We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location with a Modern Feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville

Save Saved
You added Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Iberville St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Iberville Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save now in New Orleans
Ranked #17 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Central Location with a Modern Feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

As a Marriott Rewards member my wife and I stayed here for free for a conference. The hotel is within walking distance of tons of restaurants and shops in the French Quarter and Canal Street area.

Check in was easy as we had reserved online and paid with points. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We got a room on the 9th floor with a view towards the east of the French Quarter and River in the distance. A room on a higher floor provides views above other buildings. The room was very clean and spacious. There was a room with a large couch, desk, tv, and wet bar. The bathroom was relatively small with only one sink but did have a very nice large glass and tile shower. The bedroom was also spacious with a king bed and large tv. The rooms could be separated with barn style sliding doors that were nice.

There are 10 floors available at the hotel. We were in room 913 and it was very quiet even despite being a block from Bourbon Street on a Friday night. No interruptions all night long.

There is no complimentary breakfast, but lots of good restaurants nearby. The hotel does have a Starbucks cafe and a small store with a variety of food and snacks. The hotel does have a nice gym and for $10 you can use the pool and gym at the adjoining Ritz-Carlton as well. There are plenty of lounge areas on the second floor located at the lobby level.

Parking at the hotel is only available via valet and your car will be parked directly across the street. The cost is a bit pricey at $38 but your vehicle is secure and located right next to the hotel. There are other options nearby but they are open lots and a bit of a walk so the valet is the most convenient. I would recommend using valet and then just walking to everything so you don't have to pay for parking anywhere else.

Great updated hotel and very clean. The staff were all very friendly. Only complaint is the valet cost and no complimentary breakfast, but there are options everywhere.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor to have a view and avoid road noise and nearby Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Hiker1987,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it's a great perk to be a Marriott Rewards Member because of reward points. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy different restaurant options as well as utilize the perks of the attached Ritz Carlton. We hope you come back and stay with us soon!

Warm Regards,
Jeff A
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    109
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
64
113
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The location of this hotel is superb as is the professioualism and friendliness of the personell. Be aware that the lobby is on the second floor and only accessed by two elevators in different locations. The rooms are all suites or junior suites with a seating area and two TV's. The beds are comfortable and bedding very nice. The decor, oddly, is minimalist, which puzzles me in New Orleans French Quarter, but I am sure it is franchise wide. Since this is a historic hotel, the windows are very narrow and tall. They have attached two blinds, one a privacy blind and one decorative. The privacy blind has a metal casing and if you turn up the fan on the air conditioning the blind bangs on the casing all night. Once I figured out where the noise was coming from and used the other blind it was fine. Breakfast may be included or not, depending on your rate. It is very limited with McDonald's type sandwiches (not as good) and yogurt, fresh fruit and good pastires. Only purchase it is you don't like to leave the hotel in the morning. Great place overall and we would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Charlene T,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of our hotel. We are very happy you and your family were able to enjoy the entire experience at the Iberville Courtyard. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Jeff Ault
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location, very safe & secure, large suites, had a few amenities (small bar, small store and breakfast/deli and computers in lobby area), work out room quite small though.
next door to the ritz carlton. bed room is quiet. no bell hop or concierge but valet parking and front desk was helpful.
Glad I chose this mid priced hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I were very pleased with the room at the Iberville Courtyard in the French Quarter, one block off of Canal Street and one block from Bourbon Street, There is an I-Hop about two blocks away on Canal Street and you can use the trolleys for $1.25/ride or $3.00 per day for buses and trolleys. The hotel is next to the Ritz-Carlton and apparently took over the Ritz-Carlton Suites. The room was spacious as a suite and relatively newly renovated, with an outer room containing a sofa bed and a 42 inch TV. There was a minibar and wet bar for making coffee in the morning and a shower/toilet/sink separating that room and the comfortable bedroom with a 36 inch TV which looked out onto the surrounding roof tops. Hangers in the closet were plentiful. The room was clean and there was an ice machine down the hall that was functional. Parking at the hotel is expensive as it is in all areas in NOLA at $38/24 hours (changes during the daytime), but it does allow for in and out valet privileges which other parking facilities do not. However, they appear to be short on staff at the Courtyard, and you have to wait until one is available to get your car. There was no doorman when we arrived and we had to find our own luggage carrier to take our luggage up one floor in an elevator (no stairs) to the lobby. The staff that checked us in were courteous, but not particularly friendly or helpful. They have a Bistro in the lobby for ordering meals and a fitness center in the same area. One of the things that I do appreciate at the Courtyards are the availability of several free internet computers. They also had a visual screen to show things to do in New Orleans. When we left, I had to ask the front desk for a bill as none was found under the door in our room. I found the staff not very efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is my 4th stay at this property and it has all the good things that Courtyards seem to have. Add to this the fact that is it only one block from Bourbon St. and it's a great hotel.

This time however, it started very poorly. The check in experience was horrible with check in personnel plainly not telling the truth about available accomodations. When finally checked in the hotel failed to provide towels or bedding for the sofa bed. Calling the front desk seemed to be helpful until there was no response for over 3 hours. The next day the housekeeping staff failed to clean the room.

I am a lifetime platinum member and frankly, did not believe this hotel had degraded to this point in so short a time. I called the General Manager and told him of our misadventures and to his great credit he turned what had been a miserable stay into one with no more problems at all and pristine service for the remaining 3 days of our stay.

The morale of this story is to be sure that management knows of any problems you are having and in the marriott it will be taken care of. This time it worked well.

I will continue to choose this hotel on my visits to New Orleans, only because I know that they truely want to do a good job and will not let a few problems ruin a stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar in this hotel. corner rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

It was very clean and comfy, in a walkable location. Staff was friendly.

There was usually only one valet working at a time, so we usually had to wait to drop off or retrieve our car. Not what I expected for the extra per-day price. The front desk was one floor up. Not a problem, but it felt unwelcoming and confusing at first not to have someone greet guests on the ground floor.

The room was nice. Thermostat was easy to control. Blackout curtains were great. Wi-fi was free and worked well. The barn-style sliding door to the bathroom was a nice decorative touch, but very impractical. It didn't lock, it rolled back open behind you sometimes, and allowed too much sound to escape. Not the best idea in terms of privacy.

Although there were no real problems outside of valet waits, the three star review is just because we expected a bit more for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Courtyard New Orleans

Great location, one block back from the start of Bourbon Street - but no noise at night. Adjoins the Ritz Carlton hotel. We booked a Junior suite which comprised of 2 bedrooms, with King size beds. Good size room which was great as we had a number of suitcases by this stage. Hotel, as are all Courtyard Marriott's was very clean and staff were always friendly and helpful and polite, recommending things for us to do and see during run stay. Only downside was that selection for breakfast was limited, however, lots of restaurants close by for brekkie as alternative. Special kudos to all of the valet staff, especially Devon and Michael who always willing to help out and always had a a smile on their face and a friendly greeting for us.
We would definitely stay again if we returned to New Orelans.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville

Address: 910 Iberville St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Iberville Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberville Hotel New Orleans
Iberville Suites New Orleans
Iberville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.