We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter to your Saves list
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #92 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for the French Quarter Festival not without trepidation - heard Bourbon St was noisy & so it was but our room overlooking the pool was an oasis of peace. The bed was very comfortable & we appreciated the free coffee & tea in the room. Highlight must be the staff, nothing too much trouble & always with a smile.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool & ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear motham,

We are very proud of our courtyard and we are so glad that you found it to be an oasis of peace. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    216
    78
    33
    28
See reviews for
85
164
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When this hotel was the Ramada Plaza Hotel, I thought it to be one of the most beautiful in the French Quarter. Now it is probably a bit more comfortable and definitely updated, but the contemporary decor is at odds with it's wonderful history and location. As far as convenience, the hotel cannot be beat. While you are on Bourbon Street, it is safe and not noisy and you are withing easy walking distance to any French Quarter tourist attraction. The doormen and women are friendly and competent. This does not carry over to the front desk personnel who in my experience were surly or uncommunicative. The new decor has a lot of sharp edges and squares and the drawers in the room dresser have been replaced with canvas bins. The beds are comfortable but the showers are touchy with water pressure problems and have the built in containers with shampoos, conditioner and gel. The bar was pleasant with friendly service, afternoon snacks, and in particular Omar gave us good service. Since there is such a selection of wonderful properties at good prices in and near the French Quarter, I think this hotel needs a little help to live up to the competition. I would, however, probably stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

First, when you book a hotel on Bourbon Street you should know what your getting into! The rooms with balconys on Bourbon Street will be noiser than those facing the courtyard. If you are a light sleeper, I would suggest not staying on Bourbon Street at all and not less than a block away. The noise does carry to hotels a block away sometimes. The drapes do a great job of blocking out the light and lights on Bourbon Street.

If you are a Bourbon Street lover then this hotel is a plus because once outside the front door you are in the middle of all that Bourbon Street has to offer. My wife and I usually don't hang out on Bourbon Street and sometime don't even get on it except to cross it going somewhere else. The balcony is a great people watcher location though.

The hotel is nice enough when you enter the lobby. This isn't high end so don't expect it. The bar is nothing special and somewhat boring, but it is a bar. We did not eat at the restaurant, so can't really say anything about it. We did look inside and it again looks light a restaurant, but nothing special. The courtyard area is somewhat typical New Orleans pool courtayrd. It's ok, nothing special. The pool and some tables and chairs and lounge chairs surround the pool.There was no bar service while we were there at the pool area and do not know if it is ever offered.

A small area off the front desk is whwere you can get snacks and drinks (non- alacholic). Again, nothing special, but it is available and I have no idea in regard to the prices because it never drew us in. It was just there.

The front desk was polite and check in was a breeze and wake up calls were handled without a snafu. The final bill as is the custom these days was placed under the door the last morning and was correct and made for no need to check out at the desk. They do require you to show your key when entering the hotel in the evening to keep non guest out and on Bourbon Street that seemed a nice idea,

The room we stayed in was a king balcony on Bourbon Street. The balcony is shared, although the courtyard rooms have private balconys that are close enough to be considered shared. It is basic, but missing a few things. It did not have a mini fridge or microwave. I think all hotels should have these for there guest now. The T.V. was on the table/dresser, but the old wall mounted stand for the T.V. was still on the wall. It was this wooden thing that had a cut out in the back for the wiring! It detracts from an already basic room and should have been removed when the location of the T.V. was changed. The arm chair provided was nice and comfortable. The closet had a safe and ironing board. The bathroom was ok, nothing special again. The shower/tub combinatin was standard size and had the row of dispensers for bath gel, shampoo, and conditoner. I do not like these because you do not know what kind of products they are using and I think that is why they use them. I like the individual bodies that show who made these products and for a Starwood property, I was a bit surprised. Towels are nothing special either. One sink in the bathroom and another one would have been nice.The bed was comfortable, a little soft for me, but my wife liked it. I really liked the weight of the comforter and bed spread. The sheets were just hotel sheets and you each had two pillows that were comfortable too.

The room needed touching up in places where paint had chipped and the toilet seat showed signs of wear. The lamps shades were crooked and did not seem to want to go in the right position when I tried to adjust them. It didnt really bother me, I was just curious if they were really like that or not. Attention to detail matters to me.

