We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful considerate hosts, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now-Get Souvenir
Ranked #15 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
ooky57
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful considerate hosts, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Extremely helpful and gracious hosts, beautifully appointed rooms in elegant setting, the trolley stop is literally out the front door, as is a nice porch for an evening of relaxation after going down to Bourbon street. Breakfast was nice and causal with no fussing and plenty to choose form continental style. Two great places to eat within half a block as well. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We so much appreciate that this couple took the time to write a few nice words about us. And we are so happy that they enjoyed all the aspects of their visit to the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    30
    13
    12
    6
See reviews for
105
260
34
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. The beds are so comfortable, I took advantage of them and napped every day we were here. The off street parking is great and included in the room rate. The rooms are huge and decorated very nicely. We will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
"One of the nicest places I've stayed" is a strong statement and one we strive to receive from all of our guests. We are happy they were pleased and we appreciate the time it took from a busy schedule to write a comment. And such a nice one....looking forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sour Lake, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Highly recommend! We arrived home just this afternoon from our lovely stay at the Avenue Inn, a magnificent bed and breakfast on St. Charles. We could not have been happier. St. Charles Avenue is such a lovely and quiet respite from the busy city, although the French Quarter is only a few minutes away. We were thrilled to see that the gorgeous old oaks survived Katrina. The inn is located at a streetcar stop, so your car isn't even necessary unless you choose. Joe's recommendation of great seafood restaurant just a two blocks away was most appreciated and an easy walk. We ate there twice! Thanks, Joe! Our room was gorgeous and quite large. Queen four poster was very comfortable! Breakfast was great, full of choices, and the coffee just right. You can eat in the formal dining room or at lovely tables in the front garden. We had our second cup of coffee sitting in the great rockers on the veranda, watching the streetcars pass by. Other amenities included free parking, free wifi, snacks, and a great host and hostess. Joe was also helpful with information about our trip to the great World War II museum. We will definitely return to the Avenue Inn. Great bed and breakfast in one of the world's great cities.

Room Tip: Our room #12 was quite lovely with a great comfy queen four poster, with antique and reproduction an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Noticing that this reviewer is a seasoned traveler, we are certainly overwhelmed with the observations and description of our mansion home as "standout". We so hope to see them back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Joe assisted with a transportation scheduling issue with my airport shuttle - It is much appreciated. The Inn is clean and well maintained, with numerous breakfast choices. The inn is located near two streetcar stops and is close to restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
When ever possible, we try to accommodate guests with "one of a kind" challenges they may encounter on vacation. Having a positive outcome and an enjoyable visit to New Orleans and the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast is one of many objectives. We thanks this writer for the kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in the beautiful Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast and felt as if we stepped back to a romantic era 100 years ago. The room was stunning with high ceilings, antique furnishings, and a bed that was like sleeping on a cloud. The bathroom was modern, spacious and clean.
What a perfect location, just a few miles from the French Quarter! We parked our car and didn't get in it again until leaving as the Saint Charles Streetcar has a stop directly in front of the Avenue Inn. The innkeepers Joe and Bebee were a wealth of information and always helpful.
I will stay in the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast again the next time I visit New Orleans!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
With feedback like this, we are so humbled and proud of the Inn and our staff. Glad they loved the romantic setting and all that goes with it. Hope to see them back in New Orleans soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a really nice time at the Avenue Inn. The innkeepers are super-helpful, breakfast and snacks were very good, and the room was just right. We stayed in one of the more modestly-sized rooms and it was lovely. The big ones are gorgeous!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Having a really nice time at the Avenue Inn means that this couple had a really nice time in New Orleans which is our goal. Glad they found the room, snacks and location to their liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is our third stay at the Avenue Inn, and every time we have never been disappointed. The Inn is located in a more relaxing area of New Orleans and the Inn Keepers were exceptionally helpful in helping my husband and I book dinner reservations as well as giving us great suggestions of things to do in the city. We cannot wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
This couple have been regulars and its such a pleasure to have them stay with us. We are always thrilled to learn that we continue to meet their expectations. Looking forward to a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.