We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whitney is a 5 star hotel ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Whitney Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Whitney Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel) (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WiFi
Ranked #105 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Delcambre, Louisiana
1 review
“The Whitney is a 5 star hotel ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stay at the Whitney on several occasions... It's a wonder hotel .. Parking is great ... Hotel is very clean .. Rooms are very roomy... The staff is wonderful.. Patrick the desk manger is very helpful and attentive to all hotel guest.. The food is also very good .. Also the bar area is very nice and relaxing and the beer is very cold.. I will continue to be a guest at the Whitney hotel.. And would recommend staying at the Whitney hotel .. Who dat go saints ...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
14
22
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stay at the Whitney when we're in New Orleans for a weekend get-away. The staff is courteous and welcoming. The wait staff in the lobby restaurant are attentive and knowledgeable. The lobby area is especially interesting because of how old, but well kept it is. The old Whitney Bank motif has been maintained, so it's got great historical appeal. The rooms were comfortable and the convenience to everything worth seeing in the New Orleans CBD, Warehouse/Museum District, and French Quarter can't be beat for the price.

Thanks Whitney staff...y'all will be seeing us again!

Room Tip: Request corner rooms facing Poydras for a larger space. Request rooms in the 'back' for a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Manager at The Whitney Wyndam is the best I've ever seen at a Hotel. Patrick will do anything to make sure your stay is perfect! If you have any questions he is always more than glad to answer them!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed the weekend of July 4. It happened to be Essence Festival Weekend (hence this room for $300 was the only one available). For future reference - Essence Weekend is always the weekend after 4th and it is a HUGE Festival (25,000 people). Hotel was fine and the staff was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice room, good service, patient and caring people. We will be back again. A goup of us came from Southwest Florida for the Essence Festival and we had a ball. The only place that had tables on outside of the hotel

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mobile
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

stayed here for the second time recently. we asked for a quiet room and they came through. some of the rooms have no real windows due to the office building that was built behind it. not a worry for me, as poydras is nothing to look at anyway and definitely not worth the noise. our room was very quiet and ice cold, which was great. the shower was more than adequate. the mattresses sounded like they could use replacing, but still comfortable.

the real bonus to staying here is the location. it's far enough away from the quarter to cut down on the meathead contingent but close enough to walk just about anywhere (we walked to/from frenchmen street with no problem).

if you're looking for a snazzy lobby and a great breakfast, this is not the place for you.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this hotel over MDW 2014 and it was great. Check in was easy. The room was clean and service was just fine. My only complain, no one was around to let us know where to park/valet the car. My boyfriend had to go across the street to another lot and park there because valet never showed up after we let them know at check in. Valet just needs to be more attentive. Other than that mishap, everything was fine. Not my first choice when in NOLA but I would recommend staying here and wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Address: 610 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Orleans is a city like no other, an American treasure with character built throughout history and charms that know no bounds. The birthplace of jazz, New Orleans is famous for its multicultural heritage that includes spicy Cajun cuisine, French Creole architecture and huge festival celebrations such as Mardi Gras.Similar to its city of New Orleans, The Whitney Wyndham is an authentic experience, a hotel housed in a converted bank building and a National Historic Landmark. With granite, brass and crown moldings throughout including the original bank vault, The Whitney Wyndham has incorporated the traditional architecture into the present aesthetic. The result is a New Orleans hotel full of class, a graceful environment complimented by the legendary Southern hospitality of our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whitney Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.