We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dark small room, scary lift ... but friendly staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #82 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very dark small room, scary lift ... but friendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Let's start with the bright side: staff was nice and very helpful. Also, parking is still expensive but a bit less overpriced than in most other hotels in the area. However, your savings on parking will only be about $5/night, i.e. nothing compared to the overall price of a room.
Location is good, close to Bourbon St.

Now, there are a few reasons why I would probably not go back. It seems most rooms only have a window giving on the inside of the building. If you are lucky, the window will open on the relatively bright main atrium. If you aren't, which was my case, you get a window opening on a dark corridor. And you spend your whole stay in the dark. As a matter of fact, since people are passing in that corridor, you can't even keep the curtains open!
Added to that, bedroom was small (the bed was touching the curtains) and 2 travel bags in the room made it impraticable.
There is no lift to the parking and, even worse, it seems the day we were there one of the lift was malfunctioning, making very scary stops and noises. But it remained that way all day, no 'out of order' sign was posted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay was not 100% satisfactory for we do value your business.

Most of our guests have a positive experience and we again, apologize if yours was not. We will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff members so we can make the necessary changes and hopefully, win back your business in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    381
    163
    79
    60
See reviews for
178
298
48
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

It was our third stay when my mother and I were there in May. We came back because we'd found this to be one of the nicest hotels we'd experienced, and it's in a great location, just off the French Quarter. Our room was a perfect size and clean. I was glad to see lots of fresh towels and wash cloths, but we wished there had been some hooks in the bathroom, and our room's thermostat didn't work very well. We really appreciated the bottles of water that were left for us that first day. As usual, everyone at the desk was pleasant and helpful. Whenever we get a chance to return to New Orleans, we'll always stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! We really appreciate it! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Kevin provided me with outstanding customer service. He was courteous and informative. He provided me with water before my long, hot tours and gave me valuable information regarding New Orleans' main attractions. Also, he ensured that my bags were checked-in the dayroom on my last day. He friendliness greatly attributed to my stay at W New Orleans.

Room Tip: Stay here. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! Hearing positive feedback such as yours really makes our day! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza

Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans
Baronne Plaza
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Amex, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Baronne Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.