get Souvenir
Ranked #12 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Avenue Inn Comfortable & Hospitable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2004

A nice B&B with lovely hosts. Loved not having to share a bathroom. Home is not totally renovated yet, but still lovely. St. Charles Ave. is a great location. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    27
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
93
241
34
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2004

We had a wonderful stay at the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast. The room was extremely nice and well furnished. The location is, we think, the best in New Orleans. It on St. Charles street in a very nice neighborhood. The trolley is right outside your door making it simple to go to the French Quarter or other places in New Orleans. The rate was reasonable. Breakfast was very adequate and it porvided flexibility to meet the needs of different guests. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We look forward to returning to New Orleans and we would certainly want to stay at the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast again (and again)!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2004

My parents stayed at Avenue Inn because they needed to be near Tulane for a parents' event. They thought the hotel was adequate but were very dissapointed after reading all of the five star comments on this site.
The room was nice but spartan. Breakfast was somewhat spartan as well.
The streetcar is much too undependable to rely on for getting to/from places. In fact, one day the streetcar hit a car (!) and my parents had to cab it to the hotel.

All in all, I thought it was a nice place but I would recommend it only if you need to be in the uptown area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Innkeepers/Proprietors at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2004
With all of the lovely comments that we have received on this website we were a bit surprised with this review, but we always appreciate constructive feedback. The opinions held by the majority of our guests, it would seem, are in contrast to this one relating to amenities and offerings (we noted that the writer referred to our home as a "hotel", it is in fact a historic B&B, circa 1891). As to the "Continental" breakfast being spartan- assorted bagels, English muffins, fresh whole fruit, pastry, hot or cold cereal, selection of juices, brewed beverages, bottled water, soda, breakfast snacks and yogurt are offered each morning and we have never advertised or suggested that it would be more than that. Most have found it quite adequate considering all the dining they do in our city's fabulous restaurants. The writer's larger disappointment, it seems, was about the streetcar that has been successfully running for nearly 170 years. The fact that a delay was experienced due to an accident is unfortunate, but it was, of course, not under our control. Its schedule is sometimes altered by the volume of people in town using it for transportation. However, more than 6000 of our previous guests during the past three years have enjoyed the convenience of the streetcar which stops in front of the home; making access to all the major venues simple and economical. By contrast, not riding the streetcar is like going to Disney World and not riding the monorail. It's all part of being in New Orleans. We will continue to recommend that visitors to our historic city and to the Avenue Inn enjoy this unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2004

Our host, Joe and Bebe are caring and warm. They make their guest feel
like old friends. They fill requests for tour and restaurant
reservation and anything else that is needed. There is never a problem.
They handle last minute changes and requests with a wonderful sense of
humor.
The house it self is lovely. They have a lot of personal touches that make it very comfortable. They have filled it with family treasures and a lot of love.
The continental breakfast is very good with a large variety of items. Fresh fruit is available all day as well as the local newspapers.
They do lovely weddings that include includes a beautiful & delicious cake.
There are always fresh flowers in the entry and the dinning rooms and sometimes surprise late night snacks.
My husband and I stayed at Avenue Inn in 2003 and took part of our family in 2004. We plan to take the rest of the family back in September 2004. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in New Orleans.
Avenue Inn is in a beautiful location on St. Charles street in the Garden District surounded by 150 year old houses. Very easy to get around New Orleans as the street car runs on St. Charles and stops in front of Avenue Inn. The street car runs to the foot of the French Quarter. (The house is so well built that it is quiet inside)
There is a nice restaurant with good food next door. (Cannon's) & for great food, the "Upperline" is walking distance from the Avenue Inn.
*** New Orleans is a fun city with lots to do and friendly people. Great music and wonderful food.
I do wish that some of the businesses on Bourbon street would not show explicit pictures out front of the performances inside. Otherwise, Bourbon street is exciting, noisy and fun.
Preservation Hall is a great place to hear real New Orleans Jazz and Blues. No alcohol or smoking. To bad it is so small. A great place to take children to hear great music.
For wonderful dinners, Commander's Palace is a must as is Emeril's and for casual dinners Red Fish Grill. I haven't found a bad restaurant in New Orleans.
New Orleans is a fun vacation city. Lots of art galleries, museums, interesting tours (swanp and plantations and tours around the city) and antique shops. Also a great zoo and aquarium.
The perfect vacation is Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast and New Orleans.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2004

The Avenue Inn B&B became a haven of hospitality and gracious living. Joe was always available to share his considerable knowledge of local history and suggestions of places to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2004

We stayed there a few weeks ago and the Bed & Breakfast made our trip!
The inkeepers were so hospitable and helpful when deciding our daily activities. It's a beautiful home in a great location. We couldn't have stayed in a better place, and we are so glad we stayed there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2004

Very tasteful renovation, large rooms with nice bathrooms, pleasant breakfast room and warm welcome. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for upscale home away from home accomidations in the Garden/Avenue area....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.