We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #59 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oswego, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I love hotels like this one because they retain the charm of their location while providing upgraded comfort. That said...

The building is obviously older, but the rooms are updated! Gorgeous shower and sink area, lovely curtains, and beautiful dark wooden furniture adorned our room. The bed was a bit firm for my taste, but I still got a good night sleep.

What I loved most though was the courtyard. It is BEAUTIFUL and very well taken care of. I constantly saw people outside cleaning the fountain, sweeping up leaves/debris that had fallen onto the ground, etc. My boyfriend and I spent a good deal of time every night in the courtyard having drinks from the bar and talking about things we had done/seen all day.

Staff is very pleasant and easy going, we actually got dropped off an hour and a half before check in time and the lady at the front desk was happy to check us in right away with no questions asked. Whenever we had questions, someone was always happy to help answer them. The cleaning guys and gals are also very friendly and will strike up a conversation with you as you pass by. We had fresh towels every day, which I haven't always had at other places and I definitely appreciated having that here!

Obviously this place is not for everyone. If you demand excessive luxury and require your hotel to have an exceedingly long list of extra services, then this place is not for you. But if you're just looking for a place to rest your head that won't break the bank and offer friendly, down to earth service while you're on your trip, don't hesitate to stay at this Best Western Plus.

Also, last but not least, the location of this hotel is outstanding. Close enough to all the action, but far enough away to not be bothered by it when you don't want to be. And Louis Armstrong park is right across the street!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony when you check in, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    307
    101
    32
    27
See reviews for
153
270
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, UT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel was clean and bug free. The staff was outstanding. They recommended the very best places that the locals like to eat at. They really cared about customer service. The location is great and we always felt safe. It was close enough to Bourbon Street to be fun but not noisy or scary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I recently visited New Orleans with two friends to see "Jersey Boys" at the Mahalia Jackson Theater. Based on Trip Advisor, I chose to stay at the Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel. Rooms were small but clean with comfortable beds. If you don't plan to spend much time in the room, the size is perfectly acceptable for two people, a little close for three. The air conditioner (set on 65 degrees) kept the room cool but I'm not sure it could keep up with summer temperatures in the 90s. The bathroom in our room (two double beds) had shower only and was also small but adequate. The breakfast was excellent, a cut above the usual complimentary breakfast - fresh-scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, fresh baked waffles, cereal, bagels, fruit, yogurt, fruit juice and excellent coffee. The dining area overlooks the courtyard and pool and is very roomy. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant - certainly not always the case in New Orleans! The location was an easy walk to the heart of the French Quarter and the river but was far enough away from the action to be nice and quiet. Louis Armstrong Park is just across Rampart Street and is beautiful. We were able to just walk across the park to the theater (less than 5 minutes) and avoid the traffic and parking hassle. I would certainly stay again ESPECIALLY if I were going to an event at the Mahalia Jackson Theater.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Was a comfortable stay! Staff was really friendly & helpful! Its great during the Mardi Gras time as its a very short walk to Bourbon Street/French Quarter area where the crazy partying is but it allows you to get some sleep!!!

Room Tip: Book Early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed there for two nights while sightseeing. Felt safe and within walking distance of Bourbon Street, etc. Very friendly staff and nice room. Good value. Has bar but no food. Breakfast is included and "ok". We were on third floor near elevator and housekeeping closet - not good idea.

Room Tip: Ask for king room not near stairs or elevator - and not near housekeeping closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helen, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean, nice decor, bed was very comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was great. The location was excellent: just a few blocks walk to all the tourist hotspots in the French Quarter, but also far enough away that their noise and crowds did not disturb our sleep. The onsite parking lot was safe and very convenient. The small parking spaces were a bit tight for our big Buick Enclave, but with careful maneuvering in and out, I had no problems. We were very happy with this hotel and will definitely stay there again on our next visit to the Big Easy.

Room Tip: Ours was on the second floor near a back corner. It was quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The rooms were small, but for two people and not spending a lot of time in the room it really didn't matter. The hotel was clean, the breakfast was O.K. and all of the staff were very nice. The location was quite, walking to Bourbon St. from the B.W. was safe, streets were all clean and the many attractions while walking were priceless.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the patio & pool area allowed our room to have more light , where our friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel

Address: 920 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.