We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb B&B in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now-Get Souvenir
Ranked #11 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
College Station, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A superb B&B in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Avenue Inn is right on the streetcar line up St Charles in the Garden District - a very convenient location. The B&B is in a beautiful old building with a lot of character which is well-restored and cared for. Free and secure parking. Joe and Bebe may be the most conscientious and dedicated innkeepers on the planet. They love their home and they love New Orleans and they do their best to make sure you have a great stay and a great trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
To quote this quest, we do love our home and New Orleans and we know you will too. We thank this couple for the lovely comments and hope they will return for another visit. in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    28
    12
    12
    5
See reviews for
97
252
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It's a great location, a fascinating, historic home and great innkeepers! We really enjoyed our stay with Joe and Bebe and you couldn't ask for a more convenient location, whether you are cathching the trolley to the French Quarter (it's right out front) or walking to a nearby restaurant for a great meal. And, you can get great suggestions on where to sightsee and where to eat from Joe or Bebe. We highly recommend the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast and plan to return again next time we are in New Orleans.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor but all the rooms we saw have nice bathrooms and easy access to main floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Just lovely comments about our mansion home and we really appreciate the feedback. Perhaps these folks will plan another trip to the Big Easy and stay with us. We would love to have them back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Avenue Inn for two nights. It is in the perfect location, right on St. Charles Avenue and the innkeeper was incredibly helpful since it was our first time in NO. The price was great, especially since it included free parking and breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Always a pleasure hearing from folks who liked the value of our mansion home. The free parking, WiFi, continental breakfast and unlimited snacks from our "gift" shop really make our Inn an economical choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

A delayed revue following our stay in May 2012. A character Inn, a large interesting bed room and in a great location. We enjoyed starting our day eating a good continental breakfast on the front terrace watching the world go by. It was great to leave the car and enjoy catching the street car into downtown New Orleans and we loved escaping the hustle and bustle of downtown for the peace and quiet of the Inn at the end of the day.

A choice of good restaurants in walking distance if you want to stay close. Good recommendations from the hosts.

On arrival it was a little like the first day at a new school with our host, the "headmaster" sitting us down to tell us the rules of the school. However over our very enjoyable days at The Inn, we warmed to the eccentricity of the host and am very happy to recommend the Inn.

I have stayed in central New Orleans on business trips and not enjoyed the city. Our time at the Inn changed my attitude and I would love to return to both the Inn and the city.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Even delayed responses like this one are appreciated and we are grateful that this guest did not mind the few minutes we spent at check-in going over the Inn's amenities and answering questions about the area. Hope to see them back here real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Pleasant enough owners, but really lacking in quality for the high price. The shower head was on a wand mounted in a terrible spot and was so low I had to duck to get water on my head and the water pressure was low. It was worse than the shower in my camper. The walls were paper thin and we could hear every breath from our amorous neighbor in the room next door. You could hear every toilet flush from rooms nearby. And we could hear every step of someone coming and going in the halls and on the stairs. The "breakfast" part had NOTHING hot except the coffee and that was lukewarm. The breakfast was cold cereal and a boiled egg that had been in the refrigerator for who knows how long. And it just seemed a little dirty. I don't think our room had ever been really cleaned well. There was lots of old DNA everywhere. We've stayed at probably a hundred B&Bs and this one is close to last on the list. We would not stay here again. Their website says the owner Joe will give a better deal if you book on your first call but I got a spiel about how he has to pay his mortgage and there are no deals for prompt booking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
This guest was here during the New Year's Eve weekend. When he made the inquiry, he referenced a promotion that he was interested in and we discussed with him that it was not available during special event weekends. Our apologies if the rate was not what he expected. We do recall that he booked a room with two beds for himself and a family member, then called later and changed the room to a single bed for him and a guest. The room he was assigned to was the only one available at the time since we were already near sell out. We were happy to accommodate him. We have reviewed his comments with our housekeeper regarding the condition of his room. He was here for four days and did not make any reference to the quality of cleaning. We would have immediately responded to his concerns and made it right. We observe quiet hours here at night. Most guests find that they sleep well. We apologize if he was disturbed. We asked him daily if everything was satisfactory and none of the concerns cited here were mentioned. We would have gladly addressed them to his satisfaction. As for continental breakfast, guests have reported a satisfactory experience. We have more than 20 items available and all are fresh daily. Pastry, breads, whole fruit, cereal, cheese, juice, coffee are but a few of the many choices. There is no hot food service since its continental breakfast which is clearly advertised on our website and explained at the time of booking if over the phone. We ask that readers of this review read the other comments that have been made and make a decision to visit our mansion home. We will make every effort to make it a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Avenue Inn B&B is by far the best accommodations in New Orleans. It's proximity to the French Quarter (close enough to get their easily, far enough away to see the rest of the City), amazing Innkeepers and historic mansion make for a memorable trip that a hotel setting just can't give you. It's our "go to" place any time we head to New Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Manager at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We appreciate the very nice comments of this guest and we are so happy they enjoyed their visit. Hope to see them again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Located in the heart of the Garden District, Avenue B&B is a terrific location for couples looking for quiet and old world charm comfortably located 15 minutes from the revelry of the French Quarter. Owners are thoughtful, considerate, and highly knowledgeable of the area's history and places to see. Make sure you check out the World War II Museum. Surprisingly, it was the highlight of our trip. B&B is charming and owners exemplify southern charm and hospitality. Glad we picked this place to stay. Thanks to Avenue B&B for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Our goal is always to make folks feel welcomed. Glad these guests enjoyed their stay. We strive to offer the best hospitality that we can and it seems that in this case we succeeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.