We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow great restoration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter to your Saves list
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #79 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wow great restoration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel has been restored very well. I love that they salvaged and returned it to its original beauty while mixing modern touches. The location is perfect. Pool area is great. Balconies are excellent for people watching without getting in the midst of it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    167
    65
    21
    19
See reviews for
62
123
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hondo, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed from 7/19 to 7/22 - Hotel is in a great location within walking distance of most everything you would want to do in NOLA. Individuals working the front desk at checkin were very friendly. We got to the hotel at 2:30 and room was not ready. Only bad thing - told to give them 30 minutes and they would call when the room was ready. Almost 2 hrs later we received the call - Agent had gotten busy & forgot to call. We had a balcony room overlooking the pool which was nice and did not hear outside noise. Room was a good size for 2 people and clean. Bed was very comfortable. Nice addition was the safe located in the closet. During our stay, the room was cool, but as the day progressed, the AC seemed to have a hard time keeping up with the hot temps. The bathroom was really small and the light fixtures were a bit rusty. The size of the bathroom made it difficult to have 2 people in there at the same time. Bathroom doors were weird as well, almost like bar doors which swung into the bathroom. This took up additional precious space when left open. Bath towels seemed to be at a premium. Only 2 ever left in the bathroom. Maid service tended to be a bit slow and loud every morning. Seemed like their starting point was right outside our door each morning (room 219). Left room at 9 a.m. on 7/21. Several maid carts & maids outside our door. Was out all day until 4 p.m. Got back to room to change for the pool and maid was just cleaning the room. We asked her to just give us towels & that would be good. Visited the pool that afternoon - the water was nice and cool, but it was dirty. Only a few people in the pool that afternoon. While sitting on the side of pool talking, watched a huge glob of hair float by. Went to other end to get in, more hair. Saw the staff cleaning the pool that morning, but they may want to check things just a little closer. The hair balls were a big turn off. Overall - great location and OK rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter on the pool side. Ask to not be located next to service elevator where it tends t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suamico, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was our destination hotel for an extended motorcycle trip from Wisconsin. It is an oasis right on Bourbon Street in the middle of the chaos. Our rooms were outstanding, suites really. It is very noisy but that is to be expected on Bourbon Street. We had a balcony outside our room that looked over Bourbon Street so you could enjoy people watching from the comfort of our room. The staff was not particularly noteworthy but got their jobs done. Parking is a little hassle but very secure and a little expensive but that is to be expected right downtown. Bring earplugs if you want to get to sleep early as Bourbon Street lives up to its reputation as, in the words of our carriage driver around the French Quarter "the largest unregulated mental health institution in the world"! Will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: We overlooked Bourbon Street and had a balcony. It is loud in the evening so expect that but the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beebe, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel on Bourbon Street and within walking distance to Jackson Square and tons of restaurants then this is the one. It is an older hotel but rooms were very clean and had some updates to them. Our room was not facing Bourbon Street but on the Courtyard side. We stayed the night before our cruise and I was afraid it may be loud but we never heard anything from our rooms. The only negative was we had to leave hotel for breakfast but on the bright side the lady at the desk recommended a place that turned out to be worth the short walk. Also it is only about 5 minutes to the cruise port.

Room Tip: Balcony facing Bourbon to sit out and watch all the entertainment or Balcony facing pool for quiet t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Leigh C,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your short stay with us prior to departing for your cruise and liked our convenient location and guest rooms. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we hope you stay with us again during your next visit to NOLA. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not sure why this hotel has such great reviews. I can't think of a single good thing to say about this place. The room is the size of my master bathroom at home and the bathroom is smaller than my walk in closet. The celling is low and the door still isn't long enough to touch the floor. Kinda reminds me if a door that belongs on a mobile home... Considering the fact that the door has enough space between it and the floor, I should have anticipated the noise level... But noise comes from the outside as well. OMG... Words TRUELY can't explain this hotel, so to put it plainly, it simply is terrible! I would never stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Peytoncamille,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We try our best to minimize noise from both inside and outside our hotel, and we apologize you were not able to enjoy your experience due to the noise level. Again, thank you for your review, and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

If your looking for a modern hotel in a great location, the Four Points By Sheraton is your choice. The property is immaculately kept and the rooms and lobby are modern. The front desk staff is very friendly and was helpful from arrival through checkout. I must compliment Larry on his hospitality, as he promised on arrival he would make sure we had transportation to the airport on Sunday morning for an early flight and he personally called our room to let us known a van was waiting on us when we were ready. All in all, this is a great property in the best of locations.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Adam J,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed our exciting location on Bourbon Street and received great service from our attentive team. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I am not a planner and decided the day of, that my family and I were stopping in New Orleans on our way home from Florida. My boyfriend nor two kids have been there before. I got on Expedia while driving and got a room for a great price. I thought I had reserved 2 double beds but I had only been given a king. When I arrived to check in the woman at the front desk was very friendly and upgraded me at no charge to a suite. The room, location, and lobby were very nice. In addition to the exceedingly friendly front desk staff, the bell hops were just as friendly and willing to help with anything we needed.

One thing that stood out in regards to the hotel was the fact that the staff checked to make sure we had a room key, later in the night. As most people know, Bourbon street is crazy so this extra measure of security was nice. I was also surprised that our room was so quiet considering what street we were on. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at a nice place in the French Quarter. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Address: 541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.