We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“updated & good value compared to other French Quarter hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville

Save Saved
You added Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Iberville St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Iberville Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save now in New Orleans
Ranked #17 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“updated & good value compared to other French Quarter hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I think it's important to know that the rooms look like the newer photos provided by the hotel. Don't let the photos of outdated rooms deter you (as they almost did me) -- before booking I called the hotel to verify all rooms have been renovated/updated, and our room looked like almost exactly like their photos. Also they call this courtyard 'downtown' but it's really on the edge of the French Quarter -- not downtown.

In another city this hotel would probably score a 3 (average), but compared to other hotels in the French Quarter area that were priced similarly this was a fantastic deal and more updated option with modern conveniences. It is also attached to the Ritz Carlton so you have access to their amenities as well. It is within easy walking distance of bourbon street (2 blocks) but away from the crazy crowds. We also had a good view of the city. There were no noise issues but it was early January so the area wasn't as busy as during other times of year.

Pros:
Friendly Marriott staff
Proximity to French Quarter sights (*I don't mind walking so we walked everywhere but some people may not find this close enough to what they want to see so review your map carefully if you plan to leave your car)
Clean, decent sized rooms
Nice fitness center
Free wi-fi which was somewhat hard to find in the French Quarter hotels

Cons:
Slow room service - they didn't come until around 2pm, but did respond quickly when called
Confusing hotel layout - not a big issue but thought I'd mention it. You may want to get a room near the elevator.
Sliding door with no lock - a minor annoyance for me, but like others have said it's not ideal

Room Tip: ask for a room near the elevator if you don't want to hike down their long hallway with several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    109
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
64
113
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NewMexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The bathroom has a barn-style door you slide open/close, not a pocket door. No fan for odor or moisture removal. Shower only, no tub. Hot water only gets "warm." Big window, but even on the 7th floor, a lot of street noise. I wish during remodel they would invest in better sound-proof windows. Good free wifi in room (with passcode), good computer station with printer in lobby. I am loyal Marriott member, so I was disappointed and would not stay here again. Although website indicates spa (it is at nearby Ritz-Carleton, $25/day and was broken during my stay which neither website mentioned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

we stayed at the courtyard marriott ibervlle 12/7-12/13/12 and loved both the hotel and new orleans french quarter. the staff is friendly particulary at the front desk. we had very good customer service particulary from ebony at the front desk who was kind enough to place us on an 8th floor room which was quieter and had views. the rooms were nicely furnished, very clean and quiet. the hotel itself is centrally located in the wonder french quarter and easily withing walking distance to great shops, restaurants, bars, nightlife etc and far away enough from the very noisy bourbon street. i would very much recommend a stay at the couryard narrott iberville.

Room Tip: try not to stay in a hotel on bourbon street as it can get quite noisy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Marriott has taken over Iberville Suites and its been a disaster! We've been here 3 days and have experienced no water; a power outages that led to no air conditioning or movies; broken ice machine and a surly welcome. The "improvements " include sliding barn type doors on the bedroom and bathroom that do not lock and don't stay shut! The heavy nightstand fell forward every time you opened the drawer and depositing anything on top onto the floor. We asked that someone come and take a look at the air conditioning; called back after no one came for 45 minutes and we are still waiting 1 hour and 15 minutes later. My daughter and her family are here as well and I am embarrassed to have recommended it. Expect better from the Marriott name.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel looks exactly like the hotel's stock photos. Our room was a king bed with separate living room area and complementary Wi-Fi. The room had a refrigerator which came in handy, most hotels charge for them nightly. The hotel is within a very short walk to Canal St. & Bourbon St.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Recently remodeled, our room was very nice. Loved the shower and the sliding doors. The hallway and rooms were quiet, which I like. The only downsides was the 2 elevators that you have to ride to get to your room from the street and the confusing, maze like paths to get to the adjoining Ritz Carlton. The location was great. Parking is a bit expensive at $34.00 per day. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

In my career I am on the road about every week and staying at Couryard Hotels. This trip was both for business and pleasure and was connected to our "Girls weekend" shared with 3 other women. The first night was my work night and Taurean was very helpful at the front desk. Because we made the reservation paying for one night, points for 2, and a certificate for the 3rd it was quite confusing! Taurean was patient and helped us find a room with two beds that would accomodate all of us comfortably. Darlene was also at the front desk and she promised to take care of us when we re-checked in the next day so we could keep our original room and not have to move.

The room was great! Quite different from other Marriott Courtyards. Because this one used to be the Iberville Suites, the rooms are much larger than a traditional Courtyard. There were little decorative things in the room that also made the hotel special, such as the large sliding doors, the artwork, bathroom, bedding, and more. Any time we called the front desk for extra towels, shampoo, etc., it was immediately brought up with a smile!

The hotel it'self was in a fantastic location if you are wanting to be by the Quarter. We were within a couple blocks of Bourban, Acme Oyster House, and Jackson Square. You can use the Ritz pool but there is a charge for this. Therefore, we did not take advantage of the Ritz property.

I would like to say that Taurean and Darlene were so kind, gracious, and welcoming. They took care of everything we needed and laughed with us the whole time!

If anyone is looking for a reasonable priced Marriott in New Orleans this is it! It's great for groups with more than two people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two beds if you have more than two people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville

Address: 910 Iberville St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Iberville Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberville Hotel New Orleans
Iberville Suites New Orleans
Iberville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.