We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 3-star property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #103 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good 3-star property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I live far enough from New Orleans to want to spend the night after a late evening (often Saints games) and get out of town early to get to work. Generally, we're looking for a clean bed and hot shower in the French Quarter or CBD. Last night we stayed here. I've seen questionable reviews, but this stay was just fine. The room was clean and well appointed. You can tell the property is old, but it's well cared for. Of course, it's a 3-star inn with the kind of amenities you'd expect. But we'd stay again. The only complaint was s-l-o-w front desk service (we didn't use any other). They seemed to have trouble with the credit card reader and only one attendant was on duty in the morning. We ended up just dropping the key and leaving.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    535
    270
    127
    96
See reviews for
270
469
63
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed at the Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza while attending a convention in New Orleans. Location is good and the staff were nice; however, the rooms smelled like cigarettes and the room wasn't vacuum at least for two days. I should have complained about this but didn't have the time or the energy after three days of intense work.

Take this hotel as your option B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear your stay was overall satisfactory, but we will still pass along those noticeable shortcomings to our staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is in a good location for getting to events and sites. The building, from the 1930's, has an art deco style interior, primarily limited to the lobby. The only saving grace was the hotel staff were all friendly, well trained, professional and helpful. Terri and the others at the front desk were all terrific. We were disappointed at the room, though; a king. We had no idea the rooms were interior.. That is, the warren of rooms around the indoor courtyard had a view from the window only onto another set of rooms' windows. It seemed there was no fresh air to be found on the third floor! The small room was well appointed with a closet, desk, upholstered bench, and nice marble in the bath. But it smelled stale and had been sprayed with enough room deodorizer to really annoy the senses; the smell took over a day to fade slightly. We just felt the chemically "fresh" scent was covering a musty smell, both of which were annoying. I should have researched more carefully before booking! The outer rooms, facing the street, may be better, but I felt very boxed in and surrounded by a stale environment in this room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay was not 100% satisfactory for we do value your business and strive to ensure every guest experience is positive.

Most of our guests have a positive experience and we again, apologize if yours was not. We will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff members so we can make the necessary changes and hopefully, win back your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Beware that the king bed rooms, from what Front Desk told me, are inside rooms with small windows that face in. If you are a bit claustrophobic like me you will want the double bed rooms where the windows will be a bit larger and face the street . We found that the window treatments in our king bed room needed to be drawn because I always felt people were looking in as they walked by so I went to the Front Desk to request a double bed room. Unfortunately, because there was a big convention in town and because of Halloween, they were fully booked but they were able to come up with a solution that was suitable to us. In fact any time we had a question or request Front Desk always answered it politely and with a smile! The rooms were clean, the beds very comfortable, and the location was great . Only a couple of blocks away from the main attraction. Would I stay there again? Yes I would but only if I don't pay full price and I would ask for double bed rooms!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the constructive feedback! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Wyndham Baronne was absolutely perfect for our Voodoofest weekend. Primarily, location was excellent - just a hop from French Quarter and Canal st. Rooms were clean, but a bit musty and old. Service was EXCELLENT the entire 5 days. Tammy was the best!!! Wasn't loud like everyone else complained about. Air conditioning was fantastic. Cafe downstairs is 24 hours and staffed with fun people. Desk employees were delightful. I will stay here again when in Nola.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza

Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.