We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but just an Ok hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville

Save Saved
You added Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 Iberville St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Iberville Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save now in New Orleans
Ranked #16 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Location, but just an Ok hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spend probably 90% of my hotel dollars at Marriott properties (I'm Platinum Elite) and I've left another Courtyard (in the middle of a stay here in New Orleans) before, so I don't really know why I gave this one a chance. The location is Prime for everything you want to do in NOLA, and the price didn't seem bad, either. Well, until we got here. First impression was at check in...They ask if I want One thing from the market or 200 points. I guess I'm used to the JW/Ritz/Saint, where they offer wine and cheese plates, etc. But, I'm at the Courtyard, so no biggie, I grabbed a soda. The hallways were grungy and a putrid green color. Get to the room....Wow! Nice and Clean and 2 king beds, separated by the bathroom, both with their own tv's and own space. I actually don't think I've ever gotten a room that wasn't a suite with 2 king beds, so that was nice. The high was short-lived, however......neither a Verizon nor AT&T phone could even pull one bar of service in the room. I set out down the hallway to find some bars...not wanting to be rude to the fellow travelers by yapping on my phone near their room, I find the stairwell and it has surprisingly good reception. Clink. It locks me in. Well, I can't call my friend in the room...he has no reception. I call the front desk from the email confirmation I have on my phone....no answer. call several more times, no answer. I finally end up calling the Marriott reservation line and they take several minutes to connect to the front desk too. Yes, I guess I could've technically walked down the stairs, but I was barefoot and not exactly dressed to be exiting into the unknown landing area of a stairwell. A man in a suit finally arrives to rescue me and doesn't really say anything. Sorry, or Oh we need a sign that says Door Locks Behind You....Something? nothing. oh well...my dumb fault for getting locked in a stairwell, I guess.
Sleep quality: If you're in the far bedroom, I suppose you get a wonderful night's sleep, but if you're near the door....bring earplugs. Walls are paper thin, and apparently the clientele here don't really have hotel-hallway-ettiquette. People screaming ROLL TIDE at all hours of the night, groups of people just congregating in the hallway chatting while a child screams running up and down.. c'mon people! I stuck my head out the door more than once to plead for silence. Our Do Not Disturb sign was also swiped more than once over the 6 days, leading to the maid knocking at 8am and waking us up. While this isn't the Courtyard's fault, by any means, it's a definite picture of who else is staying at this property.
Maintenance: The second night, we arrive back at our room and we are greeted by red & green blinking light while trying to unlock the door. Try both keys...nothing. Go all the way back down to the lobby and they accuse us of keeping them near our cell phones or credit cards.....neither of which we did, because, shocker--this isn't our first time in a hotel that uses key cards. I mention the red & green blinking lights, but they just issue us 2 new cards. Of course, those don't work either and we trudge back down for a second time. I mention the blinking lights again and front desk lady says she'll send security up to let us in and bring two new cards. He shows up, lets us in and then says that our door needs new batteries and that's what the blinking lights indicated. Would've been helpful 30 minutes earlier if front desk had known this tidbit of info. He had to take apart the door apparatus, it's a process.....and of course, he didn't bring us new keys. We were getting exhausted and exasperated at the lack of communication in this place!
Room: The bathroom was very nice and the shower sparkling clean for how quickly things can get moldy/mildewy here in LA. There was also a wetbar with coffee maker and a full-size mini-fridge. -sounds like an oxymoron, but it wasn't one of those tiny little 1 ft. high fridges, it was big enough for sodas, waters, to go food and snacks.
Business: Don't bother bringing your laptop, the wifi is awful. Apparently the Ritz has fabulous wifi, as every time I'd fire up the computer, it would try and pull their signal. I called the front desk and she said she'd send someone up to trouble shoot. Um, why? my computer works just fine, it's the WIFI that needs fixing. ugh. I even tried to pull the Platinum Elite Card and ask if I could get the passcode for the Ritz's wifi, but that was a no go too. If you're going to let us share the spa, restaurants and let us charge back to our rooms, why not share the easiest and biggest crowd pleaser??
Dining: We didn't try the in-house dining options, too many fantastic places to eat in NOLA to be wasting a meal on hotel food.
Overall: I -might- stay here again....but it's going to have to be one helluva room rate. There are just so many other hotels in proximity that I KNOW have better service. Marriott needs to either beef up this brand or drop it.....it's bringing down their good name.

