We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic visit to New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now-Get Souvenir
Ranked #12 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Mishawaka, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit to New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our first trip to New Orleans and all I knew before going was that we did not want to be in a hotel in the French Quarter for $300 night. I looked up B&Bs and was drawn to the Avenue Inn. I am at a loss to determine why anyone would give this less than 5 stars. Probably should be a 6!
Joe and Bebe are wonderful hosts and gave us information on where to eat, what to see and visit, how to get there. We ate at the restaurant Joe recommended 3 times in a week and it is two blocks away. Equal to anything in French Quarter. Joe can and did recommend tour operators, and you can believe him when he says you will spend 6 hours at the WWII museum. Was very relaxing sitting on front porch with coffee and rolls in morning. Beds were fantastic. Neighborhood is wonderful. Street car line at front door was perfect for us.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house. Quiet at night. We were on third floor in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
What lovely comments made by these guests. We really enjoyed having them in our mansion home. We do have a great advantage here in New Orleans because there are so many world class places to suggest. Going back three times to one of our recommendations may be a record. Hope to see them back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    27
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
94
241
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Troy, MI
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Avenue Inn. Joe and Bebe are very friendly and helpful with suggestions. They even made me gluten-free welcome brownies when I mentioned that I can't eat gluten! The house is beautiful and in a great location. The only thing that bothered me (and some may consider this nit-picky) was I thought a little more attention should be paid to cleaning. I didn't feel the property was dirty; just that it could have been a little cleaner. I don't mind that it is a very old house and even with renovation some things will never look brand new. I do mind a layer of fuzzy dust along the top of the outlet plates (I told you it was picky.) The other thing that bothered me was the coffee dispensers in the dinning room. They looked as though they needed a good wiping down the entire time we were there, and they use a Styrofoam cup with the word "next" and an arrow on it to indicate that one should use the next dispenser over. This cup was splattered with coffee and looked very grubby...not very appetizing. It would be so easy to go to one of those pottery painting places and make a cute ceramic version that could be washed each day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We appreciate this guest's overall observations about the Inn. It did seem that they had a good time and they even remarked very favorably about our providing gluten free substitutes during the stay. We have made a note to our housekeeping staff about the few deficiencies sited. These will be addressed quickly. The cup that we use at the coffee station does get its fair share of spilled coffee on it. We've tried lots of options, but nothing really stays stain free because of the volume use. We have made a note to check this more frequently. We strive for excellence, sometimes come up short, but as this guest mentioned, these were insignificant items that did not mar the stay. We hope readers will take this into account and consider us for their lodging choice in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I got away for our much belated honeymoon (4 years) and anniversary. We had never been to New Orleans and couldn't have asked for a better location, B&B or hosts! Bebe and Joe were so informative and helpful with figuring out restaurants and places to go. Our room was really clean and comfortable and the breakfast even though it was a continental was more than expected and always delicious and fresh. Thanks for having us Bebe and Joe!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We remember this couple, here on a delayed honeymoon. We talked at check in and wanted to make sure it was a memorable experience for them. Seems like that goal was accomplished. We hope they don't wait another four years to come back. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It was our first time in a b and b. The owners couldnt do enough for you. They were warm and welcoming. We were there for 5 days and it was the best 5 days of our trip. Great neighborhood nice and quiet. The room we had was beautiful, the beds and pillows were very comfortable. There was nothing we didn't like, including the breakfast. Thank you very much Joe and Bebe. We will defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
WOW, didn't realize that it was a first time experience. So happy this couple liked the experience and we do hope they will visit us again and again. Appreciate the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Canoe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and just returned for a delightful stay at Avenue Inn B&B and could not have been more please. Bebe and Joe are great host who really know the city and could not do enough for us. Room was well appointed and very clean. We use to live in New Orleans and knew the location was prefect since it is in the Garden District, with beautiful homes and was on the trolly line. (a real plus).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
So kind of this couple to take a few minutes to write about a return visit to a city they love. We loved having them here and hope they will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I used Trip Advisor to select this Bed and Breakfast. There had been some mixed reviews, but most were very positive. I loved the location up in the Garden District. The location was great, right next to the trolley and a short walk to Magazine Street and Loyola. The Inn was very quiet, the room was perfect and breakfast was on your own. Joe and Bebe were very accommodating. Joe spent time with us to make suggestions on our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Glad the visit went well and expectations were met. Lovely folks here from South Carolina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I recently visited New Orleans for the first time. Prior to our visit we did some Trip Advisor research and based on the great reviews for the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, booked 4 nights there.
The reviews were absolutely bang on accurate. The Avenue Inn is a charming New Orleans home located on St. Charles Ave near the Garden District. Our room was large, well appointed, well maintained and very comfortable. The St. Charles trolley car which runs along a grass median down the center of the street stops right outside the front door and within 15 minutes drops one off at the entrance to Bourbon St. in the French Quarter. The atmosphere made me think of the peace and tranquility that might have been found in a 1920's small town rather than the bustle of a major city.
As for Joe and Bebe, the owners of the Avenue Inn, one can't say enough. They made us feel like welcome friends as soon as we walked through the front door and were generous with their time and advice. It was apparent that they truly enjoyed talking about their historic home and the city of New Orleans. They are tremendously knowledgeable about their city and never too busy to offer suggestions as to what to do, where to eat and which restaurant maitre d' to whom we should mention their names in order to insure extra special service. The continental breakfasts were the perfect way to start our day and included some home made pastries that would would make other accomplished bakers envious.
That Joe and Bebe go the extra mile for their guests was made very clear to me the morning we left New Orleans. Our flight was very early and Bebe had arranged the evening earlier for a cab to pick us up at 6am. While in the departure lounge at the airport my phone rang. It was Joe. He wanted to be sure that the cab had arrived on time and that my wife and I had arrived at the terminal with plenty of time to spare. Nothing more need be said. Actions speak.
New Orleans is a great city. We had 3 full days to explore it and could have easily stayed another 2 days. My wife and I will certainly return and there is no doubt that we will see about staying with Joe and Bebe when we do.

Room Tip: the rooms are all very spacious. Beds are comfortable and as the Avenue Inn is located near the Gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Really appreciate the kind words of this guest and the detail about their stay. This reaction to a visit here is what we work for each day. Thanks so much and we look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.