We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Time Had by All!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Euless, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Time Had by All!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My gf and I travelled to NOLA for the very 1st time for her bday and stayed @ the Wyndham Garden Baronne, and it was a wonderful experience! The front desk was extremely polite and very helpful to both myself and my gf. They spoke everytime they saw us, whether we were going or coming back! Our 1st night we needed a cab and the Gentleman @ the front desk called and called again when they didn't arrive in a timely manner, we really appreciated that! We also had a tour booked and had too print our tickets and the Lady @ the front desk went out of her way to assist my gf with getting it printed b/c the printer was having issues @ the time, and that was truly wonderful!

We are hopefully having a destination committment ceromony in the future and we will definately want our guests too stay at this Hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for acknowledging our hotel's customer service. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    464
    219
    105
    82
See reviews for
227
392
56
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gastonia nc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We were very pleased with the nice beds and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay with us! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Very nice hotel in a former Sears building in New Orleans. Close to the Quarter, Tulane Hospital (where I was teaching). Super service. Quiet, very comfortable rooms. Close to good places to eat, and easy access to many of New Orleans' great attractions.
Walking distance to many things including the St. Charles and Canal St. Street car lines.
Clean rooms and good housekeeping. Front desk folks really helpful. Business center small but very workable. The area has some ongoing construction and repair after Katrina. This hotel is in the Central Business District. I was not afraid to be out at night, but I was careful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and give our hotel a 5 star rating! We are very glad your stay was satisfactory. Please let us know if there is anything else we do to make your next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Rooms were rather small but adequate, though the common areas on each floor were very spacious. Thought we were getting queen beds but they were double.
Our room was cleaned once in 5 days. Housekeeping was off on Christmas Day but somehow we got overlooked the other 4 days for whatever reason. We were able to get clean towels upon request. Towels seemed very thin.
We stayed on the 4th floor facing Common Street and extremely loud noises woke us up every morning at 5-6am. NOT what you want to happen in New Orleans after staying up late every night. Perhaps other areas of the hotel were better sound proofed.
Fitness room, lobby, & computer area were nice and clean. Front desk people were friendly and helpful. There was a small coffee shop in the lobby which was handy. There was a PJ's a couple blocks down the street which had much better prices and variety.
Our coffee machine had a mildew/musty smell so we did not use that.
There was a Sushi restaurant attached but no one was in there at all, then entire 5 days we were there. No room service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our apologies if you did not receive housekeeping service on the days you requested. At times, some guests requests later service when our housekeeping department has already left for the day, but all of that can arranged accordingly if notified to management immediately. As for issues relating to noise level, again, we apologize for this inconvenience you experienced during your stay. At times, guests who stay in rooms with an exterior window may encounter an increase in noise level when there is a city-wide event, but if you ever decide to return to the Wyndham Garden, we would be more than happy to arrange a room with an interior window (not facing the street-side) for you. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to win back you business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

My dad and I stayed here the night of the Sugar Bowl. The hotel was in a great location in between the Superdome and the French Quarter and it’s just a few blocks away from Harrah. The facilities were clean and the staff was friendly. We arrived early in the day before a room was ready and the hotel stored our bags for us and the manager on duty remembered my dad's name when we returned. My only complaint was the parking fee was raised to $30/night because of the Sugar Bowl but the garage right next door remained $10. This hotel is a really great value and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that our parking rates are subject to change so in the event you return to our hotel again, we would be more than happy to notify you of our parking rates in advance and help you find other reasonable parking accommodations if you requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I loved the location of this hotel. We contiplated booking a hotel on bourbon and we were thankful we didn't. It's loud, dirty and sometimes unfriendly at night. We were glad to walk 4 blocks down to our quiet and peaceful hotel. They serviced the room daily and did an excellent job. The staff said good morning to us every morning and the front desk even advised us on things to do and see. I would highly recommend this hotel. Also, if you wanted to book online tours there, the business center is open and right next to the elevators. Free wifi and Starbucks down stairs! Make sure you ask for a room that looks out to the street. Some open to the enterior of the hotel since it used to be an old Sears building.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Wow! Thank you for your wonderful review. We're happy to hear you loved our hotel location and was beyond satified with our helpful staff. On behalf of our entire staff at the Wyndham Garden Hotel, we thank you for recommending our hotel to other prospective guests and look forward to seeing you next time you're in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

A large group of us stayed at this hotel over New Years. It is just outside the French District (maybe a 3 minute walk). The hotel was pretty quiet considering we stayed over New Years! Though the walls seemed thin at times we had no real issues sleeping and no one complained about our group either (and we may have been loud a few times...). The beds were comfortable enough, the room was clean and modern (nice flat screen) though not huge. The staff at the front desk was very nice & helpful. There is no free breakfast or coffee but they have a little coffee shop and there are SO many food choices in walking distance. The only real negative is that many rooms have no outside window... the only window faces inside which is odd. But for the price it's a nice room and really other than sleeping... we didn't spend much time in the hotel anyway. Oh and parking is $30 a night at the hotel. I didn't have a car but my brother did and he found parking down the street for $5/night. Guess you just need to drive around a bit to find a better deal. Overall, this is a good value hotel near the French Quarter. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, January 8, 2011
Amazing! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review AND give our hotel a 5 star review! We're so happy you had a great time and rest assure next time you're in New Orleans, we can arrange a room with an exterior window for you if you like. Just notify us in advance and we'll take care of the rest to make sure your next stay is even more memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza

Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.