I won't book here again, not because the experience was bad, but because it wasn't anything special. Even though you are going to spend most of your time out in the Quarter or the Garden District or wherever, it's not that important to some, but we like to come back to a really nice room or suite and I do not thing this hotel can live up to it, but if being on Bourbon Street is what you want and in the middle of the action I think it might be an ok place. I would probably pay a little more for a little more if I were you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear mccrazyone,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We would like to answer a few of your questions. The pool has bar service during the summer months, but unfortunately we have not reached that time yet. If there are guests around the pool throughout the day we will try our very best to have one of the staff members from inside visit the pool area to determine if they need anything. We are in the process of undergoing a renovation, and the TV is actually going to be mounted on the wall versus sitting on the dresser. We have installed the TV mounts, but are still in the process of getting all TVs in all guest rooms mounted. We apologize that this was an inconvenience. We are working to get the rooms updated as quickly as possible. We hope that with this new information you will give us another try the next time you visit the French Quarter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent the first few nights of our trip at the Hyatt French Quarter, and maybe that stay spoiled us. We switched to the Four Points for our last couple of nights, using points, and I wouldn't want to stay there again, even using points. The rooms are very small, the ones facing Bourbon are very loud, and the service wasn't great. We asked for a cab to Jazz Fest, but then the bellman disappeared. When we wanted a cab to the airport, he was again not to be found until I was completely fed up, so we just walked to Decatur to hail our own cab, in the rain. I can't wait to return to New Orleans but will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear caipirinha3,

We are very sorry for the negatives you experienced while staying here at Four Points French Quarter. We have made sure to take soundproofing measures on those guest rooms that are facing both Bourbon and Toulouse Streets, so we apologize for the noise you heard in your rooms. We will be speaking with all of our bellmen to make sure that this type of issue does not happen again. Please accept our deepest apologies, and if you need to speak with someone regarding your stay please reach out to our General Manager, Beth Ables, at b.ables@fourpointsfrenchquarter.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A couple of weeks ago, my wife and I spent two nights at the Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter, New Orleans, Louisiana. The hotel is located in the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse streets, basically at the heart of the French Quarters. The staff were very professional and friendly, and the ladies who clean the rooms were always willing to help us in any way. The room was not very modern and the bathroom was kind of small, but in general, the rooms are well maintained and clean. The bed made a difference: very comfortable! We liked the complimentary Wi-Fi, the safety box, and good coffee, but we missed a hair dryer. The hotel is in a very busy and noisy area, but if the purpose of your trip to New Orleans is to have fun, simply enjoy the music, party, food, and Abita beer….you have found the perfect place!

Room Tip: Because of the noise, I would recommend the rooms in the higher stories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear planetvisitor,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are so glad that you found our location convenient and our staff professional and friendly. Thank you for the feedback regarding your guest room; please note that we are currently undergoing a renovation and the new look and feel of the guest rooms will shortly be much more modern and comfortable. Please choose us again the next time you return to the French Quarter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel was beautiful and in the middle of all of the action on Bourbon Street. The rooms were a little small; however, they were nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The pool is located on the outside terrace and is a nice place to relax and listen to the noise of the city. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a lovely stay!

Room Tip: If possible, stay on the top floor - It has old windows to look out over all of the Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear JennLou,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write us a review. We appreciate you staying with us at Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter, and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay while here. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in total and enjoyed my stay.

Firstly, this hotel has a great location - right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Bourbon St. Oh the convenience of stumbling just a few steps back to your hotel after guzzling down some Hurricanes.
The great location does come at a price - it gets quite noisy past dusk up until 2 or 3 am. We stayed on the highest level (5th floor) but could still hear the happenings on the streets below. It didn't matter much to me as I felt that only added to the atmosphere of staying in the French Quarter.

Rooms were clean. Though my shower curtain was stained at the bottom and there was even a used face towel from the previous occupant left hanging on the shower rail. But I made a call to Guest Services and they sent housekeeping up within 2 hours to change the shower curtain and get rid of the towel.

Overall, rooms were lovely and it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear cracqueen,

We are so glad that you enjoyed our location as well as your guest room and stay. We do apologize for the issue you experienced with the shower curtain and the towel, but we are very happy that Guest Services was able to resolve it for you. Please return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Address: 541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.