We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find out the things that they won't tell you.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #58 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denham Springs, Louisiana
1 review
“Find out the things that they won't tell you.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I went with my family July-16-18. I was so upset with the room.It was my first time getting away with my family.Money is tight so we have to save.I was excited to finally get away. We spoke with Tracy before leaving,she said she would match the price that we had at book it.com that two nights with tax would be 236.00.We loaded the card.Call before to pay,thought the room was paid.Got down there and found out about a 100.00 refundable deposit due.It would be given back at check out.Luckily we had it in cash.My prepaid card kept being declined cause they were trying to bill, room parking and 100.00 deposit.We were told just pay the 20.00 a day for parking in cash when u arrive.Also room had a smell.Half way through stay we found what it was a Rotten pizza from papa johns in the room closet in corner by safe.Still had pizza in it.Was very sad!The parking lot too VERY small! We drive a ford expedition,we were told first come first serve,if no parking then you have to go somewhere else.They park so tightly cause it's small area to park in.If it wasn't for someone that left next to us we wouldn't of got out of the spot.I It was an 8 or more block walk from the hotel to the river walk.We took a cab for half the trip. Average 11-13$ one way.Also they were Construction. noises.Also if you stay make sure to put Do not disturb on the door.If not House keeping will knock at 7 am,waking a late sleeper.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    314
    102
    32
    27
See reviews for
155
276
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Dirty carpet, nasty brown bathroom grout, hair in bathroom on floor (not ours, we just walked into room), floors were horribly dirty, A/C stunk like cigarettes. Nice staff, but it needs a major overhaul. I booked it because of the good reviews, but the reality was a real bummer...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We have traveled to New Orleans and stayed at this BW several times on business and enjoyed our stay everytime, but this last stay was exceptional.

When we checked in this last time there had been a mix up with our reservations but was fixed promptly taken to our rooms which were very clean and comfortable.

Since we were going to be working out of the room for a week we requested some amenities (extra fridge and microwave) and they were moved into our room within 20 minutes, at no extra charge.

The staff was quite accomodating as well as Gina in Sales.

We would highly recommend this hotel as a "must stay" for any business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Friendly and attentive reception area. Continental breakfast was average at best. The hotel is fairly old and is being refurbished. It really needs this remodeling as it is a bit worn. Our room was non-smoking but had a musty cigar like ambiance. The bed was nice, the bathroom spacious.

The location is a bit off the beaten path though, it's only 3 blocks to Bourbon Street but more like 7 or 8 blocks to a more active part of the quarter.

This facility will be much better when it has been remodeled. Right now, its probably a good value considering the rates ($80 per night).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel from May 27-30, 2010, and selected the hotel because of the TripAdvisor photos as well as the location. The breakfast was alright, the usual pastries, juices, milk, coffee, cereal, toast, instant oatmeal, fruit, etc. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. If you stay at this hotel, be prepared to walk and walk to everything. Bourbon Street is three blocks and down by the river is over six blocks. Because of the heat and humidity, we ended up taking a cab to many locations. The mule carriage ride by Jackson Square is lovely (they don't use horses because of the high heat and humidity); you must try Cafe du Monde, but forget trying to get in at breakfast, the line is two blocks long. We went in the afternoon. For jazz, try Snug Harbor, the Spotted Cat or Apple Barrel. Before booking a hotel, I would definitely suggest mapping out what places you are wanting to see and then select your hotel accordingly...do you want a pool, a restaurant with your hotel, etc. The Natchez jazz lunch cruise is nice, as well as Cajun Tours Honey Island swamp tour. The area of this hotel is safe, we walked late at night and felt perfectly safe. This whole area of the French Quarter is active into the early morning hours, some bars are open 24/7. The street musicians are totally delightful and are very courteous about having their picture taken, but please remember to tip them. The French Market is like a giant outdoor flea market, but worthwhile to see. If you don't like heat and humidity, go earlier in the year and check the weather there prior. This hotel has internet access for printing out boarding passes or checking home email, which is definitely a plus. Many tours will pick you up at this hotel as well. I would definitely stay here again, though I would just remember to bring more money for cab fare!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

I stayed here at the start of May 2010 whilst in town for a conference. The hotel is a pleasant 30 min walk through the French quarter to the EM convention centre and is very well situated for exploring the French Quarter itself. It sits on N. Rampart (which marks the northern perimeter of the French Quarter) directly opposite Louis Armstrong park. The street itself is a little run down but the heart of the tourist centre is only five minutes on foot and I felt safe walking to and from the hotel at all hours of the day and night.

The room I stayed in was reasonable value, very clean, large and well appointed - couldn't really ask for more at the price. The communal areas of the hotel are a little more spartan and I didn't make use of the unattended bar or the pool. The breakfast is rubbish! Cereal/fruit is available along with unpleasant coffee, cheap muffins/pastries etc. I didn't bother after day one but you can find good eating anywhere in the FQ. Service otherwise was polite and efficient. The room was serviced daily (even when I spent all morning working in there) and always very clean. I'd stay here again if travelling for the same purposes.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Well, the hotel management must be listening, because I saw implrovements in all the areas commented on by the other reviewers on this site. The rooms were comfortable and clean, all the plumbing worked well, the continental breakfast was decent and fresh; the hot waffle maker was a nice touch, and the staff was constantly replenishing the food, and keeping up with the spiils. The hotel was as good as any Best Western i have stayed in in the past, and the staff was very helpful and professional. The two side streets take you quickly to Bourbon, and although quiet, were quite safe; I did not feel uncomfortable at any time. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel

Address: 920 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.