We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good intro tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Style Tours

Southern Style Tours
201 St Charles Ave Suite 2500, New Orleans, LA 70170 (Central Business District)
+1 504-568-1998
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: We do 3 hour City Tours twice daily. We run everyday rain or shine. Our tours are 9 am and 2 pm. We pick you up from downtown hotels and drop you back off. We cover all the popular tour spots and more. Tours are on brand new comfortable mini buses with large windows for picture taking. We can go where large buses can not. All calls are answered by the owners.
Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good intro tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 NEW

As another reviewer said, we also had Darren as a guide and we enjoyed the tour. For the most part you are sitting in the bus so make sure you get a window seat. I say it is a good introductory tour as if you see something you really like, you can go back another time. I would recommend the tour to those visiting NO for a few days and not having time to explore so much history.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    67
    18
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cool tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015 NEW

We had Darren as a guide and we enjoyed the tour. No need for me to repeat what everyone else said. Look for a groupon to save money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Killing Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We had completed our fishing trip and were looking for something to do before heading to the airport.
Chose a three hour mini bus tour with Southern Style Tours
Very educational and informative with lots of laughs thrown in.
Our driver was very knowledgeable, took time to explain how the levee and pumping system worked and how much of the area is below sea level
Drove through the French Quarter with it's great architecture and awesome restaurants.
Followed the route of the parade and saw hundreds of beads hanging from the trees.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very poorly executed tour. No itinerary or discernible plan for the 3+ hour trip.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Southern Style Tours. Highlights; Speculation about whether the Corps of Engineers blew the Levees during Katrina to Flood poor districts. Seating that makes airline economy seats seem spacious. No discernible itinerary or plan to guide the tour. Fragmentary comments interspersed with musical bits apparently intended to illustrate something. A guide whose knowledge would challenge the average fourth grader. The guide was interested in making sure we knew the difference between "rednecks" and " coon a#%€es". One of the most poorly executed tours I have ever been forced to endure

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good, informative tour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We recently went on a Southern style city tour and I would definately would recommend if you want a snapshot of what New Orleans has to offer. The guide was friendly and bubbly and appeared to be very knowledgeable about the history of New Orleans. We throughly enjoyed our day seeing everything from seeing the French Quarter to having a coffee break in city park.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Style Tours also viewed

 

Been to Southern Style Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Style Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.