We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Pimms Cup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel Bar

Carousel Bar
214 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 523-3341
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Go for the Pimms Cup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A must for a visit. A little crowed to sit at the bar but do it. Order a Pimms Cup and enjoy the ride!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    148
    35
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Funky and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

You may have to wait for a seat but it is worth the wait. It is a little piece of vaudeville luxury and a great way to meet people

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Night to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After an evening at Preservation Hall, we stopped in for a drink before retiring for the evening at the hotel. When we saw that Lena Prima and her Jazz band were playing, we miraculously found front rows seats in the cabaret. What a special treat. She is an entertainer in finest sense of the word. What a way with the audience! She and every member of her Jazz Band are truly talented. It was an evening to remember while enjoying great drinks from the bar. Although the bar area was mobbed, service was
surprisingly good and attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“More our taste than Bourbon St”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a sazerac here, which is a strong drink and caught us a little off guard! They have NOLA beer on tap, and it's very good. I had a cocktail called the raspberry truffletini which was amazing! We spent a lot of money here, but it was the only time we actually DRANK drank while in New Orleans. The bartenders are fun and knowledgeable, and they deserve good tips! The atmosphere is a huge selling point, it's just very special. The decor is beautiful and surprisingly understated.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stopped in Carousel Bar on a recent trip to New Orleans and were very impressed with the excellent live jazz music. The great sounds and the unique revolving bar made this a memorable experience. We will be back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carousel Bar also viewed

 

Been to Carousel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.