We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but area is so-so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #44 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Irvine, California, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice but area is so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Everything was up to BW standards. Staff was wonderful. Breakfast was better than most BW but pales in comparison to the incredible food we ate in restaurants. The environs, although close to the French Quarter, was a little shabby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    227
    75
    26
    20
See reviews for
108
197
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I recently stayed at the Best Western Plus Landmark French Quarter hotel with my boyfriend. Hotel location is perfect - a quick walk to all the bars & restaurants, yet far enough away from the madness. The hotel is located across the street from Louis Armstrong Park, which was very nice. Our room was good, nothing exciting & we did find the bathroom to be quite small. The beds were GREAT though - super comfortable! The windows don't open in the room though & that would be my biggest complaint. I like fresh air & while you could put the fan on, it wasn't enough. I felt stuffy each day & night. The hotel had breakfast each morning which wasn't a huge selection, but it got the job done. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly, as were all the people in New Orleans - it's just a very friendly city. Our room was right next to the elevator which was kind of loud during the day, but my guy & I are heavy sleepers so it did not bother us at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early and asked if we could leave our luggage until check in time. Brunetta at the front desk was so nice and helpful she checked us in early. The bed was very comfortable, room clean. We had a nice stay. The free breakfast was nice and convenient.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Not sure about the few somewhat negative reviews here. Our room was lovely, calm, light and tastefully decorated. Higher ceilings than most hotels, with decorative molding. Nice bathroom with tub. Coffee, hair dryer, refrigerator, safe, ironing board, free wifi. The mattress was wonderful, very comfortable!

They happily provide any extras you may prefer, like more pillows. Breakfast was a full self serve breakfast, fluffy scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes one day, eggs, sausage and biscuits the next. Each day provided waffle bar, bagels, several types bread for toast, hot and cold cereals, yogurt, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice. Microwave to rewarm coffee, make oatmeal, etc. It's self serve but the food is just the same as you typically get in any restaurant and good quality. We were able to 'borrow' coffee cups, utensils, plates, etc from the dining area for any food we brought into the room. And were able to come down to use the microwave too. The Quarter restaurants are not typically inexpensive, and three meals a day adds up quick so the free breakfast was wonderful.

The hallways do echo somewhat so being considerate and quiet is a kindness. On the whole we experienced only a couple of incidents of people traveling to their rooms in the middle of the night waking us up. But we are in the Quarter and people party late into the wee hours. Once the guests were in their room they quieted down.

The staff was caring, helpful and kind. There's not one bad thing we could say about our stay there. Our last night the parking lot was full, and there was no place to park our rental car. We parked out on the street, went in and asked the young woman at the desk if it would be okay there. She came outside to see just exactly where it was parked, told us to bring it into the parking garage right away and allowed us to park in a non-designated spot, else we'd definitely be towed. That was very nice of them. We left our key in case they needed to temporarily move the car from it's 'spot'. The parking was $22.00 a night. That might seem steep but the tow you'll likely receive parking on the street will cost lots more than that. The parking laws are very confusing and strict. Better to pay this modest fee and know your car is safe than have to pay 10 times that because you didn't want to spend the money and took your chances on the street. New Orleans is tow happy and desperately needs the money it makes from ticketing and towing. So pay to park or take public transportation. Overall, our time at this establishment was extremely pleasant and we will probably always stay here from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Enjoyed everything about this stay from check-in to departure. Room is very clean and updated. Nice, friendly front staff and bartender. Added plus is the on-site parking. Enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very very nice hotel in the French Quarter. Walking distance to everything in the quarter. covered parking, bar, free breakfast, very comfortable bed, friendly and informative staff. Would HIGHLY recommend a stay here if visiting the French Quarter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Alabama, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The staff was extremely helpful, the service was exceptional, and the breakfast was the best on our trip. We were given great recommendations for places to eat and listen to jazz as well as clear directions for the walking tours for the French Quarter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel

Address: 920 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.