We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Whitney Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Whitney Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #103 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Not Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Would've rated it better even though we had to change rooms due to lack of hot water in the shower, bad internet (never did connect to wifi) or no wash cloths 1 day. But to forget the wake up call, too much, could've missed our flight.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and I apologize for not exceeding your expectation. We'll use this information to provide better services for our guests in the future. Feel free to call me to discuss your stay at 504-212-8686. I hope you'll give us another opportunity to create a better impression.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
25
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Schertz, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a hiccup in travel plans arrived in NOLA after midnight. Used my hotel tonight app and booked the Whitney. It was nice staff professional and it gave us a roof over our head at the last minute. View out of window was a brick wall but was only in room to sleep after a long day of traveling. Most important it was clean. It is hard to get a hotel room on a weekend under 200.00, but we did and was happy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We're happy to hear we could assist you with your last minute reservation plans. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If the vault in the lobby doesn't clue you in, The Whitney is a former bank building that retained much of it's history and architectural features in its transformation into a hotel. The building actually still houses a bank branch on the ground floor. It's an interesting property that altogether makes it a quality, above average stay. Because of it's roots, the hotel rooms retain fantastically high ceilings. The rooms itself, however, can be really small and doesn't give much room for anything extra. Similarly, the bathrooms aren't exactly spacious, but it serves its function well with well-pressured showerheads and good amenities. The beds are comfortable and noise factor on the property is decent considering it's a business-oriented neighborhood.

Room Tip: If noise is a factor for you, the old reliables of asking for a high floor room away from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your review and recent visit to the Whitney Hotel! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your staff and will pass along your feedback to the staff. We look forward to hosting your next visit to the Big Easy!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Whitney is an historic bank. Check in at the "RECEIVING TELLERS" desk. Eat in the main lobby. It is between the convention center and the French District. We left our car in valet parking and walked to a Gray Line City Tour. We also took the streetcars on a day pass, spent the early evening on Bourbon St. and walked back to the Whitney for a delicious supper. Service was great. They had a tour bus group in but didn't forget us!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent stay and for leaving this great review. We look forward to hosting your next stay with us in New Orleans at the Whitney Hotel!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hephzibah, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my 4 night stay during the Essence Festival. Perfect location. Thank you to the hotel staff for making sure my lost bag was returned to me via FedEx. Would definitely stay again in the future!

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the back side. Front windows need to be made sound proof from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the great comments! We'll be sure to pass them along to our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Casey.Callais@WhitneyHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Whitney Hotel for the 4th of July weekend. The hotel staff is friendly and it is conveniently located ---everything is within walking distance. The accommodations were adequate; rooms were clean but the Superior King Room was a little tight to move around in. Price was high due to the season. With all that being said, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Executive King may offer more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Whitney Hotel and look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans. Feel free to contact us directly when you're ready to make your reservations.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I really our stay at this historically hotel. The rooms/bathrooms are very spacious and clean. The staff was extremely polite. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review... I'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to the front desk and housekeeping staff. We look forward to seeing you again at the Whitney Hotel!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
casey.callais@whitneyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Address: 610 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whitney Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.