Room Tip: Ask for the end of the hallway, so you don't hear your inconsiderate neighbors at all hours of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    108
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
64
112
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good sized room, comfortable ante-chamber with stylish, firm couch. Easy walk to west end of Bourbon Street and Canal Street. Easy check in and check out. Starbucks on first floor is nice for morning coffee although the room also has a coffee maker. No complaints.

Room Tip: Inner rooms face what might be termed a large light shaft. Some outer ones don't have much view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel itself was very cute. Everything was clean the staff was personable. When I stayed here it was not a Courtyard it was called Iberville Suites and was aligned with the Ritz. I am hoping the service standards continue. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The Iberville Suites is a delightful bargain at the edge of New Orleans' famed French Quarter. Located alongside the Ritz Carlton (the properties are under common ownership, have shared billing systems, and partially share elevators), the Iberville allows you to readily access the Ritz's spa and common areas and to use the Ritz's concierge. All this, plus a complimentary breakfast buffet for a fraction of the price you'd pay at the Ritz. Rooms are smaller and older than those at the Ritz, but this is hardly an inconvenience if you intend to spend most of your time touring New Orleans and environs. Note that accommodations at the Iberville are on the small side, so opt for the largest room or suite that you can procure.

This is a terrific location for exploring the French Quarter. Jackson Square is an easy and enjoyable 12-15 minute walk, and Bourbon Street is minutes away. Canal Street is just around the block, making for easy trolley line or taxi access, and it's a 10 minute walk to the Aquarium area.

If you want a great location and access to the Ritz Carlton at budget prices, the Iberville is your place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenivg
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This is a newly acquired Courtyard Marriott property that is attached to the Ritz.
Rooms are very "W" ish. With the bathroom in middle of room and modern decor.
Nice lobby, large business center, cafe and bar. Also Ritz spa and lounge are wonderful.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Staying here for 5 nights on my Marriott points. as everyone before me has said it's nice and newly remodeled. Perfect for a visit to NOLA. Thank goodness we decided to not rent a car! Parking is $38/day and we wouldn't have used it. So that was a good choice for us. I think they need to post new pictures the remodel is much nicer than they show.

Room Tip: Ask to face the river and over look the French Quarter and not facing the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here before, when it was Iberville Suites. Seems like they've remodeled. The hotel is in the French Quarter, attached to the Ritz Carlton. You have to go up the elevator to the second floor to reach the hotel front desk. It really is a beautiful hotel. I was so impressed with the rooms. We had a king suite. There was a separate living room and bedroom, with the bath and small kitchenette in between. Everything looked new and not worn out. It felt very clean. We only had two issues and they weren't big deals. The check-in took a while, I assume b/c they just changed to Marriott and their computer system was acting up. Still, all the employees were courteous and professional. Also, I wish they still had the free breakfast they used to have. It was really good. But they do have a cafe where you can buy food. And there is a cute breakfast spot right down Dauphine street. I would defintely stay here again and probably will.

Room Tip: The floors are like a maze. You may want a room by the elevator to make it easier to find your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Luxury, Quaint...
Show More
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#4 of 153 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,967 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#6 of 153 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,528 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Central Business District
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
JW Marriott Hotel New Orleans
#27 of 153 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Charming...
Show More
French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#26 of 153 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
Romantic, Quain...
Show More
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 153 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville

Address: 910 Iberville St., New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Iberville Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberville Hotel New Orleans
Iberville Suites New Orleans
Iberville New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Iberville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.