We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time had with Greg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Style Tours

Southern Style Tours
201 St Charles Ave Suite 2500, New Orleans, LA 70170 (Central Business District)
+1 504-568-1998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 251 Activities in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: We do 3 hour City Tours twice daily. We run everyday rain or shine. Our tours are 9 am and 2 pm. We pick you up from downtown hotels and drop you back off. We cover all the popular tour spots and more. Tours are on brand new comfortable mini buses with large windows for picture taking. We can go where large buses can not. All calls are answered by the owners.
Port Perry, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time had with Greg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 NEW

Greg was our driver and made it interesting, informative and fun! What a great start for anyone vacationing here for the first time ... Highly recommend !

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    60
    18
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“First Day New Orleans Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 NEW

Loved the tour! Our very personable and informative guide hit all the right spots. Guide was superb.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice overview of NOLA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 NEW

We stayed in the French Quarter area and wanted a tour that took us to some of the surrounding areas in the New Orleans area. The tour started a bit slow as I did not find the information provided in the French Quarter area very in-depth however once we left that general area the tour was fantastic. The guide, Darrin, was extremely knowledgeable and shared both historical facts as well as his insight as a resident in the area. We learned quite a bit and would recommend this company.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro Atlanta
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great overview of NO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

We did a day trip from Biloxi and wanted a good overview of NO, not just the French Qtr. We specifically wanted an afternoon, three-hour tour that stopped at a cemetery. Most afternoon tours don't stop at a cemetery because the City cemeteries close at 3 p.m. After researching numerous companies, we selected New Orleans Tour Center. We didn't know that they are a tour broker and that our tour was actually with Southern Style Tours. We were able to get a $5 off per person price by using NO Tour Center. Had we known it was Southern Style Tours, we could have used a 50% off Groupon or Living Social.

We called NO Tour Center about 1 ½ hours prior to our tour start time to see which side of the Hyatt French Qtr (it has three different street entrances) they would pick us up. They told us the Iberville side and that the bus would say Southern Style Tours. When Southern Style arrived, they were on the Dauphine side. Thanks to the great bell hops at the Hyatt, who were on that side looking out for us, we were able to get to the bus with no problem. Our driver had called us, but for some reason the call didn't get through to our phone.

Regardless, we throughly enjoyed our tour. Darren was our driver/guide and he did an excellent job of pointing out the numerous sites we passed, including good restaurants and bars, providing history of NO, playing music appropriate for his dialog, navigating the crazy traffic/streets of town, and making us laugh. We visited on a very cold day and were quite happy to be riding in a comfortable, warm mini bus, with someone else driving and explaining all there was to see. The sculpture garden at City Park was interesting, though quick if needing to make a pit stop and/or order a biegnet. The stop at the cemetery was interesting, but could have been a few minutes shorter to allow for a little longer at the Park. The area out by the levees was touching. It was sad to see some of the boarded up homes, but it was very encouraging to see much rebuilding/refurbishing going on. The Garden District was lovely. By taking the three-hour tour, we felt as though we got a true sense of NO, not just the tourist traps. Darren also dropped passengers off where they wanted (within reason) rather than their pick up site...which saved a lot of walking.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeRoy, Michigan
1 review
“great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Just coming back to this website makes me homesick for New Orleans. If you visit this great city, please do this tour first! We did and it really gave us a perspective of the town and the best spots to visit. The tour was great, as was the driver, who did a great job of showing us points of interest and history! He also pointed out famous homes and gave us insider tidbits of information that proved very useful on our trip. I only wish we could have stayed longer. You will love Southern Style Tours!!!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Style Tours also viewed

 

Been to Southern Style Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Style Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.