We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Super Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Whitney Hotel to your Saves list
The Whitney Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #49 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Waco, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Super Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked this hotel, seeing as it was such great value for the location. However, it really exceeded my expectations. It was very clean, comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. What I loved about this hotel was the history of the building and the wonderful renovations that have kept all the charm of the early 20th Century bank fixtures but still manages to feel welcoming and inviting. Also, the location for the price cannot be beaten. We were 5 minutes walk from the edge of the the French Quarter, and 10 minute walk to the Convention Center. My husband and I walked everywhere and felt very safe because the hotel is in such a busy part of town that it is easy to stick with the crowds. The St Charles streetcar to the Garden District stops right by the hotel so we were able to see other historical parts of the city without needing to spend money on a taxi. The only thing I cannot comment on was the food as we did not eat at the hotel restaurant. But, when you are in New Orleans, staying at the Whitney, you have literally hundreds of local award wining restaurants within 15 minutes, why would you even eat at a hotel?! Overall, I would stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your recent visit to New Orleans and for staying at the Whitney Hotel. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the great review and feedback. We hope to see you again soon at the Whitney Hotel!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    87
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
32
74
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copperas Cove, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff was excellent. Patrick and Earl gave us numerous helpful hints on locations throughout the city as this was our first time in New Orleans. We were right next to Lafayette Park where they had a live music concert on Wednesday night (Free of charge).

Room Tip: Of the two rooms we had, the one on the west side had a much larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your recent visit to the Whitney Hotel. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. If we can help you with future reservations, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I wasn't in my hotel room very often but when I was there, the staff was very friendly. It's a little old fashioned but in a good way. Very clean! I had no doubts or suspicions. It's very close to pretty much everything. I also had an awesome view of the city.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

While in town for a convention, I was displaced from the host hotel. I had the great fortune of landing in this wonderful boutique hotel in the Business District. It was walking distance to the places I was working, as well as the French Quarter. If long city blocks are too much, cabs were readily available and you could get anywhere for under ten bucks with a tip. When I return, I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for the great review and for your visit to the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans! It certainly was a pleasure hosting your stay. If we can be of any other assistance in the future, please let us know.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The whitney hotel is only about a 5-8 minute walk from the French quarter and dozens of restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the street noise. It sounded like someone was using a leaf blower right outside my 3rd story window every morning around 4:30. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
We're so glad the Whitney Hotel met your expectations in regard to cleanliness and comfort. We hope you'll consider staying here again in the near future. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly if your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Thank you,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is within walking distance to the French Quarter. The room was clean but on the small side. The air conditioner in our room did not work too well. We only stayed one night so we did not mention it to management. Overall we are very satisfied with our stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are staying with children I suggest getting a larger room. We had two queen beds that pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your recent visit to the Whitney Hotel. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. If we can help you with future reservations, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the whitney for a girls weekend and so glad we did. After a minor miscommunication from the booking party, they let us check in as early as possible. Hillary was helpful and the valet was on point. The beds were soft the water hot. And the restaurant down stairs was very enjoyable.we walked everywhere it was in walking distance of everywhere and getting a cab was so easy

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for the great review and for your visit to the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans! It certainly was a pleasure hosting your stay. If we can be of any other assistance in the future, please let us know.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whitney Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.