We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff Ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Whitney Hotel to your Saves list
The Whitney Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #46 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Staff Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Very classic and charming old world New Orleans hotel. Location was great, close to everything. The staff was the highlight of the stay! Some of the nicest and most helpful staff ever. Although our room was quite nice and the bed was comfortable, our shower (Room 301) was not so good........but the water was always hot!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    117
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
44
98
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Hotel was close to TLC Wednesdays at Washington Square and really not too far from much. Parking was 32$ from check-in to 5pm the following day if only staying one night. Overall, a very nice hotel. No microwave or fridge in room. Happy otherwise!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice, smaller hotel with classic old school charm and architecture. Very nice room with excellent service. Very professional staff were extremely helpful in directing us to find local amenities and good deals.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

1st time staying in this hotel. Incredible friendly staff with excellent customer service. I've stayed in "supposed" better hotels with name recognition. Hands down would rather stay here over those places anytime. BEST VALUE! BEST LOCATION! GREAT HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We drove in for a concert that night. Check in was a breeze, valet was a breeze. We were able to walk to Champion Square for the concert. The hotel was clean, decor was very pretty, bed was comfy. We had a King, the room was a bit small, but perfect for a quick trip. Go bigger if you plan to hang out in your room! Will def keep in the contacts for next go'round!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palms West, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is historic and yet modern. Full of history. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans. Blocks from the French Quater and the Riverfront. The staff was very courtis and very knowledgeable. Always there to help get you where you want to be. Just one block to Mothers one of the local best restaurants. Totally enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here recently for a conference and I was very happy with the choice. Very conveniently located, quiet, and it was just a few minutes walk to the conference centre and French Quarter. It was one of the less expensive hotels on our conference hotel list, so that was a bonus. In an old Bank building, I liked the character. It was a small hotel, which I also liked, not the chaos of the big chains where my friends were staying. My room was large and comfortable. My only complaint was the breakfast. Very slow service and the food was unimpressive. But that is nitpicking. The hotel was great and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whitney Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.