We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIght in the center of the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter to your Saves list
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #92 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“RIght in the center of the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were excited that we got a place right on Bourbon Street, not thinking about exactly what that would entail. When we arrived on Good Friday the street was hopping with people having a good time at 4:00pm. They have a valet garage in the hotel, which is a nice feature. You really won't need your car to travel around the city, so ours sat in the garage until the day we left.

The hotel has a very nice courtyard pool with a fair number of tables and chairs. Lots of times there are people hanging there with drinks they either brought with them or bought on the street. The hotel has a bar (and signs saying, "No outside drinks") but mostly people don't get them from the hotel. We had dinner our last night by the pool; each person in our group went to a different takeout place and got what they wanted and we had some wine and enjoyed the beautiful April weather.

The hotel is older but well maintained. Everything worked correctly and was clean.

Now on to the noise. You are on Bourbon Street. The bars don't ever close until the place empties out. Many bars have rock bands (not that much jazz, surprisingly.) It's loud starting in the afternoon and stays loud until after midnight (more like 2am on Good Friday.) Then at 4 am the drunks come back home to the hotel and talk loudly in the hall. After the first night we thought we had screwed up by staying here. But then, like the Grinch and his heart, we realized, this is New Orleans and we came to enjoy the real thing. Had we stayed a mile away at any of the big hotels on Canal Street, we'd always be thinking, "I bet Bourbon Street is hopping right now." Every time you walk out, there IS something going on (at 8am you get to watch as huge trucks spray foamy soap all over the street.) This is the place to be and in this hotel you are at ground zero.

Bring your ear plugs and maybe ask for a room farther back from the street, but by all means I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are probably quieter, but then you miss looking out the window to see the frea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    216
    78
    34
    28
See reviews for
85
165
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is an old part of town and this hotel is very updated for that. Yes there is brand new hotels off Bourbon Street, but location, location, location. We were here for Jazz Fest and it was great. Everyone was nice and room was clean. Yes there is a pool but saw one family in it the three days I was there. If you are looking for R+R this is not the place for you. I gave it four star just beacuse it is old and there is much better out there, just not in the middle of Bourbon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Right on Bourbon St. Stayed here during Mardi Gras – hotel had bracelet policies in effect and handled things very reasonably. No Platinum upgrade, but it was Mardi Gras. Some noise from the street, but this is to be expected given the area. Parking was a bit restrictive, only 1 car per room, and a bit difficult to access given the street closures. Rooms are on the small side but decent. Friendly staff.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Place is clean. Everyone friendly. Close to all hot spots on bourbon. No smell noticed. Good times with good friends!!!! Only negative is we left a 10$ tip and wrote a note for extra towels. Tip gone n no extra towels. Will definitely stay on return trip.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Poe, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Kkt5432,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback about the tip and we will investigate what happened for future guest stays, but otherwise, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Four Points French Quarter, and we look forward to having you on your next trip to NOLA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Spent 3 nights here as part of a sales conference and if you are the partying kinds, you cannot find a better location. Excellent music all around and a very well stocked bar. The river-side is just a 15 min walk away. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Well stocked bar but the quality of the food in their restaurant was quite bland and a total let-down.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

this is a great property and the rooms are really comfortable. The location can't be beat. Found the rooms a bit on the small side however that wasn't really an issue. They have a great restaraunt and bar and a swimming pool in the courtyard. If you want quiet request an inside room as the rooms on Bourbon st will be quite loud. Because your in the French Quarter I experienced a few times with drunk patron coming in late at nite and waking me up but after sunday things settled down. I found the breakfast just ok. They call it a 'hot' continental and thats what it was. Since my rate included breakfast it was fine. Staff was friendly and accomodating and I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: avoid rooms right on Bourbon st if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A very comfortable hotel right on Bourbon Street in the heart of the French Quarter. Staff are extremely courteous and helpful, food very good and they have a fair sized open-air swimming pool with surrounding terrace. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: TIP: Unless you're into staying up all night, ask for rooms at the rear, Bourbon Street never st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Poe, Starwood Hotel at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Helmsley39,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and let us know about your positive experience. We are glad to hear that all of your needs were met while on property and that you enjoyed your stay so much that you would recommend us to others, that means a lot to all of us as our main priority is positive guest experience. We look forward to having you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Address: 541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.