We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local hangout up the block from Bourbon.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Erin Rose

Erin Rose
811 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
(504) 523-8619
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 198 nightlife in New Orleans
Type: Bar/ Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Erin Rose is a neighborhood bar steps from Bourbon street. Life is good when sitting in the windows watching the world go by while sipping on a delicious adult libation. While small and cozy big on love and great passion for history, (hence the decor on the walls) community, and good times. Our motto says it all... Local Chaos Local Prices Local Love
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Local hangout up the block from Bourbon.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a bar that my uncles would be comfortable in. No frills, attentive bartender, people getting off work and getting their drink on. A real jukebox! Warning: this is a very smoky bar. Avoid it if you've got a cold coming on or a gig the next day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    12
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Feeling like a local!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The Erin Rose is a small town haven in the crescent city! Obviously a local favorite but it only takes a few minutes to feel like one yourself thanks to a friendly bar staff! It is especially a treat to be on hand during a Saint's game! Drinks are great but of special note are the Bloody Mary and the frozen Irish coffee! Don't miss this gem in the city, check it out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Guinness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This town doesn't know how to spell Guinness. Anyway, this place is a little slice of heaven. We gotta have our Irish and this hit the spot. The bartender was friendly and served us right up. Patrons were friendly. Decent choices on tap. We would definitely return. Bathrooms are lets just say very small but they do the trick in a pinch. Just don't throw away the styrofoam pink stuff on the sink. Its your soap!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“My favorite "hang out" spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was probably one of our favorite "hang out" spots while on our trip to New Orleans. Relaxing atmosphere, lots of friendly people to talk to. And the Killer Po Boys restaurant in the back of the bar was my favorite meal of the trip! Best po boy I've ever had. It's a dive, but it's a cool dive. And even though it's just off Bourbon street it wasn't full of some of the obnoxious types we saw ON Bourbon street.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great local bar, but tourists welcome too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have to go have the frozen coffee!

When the weather is nice, the windows open and you can hear the sounds of the street.

We always hit up the Erin Rose when in NOLA. Plenty of nice locals to talk to.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erin Rose also viewed

 

Been to Erin Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erin Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Erin Rose to your Saves list