We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitney Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Whitney Hotel to your Saves list
The Whitney Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #39 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
“Whitney Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Upon our late arrival, we were upgraded to a suite by Haley at the front desk. The room was great and the staff very friendly. We did not get to try the hotel breakfast or bar, but the room looked nice. This hotel has a lot of history. Was a newspaper building early on and then a bank. The only quibble I have is with the charge for parking -- $36 a night. The valet service for this was prompt, however.


  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    130
    38
    12
    10
See reviews for
52
114
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the hotel was clean and housekeeping was very good and the only negative thing I can say about the hotel is they need to offer continental breakfast
Everything was in walking distance I would recommend this hotel to my friends

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Marvelous all around. Headed back next Friday to spend night before I fly back home. Spent 3 nights at the Whitney then went to Gulfport for a week and choose to go back to the Whitney for my last night before heading home. Love this place! And all the help! They are so friendly and nice.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURANGO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was the perfect hotel in the perfect location at the perfect price. The guest room was exceptionally clean and modern, both the sleeping area and the bath. I was impressed with quiet considering the hotel is located on a main street in the CBD. The beds were comfortable and the staff were friendly and accommodating. This was a rather spur of the moment trip, and the staff took care of a booking online glitch. Next time will book directly with the hotel. I did not use the dining room, but really wished I had. Perhaps the next stay, which there definitely will be.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We loved this historic hotel! It was conveniently located and the hotel team was excellent. With just a short walk you could see numerous points of interest and the St. Charles Streetcar line was quite close.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a fabulous time in New Orleans. We stayed in a room with a King sized bed, the room was clean and had a coffee maker and bath supplies (shampoo, hair conditioner, body wash and body lotion, wonderful scents), fluffy spa-like towels. Housekeeping was wonderful, kept our room nice and tidy. The front doorman was always gracious with a welcome hello or gracious good day when we went out exploring. The reception desk was helpful and gracious also. Everyone we encountered was fabulous and welcoming. We did not eat at the restaurant so I cannot rate it. We will absolutely make a return visit if at all possible. Thank you, Paul and Debbie Eden, Pleasanton, CA

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Only 5 minutes from French Quarter just far enough away. A lovely hotel with great staff. Clean large rooms. Bathrooms also large. There is a small gym. The bar is friendly. If you stay on the 7 th floor water pressure is not great but there is no rush here. Can't really say more than that we loved it the location and style.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whitney Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.