We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Remarkable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our first time in New Orleans and wanted to spend the night in the French Quarter that we could afford. this hotel was only 3 blocks from Bourbon Street. We smelled gas in the lobby and found out it was from the gas lanterns; you do not smell it in the room. The staff was very friendly. Rooms are very clean. Beds were clean with no sign of bugs (husband is in pest control and looked for signs). Breakfast is complimentary and is very nice. We took our plates and ate outside in the courtyard. I wish we had more time.
Down fall - you must pay additional $22.40 (fee plus tax) to park.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    250
    83
    27
    20
See reviews for
122
220
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

For the price you're paying-- this hotel has a good value. They offer free wi-fi and complimentary breakfast (which includes hot food items, such as eggs, sausage, breakfast potatoes) in the morning. Their bar is under utilized, as the servers "pour hard" and allow you to get take your drinks to the pool area-- a nice quiet evening activity.

Our room was reflective of the professional pictues (although those are of the updated rooms, and our head board was not like that). Although we did not have a court yard room, like other travelers encourage readers to get, our room overlooked the street and Louis Armstrong park, which is beautiful! In the evening the fountain lit up, and the street noise wasn't abnoxious for me (and I'm a light sleeper). The parking fees are not as outrageous as other hotels charge; I called about 6 hotels in the area, and this was, by far, the cheapest parking.

The front desk staff were cordial and helpful. The location is what is best here-- if you want to be able to have peace and quiet, but be close to everything, this is the place for you! It's about a 3 minute walk to Borboun Street, and a 5 minute walk to Canal Street (although it is on the opposite end to the popular River Walk). It's about a 5 minute drive to the 9th Ward, which we explored to see the devestation of Hurricane Katrina. If you don't mind walking, you do not need a vehicle to stay in this area! It was perfect.

Room Tip: People suggest a room that overlooks the courtyard-- these are hard to come by, because the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilgore, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just back yesterday. From a 5 night stay in New Orleans and we were very pleased with this small very clean Hotel. The parking was a tad bit tight but it that way everywhere down there, the staff were very help full the room was small but very clean and quiet. All and all this Hotel is a great value and a great place to stay to me you just beat it for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Do not be put off by the external environment of N Rampart Street! Friends had stayed here prior to us and had warned me but once through the door it's great. Drive your car through the iron gates, park it securely and then enter into the reception/lounge. We were greeted in a friendly, professional manner by the staff and allocated our rooms. We had the Executive rooms and our only issue was finding the rooms initially, and a little disappointment at the location (see note on rooms) but I am sure if we had been a real concerned we would have asked if there were others available. We were also given some very helpful information on places to eat and an extremely useful map, that never left me during our whole stay. We booked two trips through the reception - evening dinner cruise and a walking tour and they also booked us on to another BW in Memphis. We were booked for 5 nights but only stayed 4, purely because we had under-estimated the travel time to Nashville. The rooms are comfortable, a good size with desk, table and two comfy sitting chairs. We had a large fridge and a updated TV. The breakfast served was one of the best out of 6 BW we stayed at on this trip. The breakfast room overlooked the pool and patio, or you could go and eat outside by the pool - your choice. The hotel is only 10-15 minutes walk to Bourbon Street or to Jackson Square. Close enough to get to all the restaurants, bars and music, but far enough away to be a quiet haven at the end of a busy day. One of the restaurants recommended nearby was EATS, what a gem. Just a small corner restaurant, very understated, but the food was fabulous, my husband recommends the bread pudding! All in all we were happy with our choice and glad we had not chosen to stay nearer Bourdon Street, which is SOOO NOISY.

Room Tip: We had an internal room which was quite dark with a public corridor outside the window. However, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My family stayed here one night on a road trip. The staff was friendly and responded quickly when I called them at midnight to tell them that the alarm clock in the empty room next to ours was blaring. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool was clean if a little small, and the courtyard area was nice. We were about a 10 to 15 minute walk from Jackson Square. The hotel is right across the street from Armstrong Park. I would stay here again if visiting the French Quarter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

When my friends and I looked for overnight stays in New Orleans during this years's Jazz festival we were in desperate need for accomodation as we decided to go on the trip last minute. When we explained the management that we needed to stay on a budget as low as possible, preferring to share one room instead of booking two, they deliberately misunderstood us, charging us the room rate for two instead of one. We immediatly realized the mistake and asked to rectify it. The management was then totally unhelpful, refused to rectify and called the police. The police sided with the management, which should not even have been an issue at all right from the start. Any serious and well-led hotel should allow the customers to rectify a booking, particularly since we hadn't even entered the rooms. Do not stay there if you are looking for an honest management and good service!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I read the reviews before arriving and wasn't sure what to expect, but hoped for the best, and I have to say was pleasantly surprised. I was there with my 17 year old daughter, and even she really liked it. The pictures are accurate - the pool is in a lovely courtyard, and our room overlooked the courtyard. Rooms were a perfect size for us, floor to ceiling tile in the shower and frameless shower doors. Rich chocolate walls and really nice attention to detail. No cheesy pastel prints from the '80's. I had asked for a room that was quiet since we didn't stay out til 3am, and they were very accommodating. The whole staff was so pleasant and took care of any detail (our towel rack fell off and it was fixed immediately). Their breakfast was perfect since we planned on big lunches and dinners in the French Quarter (check out my reviews on restaurants NOLA's a big yes, and Cafe Pontalbo!). Just know when they say it ends at 9:30 they mean it. The breakfast area was in a garden room that overlooked the pool and courtyard. There is a beautiful park across the street with a lighted fountain, and great for a morning walk or run. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful with tips about walking around and places to eat. We both felt very comfortable walking around and stayed on St Ann when walking to the hotel at night. Honestly the only people we had to worry about were the drunken visitors. We were sure to get off the street by 11. I have to say this place was perfect for us. We were right at the edge of the French Quarter, so we were close to enough to be able to walk to all the good great things it has to offer (including the Aquarium) but we were away from the partying. LOVE the music and all the fun, but when we wanted to sleep and recharge, that's exactly what we did. One tip about the French Quarter if you've never been - this is not Disney's Epcot - yes the town is old, but that's what makes it so incredibly charming. Enjoy the architecture, art, music, food and locals!

Room Tip: Upper courtyard rooms seem to be quiet. Just ask the staff what they recommend when you book. They r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel

Address: 920 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.