We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andy will give you the best city tour you'll ever take” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Style Tours

Southern Style Tours
201 St Charles Ave Suite 2500, New Orleans, LA 70170 (Central Business District)
504-568-1998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 174 Activities in New Orleans
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: We do 3 hour City Tours twice daily. We run everyday rain or shine. Our tours are 9 am and 2 pm. We pick you up from downtown hotels and drop you back off. We cover all the popular tour spots and more. Tours are on brand new comfortable mini buses with large windows for picture taking. We can go where large buses can not. All calls are answered by the owners. David and Jo Ducote
Sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Andy will give you the best city tour you'll ever take”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

In 35 + years of international travel, Andy gave my wife and I the most unique city tour we've ever had. There is nothing he doesn't know about New Orleans, its people and its history. We saw everything there is to see - including a guided walk through and commentary by Andy on the interesting occupants of a cemetery. We saw the down-at-heel parts of New Orleans as well as the upper crust, top shelf mansions and parks. Along the way we stopped to give way to a construction vehicle outside a suburban house. This gave Andy the opportunity to ask what was happening. The end result was the owner invited Andy and us to go into his home and view the completed work - an old factory converted into a modern, funky home. Fantastic. Another unusual part of the tour involved Andy taking us into an area that suffered badly in the Hurricane Katrina floods. He introduced us to a survivor who has turned his home into a museum of items affected by the floods together with a photographic display. Incredible interesting as a way of appreciating how bad the floods were. Unique. Finally, I should add that Andy gave a lot of helpful advice on where to have a drink, which restaurants to visit and why, what to see and where to go. We tried two of his suggestions and both were excellent - one was Deanies Seafood Restaurant where the seafood was everything Andy said it would be and at a very reasonable price. In short, take this tour for a unique view of New Orleans.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    54
    17
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountainside, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This man loves New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I toured with Andy on August 15. He personalized the experience- and far exceeded expectations.You could sense that the people we encountered appreciate this man and open themselves and his guests to their homes and hearts. Thank you Andy!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDDIE W, Manager at Southern Style Tours, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We thank you for the business. We do LOVE our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shickshinny, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We went on a tour with our guide Andy, he was entertaining and very knowledgeable. He took us to parts of New Orleans we would have never seen. It was the high lite of our first time in The big easy.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDDIE W, Manager at Southern Style Tours, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.Glad you enjoyed the tour and we thank you for the business. Make sure to come back to the Big Easy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nawlins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The tour lasted about 3 and a half hours and we drove to many places through out New Orleans. Went around the French quarter, garden district, etc. Andy our tour guide is a very personable and enthusiastic tour guide. He recommended a lot of places to experience authentic New Orleans along with places that "tourists" would enjoy. We made stops at St. Louis cemetery #3, the Roosevelt hotel and areas affected by hurricane Katrina. We stopped and talked and toured someone's house who endured that disaster. Find a deal on groupon and save yourself some money. Make sure you write or type down some of the places he mentions to visit and sit on the left side of the bus. If you're looking to take a ton of photographs, I would recommended a walking tour.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDDIE W, Manager at Southern Style Tours, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.Glad you enjoyed the tour and we thank you for the business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Start your visit with this tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Andy knows everything about New Orleans history, culture, architecture, the best local food (and deals) and jazz spots! If you're a serious traveler, then you understand. Start your trip with this tour and, I assure you, you'll know exactly how to make the most of your time in this beautiful city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDDIE W, Manager at Southern Style Tours, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.Glad you enjoyed the tour and we thank you for the business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Style Tours also viewed

 

Been to Southern Style Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Style Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.