We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only A Few Details From Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville to your Saves list
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Iberville St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Iberville Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #18 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Only A Few Details From Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Generally, in New Orleans, I prefer to use a non-chain hotel, but found a good price here for a visit traveling with a friend. The two-bedded room that separates each bed into its own "room" with a sliding door kept us from having to get two singles and saved bucks. A delightful, patient front desk, especially Hannah, and pleasant housekeeping employees make their contribution. Very clean, certainly, and very comfortable beds. Yes, the location is great, especially if your plans take you uptown beyond Canal Street; you're a block from the St. Charles and Canal Street streetcars. (By the way, the St. Chas car now terminates at Napoleon Street because of track work; there's a bus that takes you on to the Riverbend area and the rest of the route.) And you're a couple of blocks from the hoorah of Bourbon Street, which seems to have gotten worse over the decades.

No full-length (or even 3/4-length) mirrors in the room. Quirky phones, although at least we had one by each bed and one at the desk, something I no longer take for granted. And it's really difficult to get close enough to the mirror for those of us without 20/20 vision and less than 6 feet tall, whether it's the one by the bar sink in the room or the one in the bathroom, thanks to that handsome sink with its raised edges. My 5'2" friend was in particular difficulty with that. Putting on makeup was tricky. No wastebasket in one of the bedrooms. No microwave, although friend and I disagreed over whether this was a problem. (Leftover duck from Upperline Restaurant....)

Fridge worked well, not always a given in hotel rooms. Wakeup call was by a person, not a machine. Good blackout shade. Televisions in each bedroom, which was particularly convenient. Mostly very good sound-proofing.

Despite my nit-picking, I'm still quite happy to give this 5 stars when you consider the room layout, the price, the staff and the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    149
    28
    4
    8
See reviews for
89
151
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Really a nice one. Very well located, at the French Quarter, but out of the hustle of Bourbon St. Within 2 minutes walk from Bourbon, 10 minutes from Jackson Square.
The rooms are vast, clean and well maintained. Quiet hotel, friendly stuff. Our room didn't have bathtub, which was ok for us. But if you need one, better check in advance if they have rooms with tubs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have stayed here twice, and enjoyed each visit. I love the location because it is actually in the French Quarter and I can leave the car in the garage and explore the entire French Quarter on foot. It is also a short walk to the street car which is a cheap fun ride to the Garden District, Even though we stayed in the cheapest rooms, they were spacious. I have heard that some other French Quarter hotels have tiny, cramped rooms. This appears to be an old building that was converted or renovated to its present state, which is excellent. My only complaint is that it was expensive ($239 plus taxes and fees) and I had to pay in advance (non-refundable), and the parking is $34.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view, so ask if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

On the edge of the French Quarter this hotel was very reasonable. We were within walking distance of several very good restaurants and only two blocks from the trolley system. The hotel offers an interesting bar, food if you are too beat to go out again after walking all day as we were, and a fitness center if you are so inclined. The desk personnel were very polite and helpful. I am the type that needs my coffee to wake up and appreciated the in room coffee maker. My only complaint was the lighting in the bathroom, it was not conducive to putting on makeup.
I would recommend leaving the car parked and taking the trolley to check out the famous graveyard, drop a few dollars at the casino and to hit the ferry. You can also use the trolley system to take you to the opposite corner of the quarter and walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just scan the other reviews and you will get a good feel for this great hotel. I am a Marriott Platinum member and this is my favorite courtyard in the US. It is in a great location for a weekend in NOLA. There is a decent fitness center to work off all the calories from this city's great food (or, you could decide to hit the art galleries on Royal Street instead & exercise in the French Quarter). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are super comfy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed in a Double King room. Both beds had their own room. The room itself was very comfortable, with a great bathroom, sink, and fridge. The front desk was courteous, friendly, and helpful. (Particularly Hannah). The fitness center is more than just a treadmill. Lifecycle, elliptical, and dumbbells. There is also a Starbucks in the Lobby. All in all I could not be happier with my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a very nice Courtyard. Comparable more to a Marriot, only more modern. I've also stayed at the Courtyard Near the French Quarter, which in on the other side of Canal, and there is no comparison. Choose this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville

Address: 910 Iberville St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Iberville Suites)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberville Hotel New Orleans
Iberville Suites New Orleans
Iberville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.